HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

65.9% Overall Rating

185 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Berta Kreismontaite thinks…

"I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms,…"

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
52.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
22.72 USD

Hostel 96.2% 588 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 87.0% 69 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
24.18 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 60 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
42.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

185 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very handy for where we were going over the weekend. Nick and the rest of the guys in charge were great.

Disliked: My girlfriend didn't expect bunks as i hadn't told her, but we had fun there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly & helpful staff, I can't praise them enough. There was a real sense of community within the hostel which I thoroughly enjoyed. I had envisaged mainly Stag & Hen parties, but there were far more workers, students & tourists ranging from ages 18 to 50. Excellent location too - head directly south for 8 mins to the pier or head directly west for 8 mins for the station, very close to the Pavillion & The Laines too.

Disliked: That I hadn't used them before.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location.

Disliked: Some (not all) members of staff were a little abrupt and not overly helpful. However, some were great and were happy to recommended places to go out and to eat.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 August 2011

Liked: The only thing I liked was it was central ...I wouldnt be coming back here though!

Disliked: It was dirty...I know its a hostel not a hotel but cleanliness is essential. There was wet tissues lying on the floor in shower room. I asked for a iron I was told I had to pay a deposit of £5 (returnable) I havent come across this anywhere else. The iron was not in a working condition as it spoilt my suit and when I poured water into the iron it just flushed out. I was not happy about this place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The colors and atmosphere were nice. Lots of fun people. Great location with a 24 hour market right next door! The bed had a fresh set of sheets on it when I arrived. There were curtains around each bed so you could have some privacy despite being in a co-ed room of 15. There was a foosball table, video games, TV, free Wifi, comfy chairs, and tables in the downstairs common area. Also a place to wash dishes, tea and coffee for 50p. Free breakfast. Oh and for girls- there are lot of seriously attractive guys working there... no exaggeration- SERIOUSLY attractive... just sayin. :-)

Disliked: The rooms are RIDICULOUSLY hot... you hear that in England and think, oh that's fine, it'll be a relief from the rain and chilliness. But no, the rooms are too hot. They need to think of something better than a small fan in the corner to fix that. Not much space it the room... In the 15 person room it's 5 stacks of 3-bed bunk beds on each wall with a small hallway-like space in between. The beds aren't that comfortable. There was no refrigerator or microwave. The Wifi was a bit dodgy. Most of the staff was really nice but Thomas was a grouch. It's a hostel, man; lighten up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annika Howard

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 August 2011 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and in a great location. The room we had was ideal and they even had a fan in there which was very welcome because it was hot. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. There was a really nice atmosphere in the hostel and I would definitely recommend it to other people. It is quite new so everything was still in good condition.

Disliked: The only downsides were: the showers there were only two hooks in the ones on the second floor which makes it hard to hang up towel and clothes so they don't get wet. A shelf would be ideal in there to keep stuff off the floor. But that is a minor thing the showers were clean and the water was hot. Breakfast washing up - it was best not to think about who may or may not have washed up the crockery you got off the draining board to use. There wasn't a lot of hot water or clean cloths so I am not sure how clean the mugs and plates were.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a cosy atmosphere and the staff were very friendly!

Disliked: I liked everything about this property

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ATISH PRASAD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 July 2011 ATISH would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly & helpful staff

Disliked: lack of toilet paper, thankfully I always carry a back up supply

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2011

Liked: Staff were quite helpful.

Disliked: Not very clean. Dorms too hot and no air ventilation. Broken top (3rd level) bunk bed a challenge to get into. Lockers in dorms not working. Showers not all that clean. People's food and clothes left in hallway and people doing clothes and underwear washing in bathroom. Terrible value for money.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011

Liked: It was fairly clean, the location was quite good (easy to find, close to lots of the major Brighton attractions).

Disliked: No toilet paper, no kitchen, and very little common space. On the whole, it felt very much like a dorm (loud, crowded, full of only young people)...it wasn´t the worst place to stay, but I also wouldn´t recommend it to older people, or people who aren´t looking to party.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eric Michaud

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated. Good value for your money. Pretty clean.

Disliked: Rooms are too packed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice welcome by staff, friendly & very helpful.

Disliked: The beds are comfortable to sleep in but it's extremely difficult to get into them without hurting yourself. Reason enough for my girlfriend not to recommend the place. For me it was not a problem. ... Yes for you it wasn't, but you did not almost break your toe and hit your head on the upper bed. Ok point taken ;-)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, safe - reception have to let people in which is good. comfy beds. bar

Disliked: lack of toilet paper. sick in the sink. slammy doors

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stay here regularly and it just does the job if you need dormitory accommodation.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere

Disliked: The shower facilities were few

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jason Duncan

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 May 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 5 minute walk to Brighton pier

Disliked: Quite dirty hostel. Bathrooms (showers and sinks) were revolting, so dirty I could not use them. Room was very hot. 15 people sharing a room with a little window got very hot and uncomfortable to sleep in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: No Parking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 May 2011

Liked: good location; felt safe.

Disliked: the Journeys website said "in room lockers", but there were none in our room. A little disappointing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 May 2011

Liked: the staff was nice even there there was really trouble going on

Disliked: THERE WERE NO CLEAN SHEETS!!! I HAD TO SLEEP ON A RUBBER MATRESS WITHOUT PILLOW AND A USED DUVET!!! HAD TO FIGHT A LOT TO GET ONLY 20% MONEY BACK when i arrived they wanted to take more money from me than on my print out from hosetlbookers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that the bunks had individual power sockets and curtains for privacy.

Disliked: one of the toilets were blocked and dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, accommodating, vibrant hostel with friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

Disliked: n/a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a normal place to stay for a few days.

Disliked: The wifi didn´t work very good in my room in the third floor, and the beds weren´t very comfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,price.

Disliked: Sower and toilets should be checked more reulary

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: dorms very small for the number of people they hold

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly & helpful

Disliked: n/a