HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Grapevine North Laine Brighton

Hostel

The Grapevine, 29-30 North Road, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 68%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 86%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking ****************

The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room.

RECEPTION OPEN 10AM-8PM
PLEASE BE AWARE WE CANNOT CHECK YOU IN OUTSIDE THESE HOURS

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 68%

Location 94%

Safety 77%

Staff 86%

Value 70%

Showing 21-20 of 20 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very central position in Brighton, close to all public transport, and within easy walking distance to view the 'sights'

Disliked: The narrow stairs

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked that there was a kitchen and two common rooms. Also free coffee, sugar, cookies and pasta were provided. The people working were very friendly and the atmosphere was great! I would always go back to this hostel, it is in my opinion the best in Brighton, especially for the price!

Disliked: Sometimes the room would be a bit cold, but the staff did their best to solve this issue.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 2 staff members out of the WHOLE crew were amazingly helpful, the others were uncaring and rude to my questions and requests about the kitchen facilities being left open for extra time because people were in it.free towel when i requested one. wifi in the rooms not only in common areas. free pasta and tea and coffee.

Disliked: 4 powerpoints between 8 women! no radiators in bathrooms, freezing cold in bathrooms and corridors, 1 radiator in a big room which did nothing, rooms were cold, beds squeaky, beds are hard they made my hips ache, kitchen closes at 8pm, water in shower is a slow trickle, water in shower goes hot and cold all the time so you end up with a freezing shower, floors are dirty everywhere. one fridge for all the people in the hostel that was packed and i couldnt fit my food in! 2 bathrooms on 3 floors to share, one sitting/dinning area that was always full and people have to sit on floor, broken chairs in dinning room. would never stay here again!!


The property's response is

first sorry that you could only manage to find one of our 3 large fridges in our 24 hr kitchen, or our second lounge, clue it's next to the first one !!! the guests you shared with and the staff were very happy when you checked out. Your attitude from the minuet you checked in indicated that you were determined not to have a good time despite our best efforts even inviting you to our sunday roast shared by over 20 people!! You prefered to sit on your own and glare at every one.Cheer up girl !!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was excellent, and it was clean

Disliked: It was a little cold in the rooms (December) and the showers would go from cold to hot on their own.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff are incredibly friendly and the atmosphere very cosy. They managed to organise a little girls~only dorm for us in a nice, heated room. There are decent kitchen facilities and lounge areas.

Disliked: it depends on what you're used to, of course if you want economical prices you are not looking to stay in a palace. i really had no complaints about the place.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Staff were incredibly helpful and extremely keen to make sure you had a great stay. Unfortunately due to circumsatnces outside of our control, we ended up mucking the hostel around a little whit last minute cancellations and late arrival on check in day. Despite their very clear terms and conditions, the staff were more than happy to help us. The called us on several occasions to amke sure all was ok and to let us know that depsite the fact we were caught in traffic, they would wait for us on reception.

Disliked: One of the showers was a little temperamental but if you fiddled with the controls a little you could get a nice warm/hot shower with good water pressure. There is clearly a knack to it but the staff were more than happy to show us how to get it to work properly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hi nikki thanks for your comments the shower has been replaced.
we are glad you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon
north laine grapevine

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: good location for everthing

Disliked: cold shower!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: welcoming, nice people.

Disliked: taps are noisy

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Hostel staff and friendliness.

Disliked: Only 2 showers and 2 bathrooms for 4 rooms. More would have been better.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its englishness.

Disliked: One of the showers.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability