We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

64.7% Overall Rating

186 out of 235 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Berta Kreismontaite thinks…

"I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms,…"

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
44.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
16.23 USD

Hostel 97.5% 591 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 81.9% 84 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
71.41 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
30.83 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 61 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.7%

Overall Rating

186 out of 235 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
67.2%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 222 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Cork

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: We were given a very warm welcome by the staff and they were very chatty and approachable throughout our stay. We liked the modern decor and the ease of using the facilities such as the kitchen, and the common room felt open and accessible. The location was good fro us - not too far from the seafront as well as being easy to find from the train station and only a short walk to the Lanes. We also liked how there was no curfew, as we stayed out late for many of the nights we were there, and the ones when we stayed in, we were not disturbed by any guests coming in and had no trouble sleeping!

Disliked: On the website, we were informed there would be luggage lockers in the room. From the shelving that was between the bunkbeds, you could see that they once had locker doors on. This would have been desirable, as the luggage room could have been accessed by any of the number of guests staying there, and although we hired an individual locker, it was small and effort to get to the basement to access it. Also, the day before we left, the coded door handle on our room was broken/not functioning so anyone could have walked in. The rooms were baking hot throughout the day, but we chose not to spend much time in them anyway. The common room was comfortable enough to be in during the day. The shower facilities could do with a bit of work - there isn't much room to get in through the doors of the cubicles and once you're in, not much space to get dressed. We ended up getting ready in the bathroom/toilets each time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super location nice people & atmosphere

Disliked: some facilities were damaged (cooker)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, curtens on beds was really good for privacy

Disliked: Rooms very small and no locker

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, comfy beds, really clean showers and toilets.

Disliked: Breakfast choice was limited.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shaun moore

Alone

City break

02 July 2012 shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good locstion

Disliked: Sound

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012

Liked: Price/quality

Disliked: Security. Evryone can get the access to room, through the code. Me and my friends had got room, with a "problematic" person. Previous travelers had already complain about that guy and the hostel keep it in, when there are other rooms available. The bathroom in each floor are not enough for all people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new interior, clean, smart

Disliked: 3-decks bed make me feel crowded

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, decent location. Included breakfast. curtains on the beds.

Disliked: really hot in the rooms. Had to sleep with the fan cord going across the bed the first night. lockers had the doors taken off. light on my bed didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Downes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 May 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the people

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The curtains on the beds give you some privacy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TOM CLIFTON

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 April 2012 TOM would recommend this property

Liked: Bedding was very clean along with room. Nice place to stay.

Disliked: Shower could of been a bit better. Was hot water just not very powerful

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yvette Benbrook

Alone

Shopping

03 March 2012 Yvette would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, pretty much an average run of the mill hostel, beds comfortable enough and have privacy curtains....try not to get a very top bunk...theyr quite hard to climb. This place is fine if all your looking to do is crash after a big day and night out.

Disliked: Harder to find than I thought it would be. while being prepared to endure a bit of noise at night..it was much louder than expected...people hang outside the hostel all night laughing. Shower heads are permantly stuck at about 2m high on the wall, when you press the button the water blasts out hard first cold then scolding hot for about 15 secs.....gets you in and out fast i guess. While its fine for backpackers I wouldnt reccomend to families

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2012

Liked: Bathrooms are clean...

Disliked: Someone'sDVDplayers was stolen in the early morning..in the room i was staying in...And it was stashed deep in the little locker space availible...so that was sad...and a few days ago someone bags were stolen....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

karin Naydler

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 karin would recommend this property

Liked: location,

Disliked: a bit squached up the top bunk!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marcin Marusinski

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 January 2012

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So basically here I could write a list of all good things and then in the other paragraph I'd simply write all the bad stuff. But I'm afraid I find that a little too banal. It's a hostel after all, and it serves its purpose as one as far as habitating facilities are involved. But Journey's Hostel is so much more than that! If you are looking for a fancy room, breakfast in bed, toilets polished with toothbrushes and spotless furniture then surely you're in the wrong place. But if you're looking for Brighton's coolest (I expect I'm partially biased but anyway) hostel with awesome staff (when you've taken your time to actually talk to them and get to know them) and with guests every one of them unique individuals with life stories one more exciting than the next, then you SHOULD stay at Journey's. Me and my friend stayed there and what started off as a raised eyebrow ended in some sort of sentimental farewell. Definitely recommend this hostel to everyone who are looking for more than just a "place to crash"!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, right near the lanes and seafront

Disliked: Are room was very small for 12 people! The receptionist was unhelpful and useless

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Richmond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sleeping areas kept separate, good showers.

Disliked: The cafe isn't really a cafe, but more a bar with a seating area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds gave real privacy as they were curtained. Also each bed had its own plug sockets and light.

Disliked: Nothing particularly strikes me - it's everything you'd expect from a hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lenka Rihova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff welcoming atmosphere nice breakfast bathrooms ok

Disliked: room beds dark no furniture

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, lockers in room

Disliked: lack of mirrors in room and limited showers/toilets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Playford

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Staff at the front desk were incredibly helpful - especially the man who worked there on saturday and sunday during the day (thanks!)! :o) It was also in a good location! Really enjoyed our stay!

Disliked: Our room smelt a bit musty, but after you were in there for about 2mins you didn't notice it anymore!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Rooms was quite. People respected others.

Disliked: It was always hot in the property even with the good weather that made in Brighton these days.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sameer Patel

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 September 2011

Liked: It was cheap and has a 24 hour reception.

Disliked: Ok. So booked for two seperate nights on a Monday and Weds. Wasn't going to rate this after the first stay despite being bitten to hell by bedbugs. BUT on the second stay (which I'd prebooked and couldn't change) we came back late and the staff were just unbelievably rude and frustrating such that it almost ended in a scrap between my friend (fellow guest)and the receptionists friend. Wierd wierd wierd... if it wasn't for the price I would say definately don't stay here, but it is cheap but don't expect atmosphere or anything mroe than a bed for the night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kuang Chean Chong

Alone

City break

23 September 2011

Liked: Security and cleanliness

Disliked: The three-deck bed they use in 15-dorm room! The bottom bed is too close to the floor and you gotta climb even to the middle bed! Feel extremely like refugee when sleeping on this kind of bed...