HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grapevine North Laine Brighton Hostel

The Grapevine, 29-30 North Road, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 87%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking ****************

The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room.

RECEPTION OPEN 10AM-8PM
PLEASE BE AWARE WE CANNOT CHECK YOU IN OUTSIDE THESE HOURS

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 70%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 87%

Value 72%

Showing 51-19 of 19 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: cheap, perfect location

Disliked: shower before you come

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: the staff was ok and the hostel was ok i will go thery again

Disliked: i like the hostel very much

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Cold showers, wet floors in bathrooms, TV room and kitchen close at 11pm.


The property's response is

why did you stay for nearly 3 months ? only checking out at weekends because you could not afford our rates

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: There is a kitchen and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There are no lockers to put your valuables away.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break

Liked: Like the bed, very soft. The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk to city centre and royal pavilion! Staff is great, he gave us discount and always been very friendly! It has self catering kitchen and a big Tv for traveller to sit and relax. Shower room in good with very big and warm water!

Disliked: the only thing I dislike it was that The beddings smell bad, I couldn't stand the smell of pillowcase in particular, so I covered my scarf on it in order not to smell it.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I loved the location, is perfect, close to everything

Disliked: The guy in reception was not specially friendly, and the room was nothing special, the beds were comfy enough for a hostel, didn´t like the pillow, though, had to take three pillows more from another beds. 22 quid a night for a 8beds room (not ensuite) is a little bit expensive. the room has nothing but the bulk beds... and the toilet (1 toilet for looooads of people) was tiny... it should be cheaper for what it is.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and considering what some others charge it was ok for what we needed. Wouldn't want to stay for longer than we did. By no means the best hostel I have stayed in.

Disliked: Showers were very basic if working at all and I would hate to think how long it had been since the duvets had been washed....?!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A very friendly atmosphere, perfect location for going to the beach, shopping and plenty of other things to do in the area.

Disliked: No major dislikes, small secure lockers in the rooms for valuables would be a good idea. Other than that, I was very happy with the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was a nice place

Disliked: kitchen was in another building

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything; it was disgusting. No lockers, no internet, no clean bed linen - just horrible!

Check Availability