HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Grapevine Brighton Hostel

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 54%

Location 94%

Safety 64%

Staff 78%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.31USD

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking ****************

The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room.

Reception hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00
Sun 09:00-18:00

Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 56%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 54%

Location 94%

Safety 64%

Staff 78%

Value 69%

Showing 81-76 of 76 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: twin room - very clean; great loaction

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location. Staff were usually helpful.

Disliked: Unclean and smelly, no kitchen, no WiFi in rooms, no security options.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The only good hung about this hostel was the location.

Disliked: The beds, no wifi after eight pm. We had no hot water for our showers, were told when booked we would have sea view room, our room looked out onto an old roof with dodgy steps to climb out onto..

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nothing Ooo

Disliked: Noisy, bed bugs, showers, honestly you get what you pay for but if you want a good nights sleep DON'T stay here.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: No hot water at the sink in my room so there was no where for me to shave.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location in Brighton. Near the seafront and centre as well as all the nice pubs and clubs.Good value for money. It can't get any cheaper. It is clean and safe with very friendly staff. It has a kitchen.

Disliked: It is not very lively in the hostel. There isn't a communal area to meet other stayers.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: The location and view of our room in particular was superb. It is functional and practical. 24H access to the rooms was great. Comfortable size.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: coffe tea almost anytime..location..quite..

Disliked: arrow..many stairs..small kitchen..

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Room was cold with heater not always working. Shower was hard to control and water was only warm. Mould in shower. Dark room as some lights were out. Reception did not open until 10am yet check out was by 10am. Horrible experience.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location

Disliked: I have stayed in 100's of hostels and this is the worst i have ever stayed in. And for £27 pp pn it it definately not worth it for the good location.One room was dark with broken lights and peeling red paint we referred to a the dungeon and the other had a sloping floor and ceiling that made you feel seasick. One room did not have a bath (main reason for choice of hostel as running the marathon) and the other had no plug. This did not matter as when we had finished the marathon there was no hot water to wash in anyway. The receptionist laughed in the face of my friend when she asked for a hairdryer to borrow and said no next question. We sat in the 24hr Buddies cafe below until we were sure we could sleep as we didnt want to spend minute more in those depressing rooms than necessary. But sleep was impossible as everytime any one came in it sounded like a stampede of elephants had gone past our door.I can't believe they charged £20 deposit pp when I am sure there is nothing worth £20 to fix or repair in the rooms. I have never left a bad review in my life but this place left me so angry

Check Availability