HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton

Hostel | 10-12 Grand Junction Road, Brighton, England BN1 1NG

80.8% Overall Rating

386 out of 443 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

King To Wong thinks…

"Staff was really helpful in answering or helping any problem that I had. The location is also perfect for people who comes to Brighton by coach."

Read all St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

YHA Brighton
23.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Kipps Hostel Brighton
21.91 USD

Hostel 96.2% 588 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
14.59 USD

Hostel 80.8% 26 reviews
Kings Arms Hostel
9.74 USD

Hostel 87.0% 69 reviews
istanbulev guesthouse
35.70 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 23 reviews
The Old Palace Guest House
32.46 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 60 reviews
Atlantic Seafront
52.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 51 reviews
The New Madeira Hotel
50.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

386 out of 443 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 304 of 332 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Bradbury

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC ! like all that st christophers inn has to offer

Disliked: Had such an issue with the keycard room key

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012

Liked: free WiFI

Disliked: The staff took so long to get around to doing anything. After they were done texting their friend and having a friendly chat with their coworkers, they would get around to helping you. Also, they didn't have clean towels on hand, and they ignored me when I clearly wanted to eat lunch. Instead, they went outside for a smoke break. Worst service ever.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The location is awesome, the staff is awesome, Belushi's is awesome, the food is awesome and the dorms & bathrooms (actually the female dorm) was really good too.

Disliked: I really had to try my best to find an answer on this! The towels are not for free. And maybe it's true that you hear the music from the bar 'till 2 am, but it's definitely worth it to stay in the bar 'till 2 am and the music won't bother you at all ;)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Kernot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. The rooms decor is pleasant and the rooms are clean. There are good roll out lockers underneath the bunks. *** I would recommend only to groups of people who are looking to go out late each night and wont be bothered by the music playing downstairs until 2am and aren't looking to meet other guests.

Disliked: This isn't a hostel, this is a pub which happens to have rooms to stay in upstairs! The music plays until 2am, there is no kitchen area and the lounge area is the pub floor which is not a great place to meet other guests as it is open to the public. The first thing I noticed when I walked up from the reception is how hot and humid it is! We had a staff member turn off the heating in our room completely which helped a little, but I had one smelly sleepless night! The window had to stay open for ventilation, so there was quite a bit of noise from the traffic and late-night revelers. The mattresses are thick but rock solid and the pillows are thin... uncomfortable for me but it depends on your preference. Overall I wasn't impressed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a like about this hostel is the fantastic location even though it is between 10-15 mins walk from the train station. Being opposite Brighton´s pier is most valuable asset that the hostel has. I really enjoyed the party there. I stayed for the new year´s party and the music was fantastic and the atmosphere was nice too. We stayed in a room just for two people and it was amazing for being a hostel!!

Disliked: We had booked a 8 beds room but when we got there we were sent to another one just for the two of us (my friend and I). That was okay but given that we wanted to socialize, we were a bit upset because the type of room was not the one that we had selected. During the first day there wasn´t hot water and the manager said that it was difficult to turn up the temperature in that moment.. but for the second day we had very good hot water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, great view over the beach and pier

Disliked: Would be nice to have a shared kitchenette

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

john clarke

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: electronic key did not work. Electrical lighting was iffy. Very noisy and aggressive atmosphere in downstairs bar.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Neves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 November 2011 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location by the Brighton Pier.

Disliked: Bar downstairs is quite noisy ´till 2am.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: too many people in dorm rooms and unsuite bathroom was noisy too

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 October 2011

Liked: Location, some atmosphere

Disliked: Complete lack of organisation.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Overpriced, no contact before or after booking. rude.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie Zazvorkova

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 September 2011 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and cheap

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly down to earth staff, location

Disliked: drinks prices! 10% off with room card, but still cost me £5.95 for a double Jack daniels and coke, thats way too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angie stewart

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

05 September 2011 angie would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the fact that you cross the road and you are at the beach and pier.It was also close to the Royal Pavillion and the shops.We were also pleased as it was only a 10 minute walk to the Brighton Centre.The views from our room were stunning and we woke to hear the waves lapping on the beach. :) The staff were friendly and very helpful.Our room was brightly decorated and clean and the bathroom was also clean and had a lovely shower.We were also supplied with towels and shower gel.The room had a telly and a kettle with a supply of tea,coffee,sugar and milk. The breakfasts were lovely,there was a choice of cereal toast and tea and coffee for free or you could have cooked for a slight charge.We opted for the full english for only £2.95!! Delicious :) Would highly recommend this property and will be returning next year :)

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location could not be better. Easy walking distance to everything.

Disliked: Access cards don't work well. had to have mine changed 3 times in 2 days but staff are super helpful, always available and sort it out immediately

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, great location and the staff were awesome!!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Duncan

Alone

City break

26 August 2011

Liked: Fantastic location. Could not be any better! Right opposite famous beach and pier, 2 minute walk to city centre, nightlife on the doorstep and coach station outside front door!!

Disliked: very very noisy. There is a nightclub/pub downstairs that is open every night playing extremely loud music that can be heard in the rooms. Very difficult to get to sleep when the walls are vibrating! If u want a good nights sleep, stay elsewhere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stacey mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 stacey would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at St Christopher's and also my friends the food was great, the staff and the hostel its self was fantastic i plan to stay again.

Disliked: Nothing i really do not have any dislikes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIKRA BECHARD

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 DIKRA would recommend this property

Liked: Just near the beach and bars, very cool place !! my favorite in Brighton, we was 2 girls

Disliked: the free breakfast is just from 7:00 to 9:00 am, but after that you have cheap price, the english breakfast cost 2,95p

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Morris

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 July 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location couldn't be any better, the room was clean with good facilities, the bar downstairs served good food at a very decent price and had a great atmosphere.

Disliked: The only criticism I have is that the card-keys didn't work every time, so I had to go back to reception to get them reset a few times

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice ensuite toilet and shower. it was clean and bright.

Disliked: i booked for a 4 bed dorm and there were 6 beds when i arrived. i was told that 2 of those were 'ghost' beds and no more than 4 people will stay in the room. eventually there were just 3 people in the room but the extra beds still made the room more packed than it should. if the hotel overbooked and the 2 beds were taken as well i wil definately feel cheated.d

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Ababio

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

29 June 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I'd never stayed in a hostel before and was a bit apprehensive but it was brilliant. Comfortable, great location, clean and the turndown team in the morning don't mess about - straight in to prepare for the next visitors which was good to know that the same would have happened before we arrived. Staff were friendly enough, helpful, night man was really nice to us when we got back at 5am! Great place, i would stay there definitely next time i'm in Brighton and perhaps if i travelled elsewhere too. Also lov the discount card, made everything even cheaper!

Disliked: Not much really, everything was better than expected. Little thing, a coat type hook on the back of the bathroom door would be really good and a lock on the door would have made me feel less scared someone was gonna bust in by accident. Also i think the padlocks should be free if they don't ook after things at reception or at least if not free then a small deposit should be payable and refundable on returning the padlock.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jari Kiviluoma

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Jari would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff , exspecially on reception. Rooms were clean and cosy.

Disliked: Good that there was window, because smell was pretty bad at the begining.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmostphere was great, excellent location and good value for money.

Disliked: Maybe needed a shower block as we had 8 people in one room, getting ready took a while, might just be our own fault for being slow .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Karys McEwen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Karys would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and the bar downstairs is great!

Disliked: The beds are pretty old and squeaky and it can be VERY noisy at night