We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

75.9% Overall Rating

252 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

"We had an amazing sea view. It was easy to find and central with all that we wanted just a short walk away. We loved our first experience with a hostel and would definitely do it again."

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.49

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
14.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
40.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
21.56 USD

Hotel 97.9% 4 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
11.88 USD

Hostel 79.7% 35 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
65.42 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
14.85 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
20.81 USD

Hostel 98.2% 594 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
47.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

252 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 292 of 318 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of the sea!

Disliked: Small rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012

Liked: great location, Nigel the night security man was very friendly, it was really cheap to stay 3 nights in a double en-suite room. The heating was good in room as it was hot & cosy

Disliked: the shower was rubbish - water sprayed from the sides of the shower head and not the middle so took ages to wash my hair and the window was really mouldy and bathroom cold. Didnt like the fact our room was the fire exit room and there was a big sign on our door to say break the lock in fire event - this meant anyone staying in the hostel could get into our room easily ! There was night security and a fob to get into the building so this was re-assuring and the building felt secure from the outside. also unfortunately the fire alarm went off twice on our stay. once at 4:15am and again at 10ish the same day. there was no explanation as to why this happened and no security that they thought everyone had got out even though we had the emergency exit!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Darius Joseph

Alone

Business / conference

03 December 2012 Darius would recommend this property

Liked: clean bedding, spacious lounge area, friendly & helpful staff, spacious & equipped kitchen

Disliked: I couldn't sleep because of surrounding noise. Lack of heat in rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great seafront location, friendly staff and cheap.

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012

Liked: Location was very good

Disliked: Water for shower was barely luke warm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money! Ideal for a cheap night sleep

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012

Liked: The only good thing was the location and the sea view

Disliked: The receptionist was very short and unfriendly to me! The rooms were really old (mattress, carpet and bathroom), and the sheet had some stains. I heard during the whole night the people having party on the street, it was very very noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, central to town, clubs and the beachfront. The staff were really helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was safe.

Disliked: The dodgy shower in room 9, the narrowness of the place corridor wise

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2012

Liked: Many bathrooms and geographical situation.

Disliked: Where to begin? Unfriendly receptionist, just gave us a key when we reserve 2 beds, forcing one of us to stay in the room without a key when the other went to a pub if needed exit could no longer get back into more. Pans with 1 inch of fat and oil burned, impossible to cook them, next to the kitchen we found rat poison on the floor, endless doors in narrow corridors painted in dark gray, almost like a corridor of death. The living room was sinister and on the 4th floor the internet does not work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annie Waters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 October 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right on the beach and smack bang in the party district. Close to Brighton pier. We were the only ones in our dorm which was nice.

Disliked: Reception closes at 8pm so we had to make special arrangements - paying over the phone and meeting the security guy for keys.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

gary penn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2012 gary would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: gary left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to all attractions

Disliked: A little noisy if you're in a room facing the road as pubs/clubs are just over the road.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

17 October 2012

Liked: liked nothing

Disliked: takes 20 pounds deposit , gave only one key for 2 people, charged 5 pounds for returning the key late, reception is away from the room, reception is not round the clock , no internet at the room, room not clean and no proper facilities inside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Heasman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 October 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff were also friendly and chatty.

Disliked: The showers were awful. Either a warm trickle or a cold shower. Not what you want in October.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Kitchen isn't very nice, leaking basin and shower hardley worked

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeremy Taylor

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

10 September 2012

Liked: Good location and not too noisy considering it is near many bars and clubs. Came on a stag do and it gave us everything we needed really for a weekend of going out.

Disliked: All of the showers are terrible, dribbling water that moves from so cold it hurts to so hot it burns. There is a bit of a humid musty smell in the building and the hostel staff weren't great in terms of helping us out or providing good advice. It didn't feel very safe, with no lockers and shared rooms. The staff let me into the building to the upstairs without checking I was staying there. Don't stay here if you are looking for comfort, but its fine for a party weekend. There is also seemingly no communal area for people to hang out in

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: Location is right where the action is.

Disliked: In sea front there's 24/7 bar directly below the windows. Unless you are planning to drink until you pass out it's going to be difficult to get some sleep in this place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 August 2012

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: Noise

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robin Smith

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: The. Hot water did not always work

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Peter Smith

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really well situated, being a few meters from the seafront and close to all the action. We were staying for my brothers stag party and it was ideal being in the heart of the good stuff!! We certainly had a good time! The staff were generally friendly and helpful, we had a late booking in our party and they managed to sort us a camp bed so he could stay in our dorm.

Disliked: It's not exactly luxurious!! the rooms are ok, our dorm was a bit cramped, with a very low ceiling, so was a bit stuffy. The bathrooms were a bit grotty, and the showers are dreadful!! Either a warmish trickle down the wall or a full ice cream headache but a bit more flow. Not good, although it did help with the hangover a bit!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marie Vejvodova

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

21 July 2012

Liked: location and that the bathroom was a part of the room

Disliked: it wasnt cosy, very dark and bad matrasses. moreover they said we shouldnt leave any valuable things in a room but where should we leave it when we dont want to take it with us in the streets all the time?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the seafront, close to Brighton Centre

Disliked: No tables, beds are meh, window broken, door is weird

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Warner

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

06 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location really couldn't be much better, and for £15 per night, who is really going to complain about anything, as long as it is warm, dry and comfortable then I'm happy.

Disliked: We stayed in the 8 person room right at the top of the building. If I'm going to be picky I will say it was very hot up there so we had both windows open to let the air through, however, being at the front of the building the noise was continuous from people on the street to traffic. It could really do with new double glazing in there, and just a fan would do after that, allowing for the windows to be shut. The beds are really quite creaky and noisy but they were comfortable and clean so all in all, not bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

nicole waldock

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 July 2012

Liked: The location is really good for nights out

Disliked: The room was very very basic,it was clean but didnt fell it,stains on the curtains and beds.very limited info in the room about the hostel or the area