We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Journeys Brighton Hostel

Hostel | 33 Richmond Place, Brighton, England BN2 9NA

65.9% Overall Rating

185 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Berta Kreismontaite thinks…

"I felt welcome from the second I entered the Hostel. Staff seemed very nice and helped me to manage my accidentally booked 8 beds instead of 2. Location was also very convenient. In general terms,…"

Read all Journeys Brighton Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Group Booking: Different Terms and Conditions and Cancellation Policy apply to group bookings (15+ people). Visitjourneys.com Ltd. Groups Department will contact you after you have made a group booking (15+ people) with Terms and Conditions and an Invoice. No one under the age of 18 are permitted to stay at Journeys Brighton Hostel unless accompanied by an Adult of 18 years and above. If in doubt the guest should contact the Hostel for confirmation of this restriction prior to booking there stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Atlantic Seafront
44.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
16.23 USD

Hostel 96.8% 589 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 84.0% 72 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
17.69 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 60 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
32.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

185 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Journeys Brighton Hostel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
71.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 191 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, well managed and seems secure.

Disliked: Not much space to hang around in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite clean and the staff answered our questions.

Disliked: The atmosphere was a little bit cold, it could be more friendly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location to the city centre was great. Also happy that they let me shower and drop my bag off when I was very early before check in time.

Disliked: The showers really need sorting out. Water spurting in all directions and a flooded floor aren't ideal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Staff were helpful. Nice lounge area.

Disliked: No wifi in dorms. You have to put in a code to get in the dorm which is a bit tedious. Sleeping on top of a triple bunk though they do make it as private and comfortable as possible. Some of the drains were blocked in the showers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Neil Matthews

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The cleaners were very noisey when u was trying to sleep as I worked I wouln't stay here again

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedding was comfortable and the hostel is located very close to Brighton Pier and The Lanes. Drinks are cheap and it was a good temperature inside the dorms. Staff were generally helpful

Disliked: 3 bed bunks and the rooms were very crowded with hardly any room for our bags. We only stayed for two nights but had to change dorms for the second night also they could do with more hooks in the shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, had a nice vibe, a lot of young people

Disliked: Toilets could have been in a bit of a better state

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

30 March 2013

Liked: 24h reception, relatively ok bathroom

Disliked: Small room for many people, not that friendly staff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Rodo

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Location (easy to reach,very close to city center), friendly staff, breakfast included, great enviromnent.

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Johanna Bieringer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2013

Liked: beds had curtains -> more privacy

Disliked: Bathrooms VERY dirty, staff 'checked' every two hours but failed to notice that e.g. hand drier didn't work, toilet was smelly and wouldn't flush a few times, door knob had fallen off (was locked in for 5 minutes before managing to get out...), etc. Dorm was way too cold for spring time and also quite dirty. No room for luggage, no reading lights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Hine

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

04 March 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmosphere and cheap bar prices, also the convenience of the 24 hour shop next door.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly people, very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: No safe, secure storage facilities

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: The showers and some toilets had run out of toilet paper.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the common room, the cleanliness, that there where so many toilets on differnet floos

Disliked: On the most toilets was no toilet paper or it was not reachable/ blockaded

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandre Ollivier

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 January 2013 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: The place is well situated in brighton Good price good place

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that al the beds had a personal light and power point and curtain.

Disliked: I stayed on new years eve and was a little disappointed that the hostel had not organised any pre party events. They could not even make any recommendation of where to go.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, value for money, social life, good showers

Disliked: internet does not work properly, no lift , have to climb 50 steps to reach 3rd floor

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great location

Disliked: I didn't like the triple beds. They were quite uncomfortable and the bed on top was a nightmare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elyse Boonen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Elyse would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and was easy to find. Beds were comfortable and rooms were safe and secure.

Disliked: The shower I went in was a bit odd. You had to keep pushing the tap in to keep it going every 15 seconds or so. Other than that they were fine.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Butler

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is ok for a few nights with decent showers and washrooms. The bedrooms are a bit small though and a little stuffy. Matresses are ok. Good location.

Disliked: There was confusion over the bunks despite them being clearly marked. Came back late one night to find someone had taken by bunk and moved my belongings. Also had a few personal items stolen, so don't leave anything unlocked - there is also a free luggage room (though anyone can ask for the key).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how welcome I was made to feel, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. They made sure that all travelers were made to feel included and we all went out as a large group which was more than I had expected.

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked about this property was that the kitchen facility was small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katerina Sasova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Katerina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is probably one of the best I've ever been in; wi-fi is availible even in the rooms, everything is clean and people are really friendly there. I've enjoyed really good time there.

Disliked: I think there weren't any lockers in the room, but it wasn't huge problem for me, although for someone else it could be.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Cork

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: We were given a very warm welcome by the staff and they were very chatty and approachable throughout our stay. We liked the modern decor and the ease of using the facilities such as the kitchen, and the common room felt open and accessible. The location was good fro us - not too far from the seafront as well as being easy to find from the train station and only a short walk to the Lanes. We also liked how there was no curfew, as we stayed out late for many of the nights we were there, and the ones when we stayed in, we were not disturbed by any guests coming in and had no trouble sleeping!

Disliked: On the website, we were informed there would be luggage lockers in the room. From the shelving that was between the bunkbeds, you could see that they once had locker doors on. This would have been desirable, as the luggage room could have been accessed by any of the number of guests staying there, and although we hired an individual locker, it was small and effort to get to the basement to access it. Also, the day before we left, the coded door handle on our room was broken/not functioning so anyone could have walked in. The rooms were baking hot throughout the day, but we chose not to spend much time in them anyway. The common room was comfortable enough to be in during the day. The shower facilities could do with a bit of work - there isn't much room to get in through the doors of the cubicles and once you're in, not much space to get dressed. We ended up getting ready in the bathroom/toilets each time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super location nice people & atmosphere

Disliked: some facilities were damaged (cooker)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, curtens on beds was really good for privacy

Disliked: Rooms very small and no locker