HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

69.4% Overall Rating

236 out of 335 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"I loved the location because it was right in the middle of the night life and near lots of good places to eat, especially the 24 hour cafe which proved useful after a night out. The room was quite basic but everything…"

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
25.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
59.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
18.66 USD

Hostel 84.3% 18 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
32.06 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
25.45 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
25.45 USD

Hostel 91.7% 582 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
72.10 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kings Arms Hostel
15.27 USD

Hostel 83.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

236 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
78.4%
Value
68.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 274 of 298 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the beach, and city

Disliked: The kitchen was dirty, and it was difficult to find cutlery to use.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013

Liked: Excellent location, lovely and accommodating staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vicky McFarland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 January 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was perfect, right on the seafront and in the centre of the night life. It's great value for money, and going away on a weekend where all your friends can stay in one room.

Disliked: Considering we stayed on a weekend in January after it had snowed, there was minimal heating facilities. And with old sash windows, the rooms were freezing! The shower was not great either, the water was either scolding or cold, and the pressure wasn't that great. But as we were only there for two nights, this wasn't the end of the world.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, I really enjoyed my stay there very much, the staff were very friendly, they helped me a lot with directions and recommendations about places to go, the people staying there were also amazing and really friendly. Clean room, lovely people, great lounge/hang out area, very good kitchen, what more could one want?

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emil Pacan

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 January 2013 Emil would recommend this property

Liked: Very good area, beach, town centre and bus stops are very close to the hostel also supermarket.

Disliked: Perhaps not enough fridges or one more will be perfect:)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Jiménez

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 January 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: great location. the building we stayed in was on the seafront and we had a seaview.

Disliked: rooms are basic but great value for money.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Russell Muir

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: It is the ideal 'crash pad' for party goers including stag and hen parties. Good hot showers, clean sheets and central location. It offers no frills but serves a purpose. Only go is you are clear about what you are booking. There are No views, the rooms are old and tired looking It was perfect for what I wanted! I'll be back!!

Disliked: Nothing ... I read the reviews both good, bad and very bad. I was more than happy with the accommodation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of the sea!

Disliked: Small rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012

Liked: great location, Nigel the night security man was very friendly, it was really cheap to stay 3 nights in a double en-suite room. The heating was good in room as it was hot & cosy

Disliked: the shower was rubbish - water sprayed from the sides of the shower head and not the middle so took ages to wash my hair and the window was really mouldy and bathroom cold. Didnt like the fact our room was the fire exit room and there was a big sign on our door to say break the lock in fire event - this meant anyone staying in the hostel could get into our room easily ! There was night security and a fob to get into the building so this was re-assuring and the building felt secure from the outside. also unfortunately the fire alarm went off twice on our stay. once at 4:15am and again at 10ish the same day. there was no explanation as to why this happened and no security that they thought everyone had got out even though we had the emergency exit!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Darius Joseph

Alone

Business / conference

03 December 2012 Darius would recommend this property

Liked: clean bedding, spacious lounge area, friendly & helpful staff, spacious & equipped kitchen

Disliked: I couldn't sleep because of surrounding noise. Lack of heat in rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great seafront location, friendly staff and cheap.

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012

Liked: Location was very good

Disliked: Water for shower was barely luke warm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money! Ideal for a cheap night sleep

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012

Liked: The only good thing was the location and the sea view

Disliked: The receptionist was very short and unfriendly to me! The rooms were really old (mattress, carpet and bathroom), and the sheet had some stains. I heard during the whole night the people having party on the street, it was very very noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, central to town, clubs and the beachfront. The staff were really helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was safe.

Disliked: The dodgy shower in room 9, the narrowness of the place corridor wise

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2012

Liked: Many bathrooms and geographical situation.

Disliked: Where to begin? Unfriendly receptionist, just gave us a key when we reserve 2 beds, forcing one of us to stay in the room without a key when the other went to a pub if needed exit could no longer get back into more. Pans with 1 inch of fat and oil burned, impossible to cook them, next to the kitchen we found rat poison on the floor, endless doors in narrow corridors painted in dark gray, almost like a corridor of death. The living room was sinister and on the 4th floor the internet does not work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annie Waters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 October 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, right on the beach and smack bang in the party district. Close to Brighton pier. We were the only ones in our dorm which was nice.

Disliked: Reception closes at 8pm so we had to make special arrangements - paying over the phone and meeting the security guy for keys.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

gary penn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2012 gary would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: gary left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Walking distance to all attractions

Disliked: A little noisy if you're in a room facing the road as pubs/clubs are just over the road.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

17 October 2012

Liked: liked nothing

Disliked: takes 20 pounds deposit , gave only one key for 2 people, charged 5 pounds for returning the key late, reception is away from the room, reception is not round the clock , no internet at the room, room not clean and no proper facilities inside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Heasman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 October 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. The staff were also friendly and chatty.

Disliked: The showers were awful. Either a warm trickle or a cold shower. Not what you want in October.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Kitchen isn't very nice, leaking basin and shower hardley worked

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeremy Taylor

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

10 September 2012

Liked: Good location and not too noisy considering it is near many bars and clubs. Came on a stag do and it gave us everything we needed really for a weekend of going out.

Disliked: All of the showers are terrible, dribbling water that moves from so cold it hurts to so hot it burns. There is a bit of a humid musty smell in the building and the hostel staff weren't great in terms of helping us out or providing good advice. It didn't feel very safe, with no lockers and shared rooms. The staff let me into the building to the upstairs without checking I was staying there. Don't stay here if you are looking for comfort, but its fine for a party weekend. There is also seemingly no communal area for people to hang out in

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012

Liked: Location is right where the action is.

Disliked: In sea front there's 24/7 bar directly below the windows. Unless you are planning to drink until you pass out it's going to be difficult to get some sleep in this place.