HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

69.1% Overall Rating

234 out of 332 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

Jessica Brewitt thinks…

"Was very close to the pier and the lanes. Was clean and tidy enough would say it was worth it for the money!"

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
25.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
59.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
21.22 USD

Hostel 84.7% 17 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
32.08 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
25.46 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
28.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 582 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
72.13 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kings Arms Hostel
13.58 USD

Hostel 86.2% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

234 out of 332 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
66.4%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 295 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tomás Soares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: Everything else

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Denis Kobychev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011

Liked: Location is really very good. Staff is very kind

Disliked: No WiFi in the room. Paper walls, very noisy. Too expensive for the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic easily accessible for train station, beach, shops and party places.

Disliked: Only one toilet for quite a lot people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Cole

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: The shower on the top floor was a trickle.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronika Beauchamp

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 August 2011 Veronika would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly this is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The beds were comfortably and clean, the room was big enough for three women and all their stuff, the view from the window was spectacular for the price we paid for the room and we felt safe and comfortable for our entire stay. There is an amazing restuarant below the hostel where we ate for most of our stay that was cheap and also amazing value for money. We stayed for Pride weekend and booked late, still receiving a fantastic room at a fraction of lesser hostels in worse locations. We will definitley be staying at the Grapevine again! The staff were friendly and explanatory, there was no curfew and we came and went as though it were our own home for the weekend, which is all you really want when you stay away isn't it? :)

Disliked: The only thing that could have possibly been added was some sort of tea/coffee making facility in the room, but with its location we literally only had to walk a few paces out of the front door in the morning and get a coffee anyway!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Muriel Nimal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Muriel would recommend this property

Liked: just in front of the sea; perfect location

Disliked: stinking corridor

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

jason crowe

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Every thing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special.

Disliked: there is only one kitchen in two grapevine hostel buildings, which is very inconvenience for travelers.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: good value for money, great location directly opposite the beach.

Disliked: even if the accomodation was cheap, I still expect staff to be friendly! the lady we checked in with was very rude and seemed to be bothered by us even speaking to her. the ceiling in the bathroom was so low that you couldn't take a shower standing up which was most uncomfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing location

Disliked: not enough bathroom facilities and dirty bathroom

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ben Allcock

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and on the seafront.

Disliked: unclean, most of us had cold showers, and noisy at night.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: No 24h reception. No wifi in the room. The room is out of the building with the reception and the woman at the counter doesn't even bother to bring you to the room. Poor service.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Martin Donnelly

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Incredible amount of noise from the night clubs across the way. Drunks yelling and banging in the hallways at 3 in the morning, This place really caters to people who want to get drunk and party.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 June 2011

Liked: Recepötionist friendly

Disliked: Please see previous comments

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Gibbs

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 June 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Basic, but doesnt pretend to be anything else. You will struggle to find anything in this price range with the same location! You couldnt be more in the centre of town! Would highly recommend!

Disliked: Basic but thats what I expected with the price.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2011

Liked: it was a nice location

Disliked: everything, its small, it stinks, they had no extra keys for us so we got locked out and then they guy took ages to let us in and he was really rude, there were like 2 showers that worked for the whole hostel. all in all the place was a total hole.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: The situation very close to the sea and to the main street is very good

Disliked: I would not recommended at all if you pretend to sleep at least fridays and saturdays since is middle in bars and discos street and is really noise, people partying all night long at the street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, great value for money

Disliked: lacking toilettes, just one for 7 rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, right on the seafront and near the main drinking areas. I was on one of the many hundreds of stag/hen nights that happen in Brighton on a weekend so we just needed a place to bunk down and this place was ideal. Staff were friendly and really helpful.

Disliked: The pillows were like napkins :-)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff on arrival were extremely helpful and were helpful throughout our stay. We loved the view from our room and the location of the hostel.

Disliked: There wasn't really anywhere to meet other backpackers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything about this hostel, from its decor to clean but basic rooms. Considering we only paid £15 we expected much less, but were pleasantly suprised. We were on the seafront in the city centre, walking distance from everything there is to see in brighton. I would recommend this hostel if you in brighton to have a good night out and just need a bed to crash in.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was sceptical at first when i booked this hostel but when i arrived i was greeted with a very modern and stylish reception. The staff were very friendly and gave us information about what to do and were to go in brighton.The location of this hostel is also great, as its right on the seafront and surrounded by the nightlife. The rooms were clean and well maintained and at £15 its a steal. We only stayed a short while but made some good friends and enjoyed every minute we were there. The next time i'm in brighton i have no doubt as to where I will be staying.

Disliked: nothing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011

Liked: The location was excellent, very central

Disliked: it was quite dirty (dried vomit in the sink.) the washroom facilities were quite dirty. it didn't feel secure. the room was incredibly bright in the morning even with the curtains shut. the beds were uncomfortable. the pillows were so thin that i got neck ache while sleeping, even with them folded in half. and for £30 a night i felt a bit robbed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011

Liked: The staff were accommodating. Ensuite bathrooms in some of the rooms.

Disliked: The hostel isn't very secure. There was duct tape blocking the outside door from latching until I removed it and no lockers in the rooms. My room wasn't very clean and I was the only guest at the time. Terrible pillows and cramped quarters in the rooms and hallways. Very low water pressure in the shower. There are pictures of a nice kitchen and lounge area but all I saw was a kettle and tiny tables and a uncomfortable bench for a common room all located around the reception area.