We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

71.0% Overall Rating

244 out of 348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Charles Eastwood thinks…

"Very central. Right in the middle of all the bars and clubs without being noisy. Only a stones throw from the beach."

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
16.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
40.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
23.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostelpoint Brighton
14.59 USD

Hostel 80.8% 26 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
17.69 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
16.23 USD

Hostel 96.8% 589 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
51.93 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

244 out of 348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 310 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, central to town, clubs and the beachfront. The staff were really helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was safe.

Disliked: The dodgy shower in room 9, the narrowness of the place corridor wise

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2012

Liked: Many bathrooms and geographical situation.

Disliked: Where to begin? Unfriendly receptionist, just gave us a key when we reserve 2 beds, forcing one of us to stay in the room without a key when the other went to a pub if needed exit could no longer get back into more. Pans with 1 inch of fat and oil burned, impossible to cook them, next to the kitchen we found rat poison on the floor, endless doors in narrow corridors painted in dark gray, almost like a corridor of death. The living room was sinister and on the 4th floor the internet does not work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annie Waters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 October 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right on the beach and smack bang in the party district. Close to Brighton pier. We were the only ones in our dorm which was nice.

Disliked: Reception closes at 8pm so we had to make special arrangements - paying over the phone and meeting the security guy for keys.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

gary penn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2012 gary would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: gary left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to all attractions

Disliked: A little noisy if you're in a room facing the road as pubs/clubs are just over the road.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

17 October 2012

Liked: liked nothing

Disliked: takes 20 pounds deposit , gave only one key for 2 people, charged 5 pounds for returning the key late, reception is away from the room, reception is not round the clock , no internet at the room, room not clean and no proper facilities inside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Heasman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 October 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff were also friendly and chatty.

Disliked: The showers were awful. Either a warm trickle or a cold shower. Not what you want in October.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Kitchen isn't very nice, leaking basin and shower hardley worked

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeremy Taylor

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

10 September 2012

Liked: Good location and not too noisy considering it is near many bars and clubs. Came on a stag do and it gave us everything we needed really for a weekend of going out.

Disliked: All of the showers are terrible, dribbling water that moves from so cold it hurts to so hot it burns. There is a bit of a humid musty smell in the building and the hostel staff weren't great in terms of helping us out or providing good advice. It didn't feel very safe, with no lockers and shared rooms. The staff let me into the building to the upstairs without checking I was staying there. Don't stay here if you are looking for comfort, but its fine for a party weekend. There is also seemingly no communal area for people to hang out in

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: Location is right where the action is.

Disliked: In sea front there's 24/7 bar directly below the windows. Unless you are planning to drink until you pass out it's going to be difficult to get some sleep in this place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 August 2012

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: Noise

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robin Smith

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: The. Hot water did not always work

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Peter Smith

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really well situated, being a few meters from the seafront and close to all the action. We were staying for my brothers stag party and it was ideal being in the heart of the good stuff!! We certainly had a good time! The staff were generally friendly and helpful, we had a late booking in our party and they managed to sort us a camp bed so he could stay in our dorm.

Disliked: It's not exactly luxurious!! the rooms are ok, our dorm was a bit cramped, with a very low ceiling, so was a bit stuffy. The bathrooms were a bit grotty, and the showers are dreadful!! Either a warmish trickle down the wall or a full ice cream headache but a bit more flow. Not good, although it did help with the hangover a bit!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marie Vejvodova

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

21 July 2012

Liked: location and that the bathroom was a part of the room

Disliked: it wasnt cosy, very dark and bad matrasses. moreover they said we shouldnt leave any valuable things in a room but where should we leave it when we dont want to take it with us in the streets all the time?

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the seafront, close to Brighton Centre

Disliked: No tables, beds are meh, window broken, door is weird

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Warner

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

06 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The location really couldn't be much better, and for £15 per night, who is really going to complain about anything, as long as it is warm, dry and comfortable then I'm happy.

Disliked: We stayed in the 8 person room right at the top of the building. If I'm going to be picky I will say it was very hot up there so we had both windows open to let the air through, however, being at the front of the building the noise was continuous from people on the street to traffic. It could really do with new double glazing in there, and just a fan would do after that, allowing for the windows to be shut. The beds are really quite creaky and noisy but they were comfortable and clean so all in all, not bad.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

nicole waldock

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 July 2012

Liked: The location is really good for nights out

Disliked: The room was very very basic,it was clean but didnt fell it,stains on the curtains and beds.very limited info in the room about the hostel or the area

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 June 2012

Liked: das personal war super freundlich.

Disliked: das hostel ist in ordnumg, wenn man zum feiern kommt und einfach irgend ein bett fuer den rausch braucht. nuechtern sollte man sich nicht zu lang aufhalten. deckenhoehe in meinem raum war etwa 1,90m, kein tageslicht, flaechig schimmel und null wasserdruck in der dusche, dreckiger boden, kein wifi-empfang obwohl angeboten, sehr hellhoerige raeume und schlechte sicherheit der raeume. ich war schon in einigen hostels und weiss, dass man da nicht zu zimperlich sein darf. aber das hier - besonders bei fast 50eur pro nacht im einzelzimmer war wirklich schlimm. das personal war unglaublich nett, weshalb ich nicht rumgezickt habe. auch die lage ist grossartig... aber ein 2.mal komme ich nicht wiederr. brighton hat bessere hotels und hostels in der gleichen preisklasse.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012

Liked: ..die Lage und dann hört es auch schon auf..

Disliked: Schimmel..etc.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 June 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Mice im the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location with a sea view! 4 min walk to the pier and a 24 hr restaurant downstairs ! Basic. Facilities but great location !

Disliked: Beds were a lil squeaky and uncomfortable but location made up for it. Staff were great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david siciliano

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! Amazing price! Amazing location! Had a gorgeous view of the beach front! Will recommend to all of my friends!

Disliked: Just a squeaky bed, but all good other then that!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a very good location close to the beach and very easy to walk to everwhere and it was very cheap making a weekend away in brighton oh so affordable.

Disliked: there was no real atmosphere no communal room to hang out or mingle with other guests. the staff were not very helpful they didn't tell you anything about the place upon check in they just took the money and gave you the key. it is a great budget accommodation for a short term stay and reasonably clean but it was quite noisy at night due to the surrounding bars and clubs and barrel delivery to the pub next door first thing in the morning!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

zoe holland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2012 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: not at all clean and freezing in the room