We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of SoBo House Brighton

Hostel | 11 Seafield Road, Brighton, England BN3 2TN

85.0% Overall Rating

434 out of 547 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2015)

"I found it was just about clean enough but with a low price I paid I’m not expecting perfection. We were given a private room when we paid for a 4 bed dorm (I think because not high season). Wi-Fi offered in lobby…"

Read all SoBo House Brighton reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.57
  • Towel USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Bank Holiday (Friday - Monday) rates subject to surcharge. Website Cancellation Policy - 48 hours notice prior to 10am on the day of arrival is required - for group bookings of four people or more we require 7 days notice - In the event of a no-show without cancellation we reserve the right to charge your credit card to a maximum of your first two night's stay. An admin fee of 10% will be charged for all cancelations.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Brighton Youth Hostel.....by the Sea
15.66 USD

Hostel 85.4% 81 reviews
Smart Sea View Brighton
14.24 USD

Hostel 77.7% 229 reviews
The Miami Hotel
23.50 USD

Hotel 75.0% 16 reviews
Kings Hotel
50.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 20 reviews
Andorra Guest Accomodation
70.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 53 reviews
West Beach Hotel
39.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.5% 32 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
54.04 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
54.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.9% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

434 out of 547 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'SoBo House Brighton'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 483 of 515 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Labaskwesi

With a large group / tour

Shopping

20 May 2015 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable, easy

Disliked: lots of stairs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: N/A

Disliked: N/A

34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NOthing

Disliked: Restrooms are very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found it was just about clean enough but with a low price I paid I’m not expecting perfection. We were given a private room when we paid for a 4 bed dorm (I think because not high season). Wi-Fi offered in lobby (although didn't connect half the time). Luggage room offered. Not much in the way of activities run by the hostel but they have a Wii, free computers and good section of books/magazines besides loads going on in the city and you’d be mad to stay in all the time

Disliked: There were some longer stay guests who were clearly not travelling, perhaps in-between rents or working

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this place was awesome a few seconds from the seafront ! The staff were very friendly and helpful . A good way to meet other travellers if you travelling alone.

Disliked: I stayed in a shared room and it was very basic, There are also no lockers in the rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jada Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2015 Jada would recommend this property

Liked: Offers everything on site, Good value for what is essentially a budget hostel .

Disliked: Very busy, Common areas often very full and you cant have some down time

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best value for money. The prices were more than reasonable and the staff were very friendly and helpful; this hostel has everything you could need. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. Prime location and diverse guests

Disliked: More advertising for excusrions like cheap bus trips to other local beaches and places of interest would have added to the experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun vibe, party people and niceatmosphere for all

Disliked: Cold at Night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sadieka Hartogh

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2015 Sadieka would recommend this property

Liked: -Informative staff and receptionist, night time manager was a gem.

Disliked: Bathroom was quite small, and the fan was really loud

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The interior is quite hip and modern nice lighting and atmosphere, games consoles, flat screens , wifi and sky television. The rooms were plain and simple, what you would expect from a hostel really.

Disliked: I wasn’t too sure of the pin code system, I prefer keys as I feel that’s safer.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

tunde pavai

Alone

Events / festivals

09 March 2015

Liked: the staff were ok.

Disliked: i was put into aroom full of smoke ......they did give me another room however. Location not good far from trasnport and brighton ( Very far)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Purnell

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing verging on bohemian atmosphere. A lot of people here who have stayed for months who make you welcome and friendly staff!

Disliked: The decor of the place isn't the best it could do with an update but still good :-)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2014

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: terrible wifi speed, dirty and smelly. cramped.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

17 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap!

Disliked: Not much.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasantly suprised, quaint, clean, relativley modern in the middle of hove close to amenties an dtransport.

Disliked: It would be great if individual power points could be added closer to the beds. The last night that I stayed there I came back to the room at 3am to find someone asleep in my bed, drunk people obviuosly cant read

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely welcoming, and the building had lots of character. Lots of crazy welcoming people in the rooms near me

Disliked: nothing to comment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean room, Helpful staff

Disliked: Rooms without wifi, only in common area

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I met some wonderful people at this hostel and had a great time for the most part. It was in a really good location and I felt safe as a solo traveller in Brighton

Disliked: I did not find the staff particularly friendly or helpful, they did enough but didn't seem very happy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for with 3 girlfriends . we stayed in a quad room with a private bathroom. We had early flights arriving and late returning, and we were able to drop off our luggage in the safe storage rooms which was very helpful.

Disliked: The cleaner missed our room whilst cleaning, but after staff were told she came straight back in. we even got free chocloates :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of it

Disliked: i like the place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfy. Good staff

Disliked: Internet a bit slow to be honest

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: God location, good place, nice and clean. Breakfast (can also take away), late check out option

Disliked: noisy peoople in kitchen early in teh morning

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location !

Disliked: I was surprised about how some of the facilities were a little run down and the showers were so small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very impressed with this hostel. may not be neatess, but nice character, very cheap (comparing to others) and nice people and food for brekfast

Disliked: like i said, needs some paint and a bit of spruce

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Brown

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and very clean. nice people who i like

Disliked: Initially i was booked into a room, when I climbed the two flights of stairs and got there all the beds were taken. So I went back to down to reception who then put me in another room, they double booked