HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grapevine North Laine

Hostel | 29 - 30 North road, Brighton, England BN1 1YB

77.6% Overall Rating

178 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Alejandro Márquez Seco thinks…

"The athmosphere, the people living there were very friendly and everyone seemed to enjoy socialicing and meeting each others,"

Read all Grapevine North Laine reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. RECEPTION OPEN 10AM-8PM PLEASE BE AWARE WE CANNOT CHECK YOU IN OUTSIDE THESE HOURS

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Kipps Hostel Brighton
28.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 582 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
32.08 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
The Grapevine Seafront
15.27 USD

Hostel 69.1% 332 reviews
Atlantic Seafront
63.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.7% 50 reviews
Journeys Brighton Hostel
18.58 USD

Hostel 69.4% 225 reviews
Grapevine Central
25.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
59.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
21.22 USD

Hostel 84.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

178 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grapevine North Laine'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 182 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like the bed, very soft. The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk to city centre and royal pavilion! Staff is great, he gave us discount and always been very friendly! It has self catering kitchen and a big Tv for traveller to sit and relax. Shower room in good with very big and warm water!

Disliked: the only thing I dislike it was that The beddings smell bad, I couldn't stand the smell of pillowcase in particular, so I covered my scarf on it in order not to smell it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a kitchen and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: There are no lockers to put your valuables away.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

CECILIA DE LA VIESCA

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2011 CECILIA would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, is perfect, close to everything

Disliked: The guy in reception was not specially friendly, and the room was nothing special, the beds were comfy enough for a hostel, didn´t like the pillow, though, had to take three pillows more from another beds. 22 quid a night for a 8beds room (not ensuite) is a little bit expensive. the room has nothing but the bulk beds... and the toilet (1 toilet for looooads of people) was tiny... it should be cheaper for what it is.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011

Liked: Good location and considering what some others charge it was ok for what we needed. Wouldn't want to stay for longer than we did. By no means the best hostel I have stayed in.

Disliked: Showers were very basic if working at all and I would hate to think how long it had been since the duvets had been washed....?!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly atmosphere, perfect location for going to the beach, shopping and plenty of other things to do in the area.

Disliked: No major dislikes, small secure lockers in the rooms for valuables would be a good idea. Other than that, I was very happy with the hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a nice place

Disliked: kitchen was in another building

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wang Pengchun

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

22 July 2011 Wang would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: Pillows too shallow

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything; it was disgusting. No lockers, no internet, no clean bed linen - just horrible!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, toilets and showers worked well and were clean.

Disliked: There was no space in kitchen or fridge to put my food.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: nothing in particular was enjoyable

Disliked: no lift, must drag bags up multiple tiny stairwells no storage lockers to keep belongings safe in dorm rooms would not consider using kitchen facilities due to dirty state linens and floor in room looked old, dirty bathrooms were leaky, small, broken doors on shower stalls and appeared like they are not frequently cleaned

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It was okay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pauric peoples

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 July 2011

Liked: Excellant location, Hostel was clean and basic as described.Good facilities

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and the location was great. We didn't have a problem with theft, but they do offer lock boxes if you're worried about it. They have a kitchen and living room as well that you're able to use.

Disliked: The pillows were really thin, and the beds had no top sheet, just a comforter. One of the showers was finicky with temperature, but the second one was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff here were extremely helpful and easy going. I had previously been staying at another hostel while I was waiting for a room in my flat to become available and had been robbed there (along with several other guests) so really needed a friendly hostel to make up for that experience. I was back and forth a few times over a month staying for a week each time and they were very accommodating of this. I also had a couple of friends that needed places for short stays and they were able to squeeze them in. It was very much appreciated. I would recommend this place without hesitation and if I needed to go back to a hostel in Brighton again would definitely go nowhere else but here. :) Great job guys.

Disliked: The showers do leave a bit to be desired but they are in the process of renovating (a toilet was ripped out while I was there so this isn't just "talk" but is actually happening). There isn't much space in the kitchen if you're wanting to cook. But hey, this is a hostel! If you're expecting 5* accommodation go and stay at a 5* rated hotel. ;) Out of all the hostels I've stayed at, this one definitely rates tops for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and get to clean and secure.

Disliked: NOthing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Harriet Sciberras

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty, stinky toilets, no hot water in shower, kitchen and tv room closes early, dodgy wifi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great long termers, amazing location.

Disliked: a bit noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of the staff were happy, and genuinely care about their guests. Also all of the people that live here are really fun and welcoming to other travellers!

Disliked: It could do with a few more showers, but other then that everything is great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and easy to find, clean sheets. basic, but just fine for what it is.

Disliked: could do with updating carpets in bedrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads and loads. A wonderful reception and social area. Honestly like no other I've stayed at. It's right in the centre of Brighton, it couldn't be a better location and 5-10 minutes walk from the station. The place has real individual character and captures the Brighton vibe and experience. Brilliant value for money too for what you get. Helpful staff. I've listed honestly the things I didn't like but don't let them put you off. A fantastic hostel and next time I need a place to stay in Brighton I will definately be returning here. No better compliment I guess.

Disliked: No lockers No towel hiring although they did make the effort to find me one. No individual light by the bed. No computer for the internet if you don't have your laptop with you. The thing that really lets the otherwise SUPERB hostel down is the bathroom set up. There showers are in one room...the toilet is in one room and there's no sink in either of them, the sink is in the bedroom meaning you have to clean your teeth and shave in front of everyone else and when it's potentially late at night/early in the morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really nice, location was great

Disliked: Really bad (urine) smell in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 February 2011

Liked: I liked the location.

Disliked: My room and the living room too were freezing! Also, kitchen facilities were very poor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff/owner was fantastically friendly. We overslept and missed the 11 o'clock check out and he was very understanding and lovely. The Location is fantastic for Brighton, right in the center of the Laines. Great place to stay, very central to everything in Brighton. Sink in bedroom was very useful as the rooms do not have en suites.

Disliked: Nothing major really, the pillows and duvet were very thin so I was quite cold but the sheets were clean and the bed quite comfortable so can't complain really. There were no lockers in rooms but there may have been a lock up or something at reception.