HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

65.7% Overall Rating

240 out of 342 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

Rose Pickles thinks…

"Fantastic location if you are in the seafront building. Just cross the road and you are on the beach!"

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
24.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
58.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
35.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostelpoint Brighton
15.75 USD

Hostel 84.0% 22 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
31.34 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.88 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
27.36 USD

Hostel 95.7% 585 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
70.48 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

240 out of 342 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
63.2%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 304 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2012

Liked: The sea view and proximity to all the attractions in Brighton.

Disliked: I appreciate that the room was cheap but the room was grubby and there were stains of the sheets. The room didn't smell particularly fresh. My room was sea facing and was situated above a cafe which was open untill early in the morning, consequently there were lots of people gathered underneath the room in the early hours making a lot of noise which was impossible to sleep through. There was also a lot of noise from the busy road outside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view.

Disliked: Relation Price/quality

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Claudia Mather

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Though nothing was taken, i felt safe,. Other than those points, which were livable conditions, it was in aGREAT SPOT! id stay there again! and FREE WIFI!

Disliked: The toilets were outside the rooms same as showers. and the only private shower and toilet room , the hot water did not work! - No breakfast for the price -kitchen etc was sort of hidden, no mixing common room, but you dont need it in Brighton! - there wasnt a locker or cabinet in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lucy Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2012

Liked: Excellent location, very central. Helpful staff! Perfect for hen weekend.

Disliked: Dodgy shower, very very noisy. Above all night cafe. Very interesting stories to tell!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, cheap rates.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2012

Liked: Cheap & fantastic location.

Disliked: It's filthy, female on reception was rude, beds are awful & a child could break in. We didn't even need the key for our room the lock was so bad. Also the windows don't shut fully so it's very noisy & cold. Shower didn't work.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good.

Disliked: Very loud at night due to pubs/clubs next door and over the road.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really central. Easy to get to. Cheap and adequate for this price.

Disliked: This is not a quiet hostel as the building is old and attracts lots of big groups so avoid if u want a quiet night. I didn't have any problems sleeping but roommates took ear plugs and heard nothing. For the price and location can't go wrong :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a 6 bed room with ensuit bathroom all to myself for two nights. The ocean view was beautiful. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful; gave me some great ideas of where to go and what to see. I even forgot my keys in my room one night and needed the night manager to let me in. He was very nice about it. I enjoyed Brighton so much that I stayed an extra night. I was moved to a new room but still had it all to myself. A small room with one bunk and a small bathroom with a stand up shower. Overall I LOVED my stay and will be back to Brighton as soon as possible!!!

Disliked: Although I hate to complain and I really enjoyed my stay at Grapevine, there are some things to note: my room was very cold for the first two days. The window didn't close completely and I don't think the heat was on. The plug for the bathtub was too small for the drain and the floor got completely soaked because there was no curtain in the shower. The building is very old and smelled musty when I first went to my room, but I got used to it quick. The teeny tiny hallways and stairways made it hard to carry my bags up what seemed like 20 flights of stairs, but I suppose it adds to the character, and a little exercise never hurt anyone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Jeffries

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: we wanted a cheap bed for the night, what we got was a small but adequate 3 man room with shower and toilet, 3 single beds, not bunks it serviced our needs perfectly, and if I return to brighton I will stay there again

Disliked: I am 6ft2 and very large, the corridors are (for me) narrow, but its not a complaint, I am the issue not the hotel!! NO COMPLAINTS

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seafront!

Disliked: Fire alarm at 7am a Sunday morning...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and good price

Disliked: very noisy as opposite a clubs and pubs, but that's to be expected I guess

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Cabral Teixeira

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

05 February 2012 Daniel Cabral would recommend this property

Liked: The sightsee

Disliked: The other guests

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charley Fisk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2012 Charley would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, LOVELY staff, clean rooms!

Disliked: Nothing, you get what you pay for!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 December 2011

Liked: A very average hostel, nothing amazing.

Disliked: Kitchen and TV room close at 9pm, without exception. Bathrooms were average, showers lacked water pressure, and hot water. Reception staff were arrogant. Annoyingly noisy nightclub on Middle Street side. This hostel attracts the "beer brigade" = people coming to get drunk for the weekend.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, the room is ok.

Disliked: Somewhere smells very bad.... And the kitchen is closed at 9 pm, while open at 9am. It is very unconvient for some of us.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Joanne stannard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: Girl at the counter very unfriendly. The 2 bed room made me feel like I was in a prison cell Showers were cold

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. You can leave your luggage there too after you've checked out. The room was clean and secure.

Disliked: Only downside was the lights in the room - could do with a few more!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was clean and good view of the beach and sea

Disliked: shower was not working

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

rebecca hannant

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 November 2011 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The location, right at the centre of everything.

Disliked: With another group in a separate room, but in a different building just around the corner after specifically asked to be close to each other.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Room had no plug sockets!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Dirty Too few showers and toilets Insecure Not up to the usual standard of European hostels

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Jones

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Good central sea-front location, close to everything; very helpful, welcoming and friendly staff. Clean room and clean bathroom and nice and warm ; bedlinen included; availability of 2 bed en suite rooms.

Disliked: Hallways are quite narrow if you are carrying a lot, but it is an old building. Lots of corridors and fire doors but when you get to the room, worthwhile.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right on the seafront

Disliked: Noise from adjacent properties all night (bar / all night restaurant)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Crawford

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 October 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: very handy location. Our room even had a sea view.

Disliked: Because we were close to the main road it was very noisy until 6am! So bring ear plugs and an eye mask or plan to have a big night!