We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

71.0% Overall Rating

244 out of 348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Charles Eastwood thinks…

"Very central. Right in the middle of all the bars and clubs without being noisy. Only a stones throw from the beach."

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
16.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
35.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
23.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostelpoint Brighton
13.79 USD

Hostel 80.8% 26 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
17.69 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
16.23 USD

Hostel 96.8% 589 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
60.05 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

244 out of 348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 310 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: No 24h reception. No wifi in the room. The room is out of the building with the reception and the woman at the counter doesn't even bother to bring you to the room. Poor service.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Martin Donnelly

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Incredible amount of noise from the night clubs across the way. Drunks yelling and banging in the hallways at 3 in the morning, This place really caters to people who want to get drunk and party.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2011

Liked: Recepötionist friendly

Disliked: Please see previous comments

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Gibbs

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Basic, but doesnt pretend to be anything else. You will struggle to find anything in this price range with the same location! You couldnt be more in the centre of town! Would highly recommend!

Disliked: Basic but thats what I expected with the price.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2011

Liked: it was a nice location

Disliked: everything, its small, it stinks, they had no extra keys for us so we got locked out and then they guy took ages to let us in and he was really rude, there were like 2 showers that worked for the whole hostel. all in all the place was a total hole.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: The situation very close to the sea and to the main street is very good

Disliked: I would not recommended at all if you pretend to sleep at least fridays and saturdays since is middle in bars and discos street and is really noise, people partying all night long at the street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, great value for money

Disliked: lacking toilettes, just one for 7 rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right on the seafront and near the main drinking areas. I was on one of the many hundreds of stag/hen nights that happen in Brighton on a weekend so we just needed a place to bunk down and this place was ideal. Staff were friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: The pillows were like napkins :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff on arrival were extremely helpful and were helpful throughout our stay. We loved the view from our room and the location of the hostel.

Disliked: There wasn't really anywhere to meet other backpackers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything about this hostel, from its decor to clean but basic rooms. Considering we only paid £15 we expected much less, but were pleasantly suprised. We were on the seafront in the city centre, walking distance from everything there is to see in brighton. I would recommend this hostel if you in brighton to have a good night out and just need a bed to crash in.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was sceptical at first when i booked this hostel but when i arrived i was greeted with a very modern and stylish reception. The staff were very friendly and gave us information about what to do and were to go in brighton.The location of this hostel is also great, as its right on the seafront and surrounded by the nightlife. The rooms were clean and well maintained and at £15 its a steal. We only stayed a short while but made some good friends and enjoyed every minute we were there. The next time i'm in brighton i have no doubt as to where I will be staying.

Disliked: nothing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011

Liked: The location was excellent, very central

Disliked: it was quite dirty (dried vomit in the sink.) the washroom facilities were quite dirty. it didn't feel secure. the room was incredibly bright in the morning even with the curtains shut. the beds were uncomfortable. the pillows were so thin that i got neck ache while sleeping, even with them folded in half. and for £30 a night i felt a bit robbed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011

Liked: The staff were accommodating. Ensuite bathrooms in some of the rooms.

Disliked: The hostel isn't very secure. There was duct tape blocking the outside door from latching until I removed it and no lockers in the rooms. My room wasn't very clean and I was the only guest at the time. Terrible pillows and cramped quarters in the rooms and hallways. Very low water pressure in the shower. There are pictures of a nice kitchen and lounge area but all I saw was a kettle and tiny tables and a uncomfortable bench for a common room all located around the reception area.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011

Liked: It's situation.

Disliked: Only two showers and two toilets for more than 32 peoples, The washrooms are mixed and there is only a little curtains as a shower door. The person at the reception wasn't nice at all and doesn't want to take time to welcome you. There was a weird smell in the kitchen. There is discourteous and impertinent note almost everywhere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Hooper

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 May 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, perfect location, does the job nicely

Disliked: Well it wasn't posh, but it was £15. Who can complain?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Clayton Breeds

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 May 2011 Clayton would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly (albeit busy) staff, great location, and the rooms are clean enough.

Disliked: It's basic, but that's all it promises to be. One thing that I didn't like: my 6-bed dorm's bathroom didn't have a lock on it.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Suresh Kumar Sadagopan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: 1. The place was more like a prison than a hotel. 2. The stairways and passages had the stale smell of urine. 3. It was noisy at the middle of the night due to the 24 hour restaurant just below the hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011

Liked: The location right across the road from the beach

Disliked: some rooms are in a separate building to the kitchen and living room so you have to walk around the corner to get there and the building was smelly with narrow, maze-like halls everywhere

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gildas le breton

Alone

City break

29 March 2011 gildas would recommend this property

Liked: the location, so close from brighton pier and the nightlife, good!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Guenter Ruckhofer

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 March 2011 Guenter would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: No real amenities within the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Craddock

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Woman at the front desk was very helpful and very nice. We didn't stay long enough to see if it was a good place to meet people. 15 pound deposit per person for the keys just as a heads up all public toilets and only 2 showers per rooms on each staircase. Location is amazing especially if youre there for the beach. Most clubs are a 10 minute walk max and pretty much everything else you would want to see is just as close or closer. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Only thing that might bother people is that there are people on the streets until 4am that you can hear even if the window is closed. I didn't mind though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elicia Walpole

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 February 2011 Elicia would recommend this property

Liked: Central & conveinient. Clean & tidy.

Disliked: Our room was above the all night cafe. A little noisey. Was not informed of £15 key deposit. When I treid to get it back in the morning told they couldn't find it & they'd post it on. I would not except this & eventually it was found half an hour later.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 February 2011

Liked: Best thing about this hostel is the location.

Disliked: There was a bad smell throughout the hallways on Sunday. There are only 2 toilets and 2 showers to cater for many 8 bed dorms. Showers have very little water coming out. Next to nothing - just a dribble!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

30 November 2010

Liked: Not so expensive, and good location.

Disliked: In my room one day the heater didn't work, as well as a window didn't close so it was freezing.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2010

Liked: Great location, and friendly enough staff.

Disliked: Claustrophobic, prison-like hallways, no toilet paper, the windows had gaps in and the heating didn't work on a -4 degree night!