HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

69.4% Overall Rating

236 out of 335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"I loved the location because it was right in the middle of the night life and near lots of good places to eat, especially the 24 hour cafe which proved useful after a night out. The room was quite basic but everything…"

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
25.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
59.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
18.66 USD

Hostel 84.3% 18 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
32.06 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
25.45 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
25.45 USD

Hostel 91.7% 582 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
72.10 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kings Arms Hostel
15.27 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

236 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 274 of 298 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 August 2012

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: Noise

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robin Smith

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: The. Hot water did not always work

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Peter Smith

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really well situated, being a few meters from the seafront and close to all the action. We were staying for my brothers stag party and it was ideal being in the heart of the good stuff!! We certainly had a good time! The staff were generally friendly and helpful, we had a late booking in our party and they managed to sort us a camp bed so he could stay in our dorm.

Disliked: It's not exactly luxurious!! the rooms are ok, our dorm was a bit cramped, with a very low ceiling, so was a bit stuffy. The bathrooms were a bit grotty, and the showers are dreadful!! Either a warmish trickle down the wall or a full ice cream headache but a bit more flow. Not good, although it did help with the hangover a bit!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marie Vejvodova

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

21 July 2012

Liked: location and that the bathroom was a part of the room

Disliked: it wasnt cosy, very dark and bad matrasses. moreover they said we shouldnt leave any valuable things in a room but where should we leave it when we dont want to take it with us in the streets all the time?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the seafront, close to Brighton Centre

Disliked: No tables, beds are meh, window broken, door is weird

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Warner

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

06 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location really couldn't be much better, and for £15 per night, who is really going to complain about anything, as long as it is warm, dry and comfortable then I'm happy.

Disliked: We stayed in the 8 person room right at the top of the building. If I'm going to be picky I will say it was very hot up there so we had both windows open to let the air through, however, being at the front of the building the noise was continuous from people on the street to traffic. It could really do with new double glazing in there, and just a fan would do after that, allowing for the windows to be shut. The beds are really quite creaky and noisy but they were comfortable and clean so all in all, not bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

nicole waldock

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 July 2012

Liked: The location is really good for nights out

Disliked: The room was very very basic,it was clean but didnt fell it,stains on the curtains and beds.very limited info in the room about the hostel or the area

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 June 2012

Liked: das personal war super freundlich.

Disliked: das hostel ist in ordnumg, wenn man zum feiern kommt und einfach irgend ein bett fuer den rausch braucht. nuechtern sollte man sich nicht zu lang aufhalten. deckenhoehe in meinem raum war etwa 1,90m, kein tageslicht, flaechig schimmel und null wasserdruck in der dusche, dreckiger boden, kein wifi-empfang obwohl angeboten, sehr hellhoerige raeume und schlechte sicherheit der raeume. ich war schon in einigen hostels und weiss, dass man da nicht zu zimperlich sein darf. aber das hier - besonders bei fast 50eur pro nacht im einzelzimmer war wirklich schlimm. das personal war unglaublich nett, weshalb ich nicht rumgezickt habe. auch die lage ist grossartig... aber ein 2.mal komme ich nicht wiederr. brighton hat bessere hotels und hostels in der gleichen preisklasse.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: ..die Lage und dann hört es auch schon auf..

Disliked: Schimmel..etc.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 June 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Mice im the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location with a sea view! 4 min walk to the pier and a 24 hr restaurant downstairs ! Basic. Facilities but great location !

Disliked: Beds were a lil squeaky and uncomfortable but location made up for it. Staff were great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david siciliano

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! Amazing price! Amazing location! Had a gorgeous view of the beach front! Will recommend to all of my friends!

Disliked: Just a squeaky bed, but all good other then that!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a very good location close to the beach and very easy to walk to everwhere and it was very cheap making a weekend away in brighton oh so affordable.

Disliked: there was no real atmosphere no communal room to hang out or mingle with other guests. the staff were not very helpful they didn't tell you anything about the place upon check in they just took the money and gave you the key. it is a great budget accommodation for a short term stay and reasonably clean but it was quite noisy at night due to the surrounding bars and clubs and barrel delivery to the pub next door first thing in the morning!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

zoe holland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2012 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: not at all clean and freezing in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Cross

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, right on the sea front. Really friendly staff and excellent value for money.

Disliked: The room we stayed in had an uneven floor, felt a bit like 'the house that Jack built" but nothing too concerning. The toilet seemed to leak slightly as well which could have been the cause of the warped floor. The shower was really poor, more like a sprinkler connected to a hose but in all honesty for the price you cannot complain at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

iona moss

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 May 2012 iona would recommend this property

Liked: The staff worked very hard all day to maintain the Grapevine to a high standard. This was especially difficult over the weekends when the clients often left their rooms or bathrooms in an appalling condition. I also like the fact that there is a fully equipped kitchen which saves on eating out costs. The staff were all wonderful and looked after me and my property, especially my laptop.

Disliked: The hot water system needs updating. If a toilet is flushed then the water goes cold and two showers could do with renewing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shantelle Gamble

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 May 2012 Shantelle would recommend this property

Liked: The seaview & window seal.

Disliked: The shower!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING LOCATION! Good kitchen and living room area, strong shower.

Disliked: Fairly uncomfortable beds, bad view, bathroom door did not close but worst of all there were mice in our room!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Chiara Valeria Tumolo

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: The stupid shower

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is wonderfool, price is quite low. Great kitchen room. Friendliest staff.

Disliked: Unfortunately it was a loud bar right near the hostel so it was not very quiet at night. Our room was clear but not very beautiful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2012

Liked: The sea view and proximity to all the attractions in Brighton.

Disliked: I appreciate that the room was cheap but the room was grubby and there were stains of the sheets. The room didn't smell particularly fresh. My room was sea facing and was situated above a cafe which was open untill early in the morning, consequently there were lots of people gathered underneath the room in the early hours making a lot of noise which was impossible to sleep through. There was also a lot of noise from the busy road outside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view.

Disliked: Relation Price/quality

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Claudia Mather

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Though nothing was taken, i felt safe,. Other than those points, which were livable conditions, it was in aGREAT SPOT! id stay there again! and FREE WIFI!

Disliked: The toilets were outside the rooms same as showers. and the only private shower and toilet room , the hot water did not work! - No breakfast for the price -kitchen etc was sort of hidden, no mixing common room, but you dont need it in Brighton! - there wasnt a locker or cabinet in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lucy Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2012

Liked: Excellent location, very central. Helpful staff! Perfect for hen weekend.

Disliked: Dodgy shower, very very noisy. Above all night cafe. Very interesting stories to tell!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, cheap rates.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.