HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

71.0% Overall Rating

244 out of 348 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

Charles Eastwood thinks…

"Very central. Right in the middle of all the bars and clubs without being noisy. Only a stones throw from the beach."

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
16.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
40.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
23.53 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostelpoint Brighton
14.59 USD

Hostel 80.8% 26 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
24.18 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
21.91 USD

Hostel 96.2% 588 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
51.93 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

244 out of 348 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 310 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Gemma Austin

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2013

Liked: Nothing Ooo

Disliked: Noisy, bed bugs, showers, honestly you get what you pay for but if you want a good nights sleep DON'T stay here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: No hot water at the sink in my room so there was no where for me to shave.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Brighton. Near the seafront and centre as well as all the nice pubs and clubs. Good value for money. It can't get any cheaper. It is clean and safe with very friendly staff. It has a kitchen.

Disliked: It is not very lively in the hostel. There isn't a communal area to meet other stayers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mike Devoy

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 April 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: The location and view of our room in particular was superb. It is functional and practical. 24H access to the rooms was great. Comfortable size.

Disliked: Mike left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

michele pallaro

Alone

City break

21 April 2013 michele would recommend this property

Liked: coffe tea almost anytime..location..quite..

Disliked: arrow..many stairs..small kitchen..

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ashleigh Dunn

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2013

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Room was cold with heater not always working. Shower was hard to control and water was only warm. Mould in shower. Dark room as some lights were out. Reception did not open until 10am yet check out was by 10am. Horrible experience.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: I have stayed in 100's of hostels and this is the worst i have ever stayed in. And for £27 pp pn it it definately not worth it for the good location. One room was dark with broken lights and peeling red paint we referred to a the dungeon and the other had a sloping floor and ceiling that made you feel seasick. One room did not have a bath (main reason for choice of hostel as running the marathon) and the other had no plug. This did not matter as when we had finished the marathon there was no hot water to wash in anyway. The receptionist laughed in the face of my friend when she asked for a hairdryer to borrow and said no next question. We sat in the 24hr Buddies cafe below until we were sure we could sleep as we didnt want to spend minute more in those depressing rooms than necessary. But sleep was impossible as everytime any one came in it sounded like a stampede of elephants had gone past our door.I can't believe they charged £20 deposit pp when I am sure there is nothing worth £20 to fix or repair in the rooms. I have never left a bad review in my life but this place left me so angry

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Showers were either boiling or freezing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jane Stanswood

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 March 2013 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Sea front location at a cracking price.

Disliked: The quilts and pillows very thin ! Very noisy at front of building but was too hammered to really care.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Phillip Pilkington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013

Liked: Good location, staff are helpful.

Disliked: The main problem was the noise from the road, and near clubs so noise from drunk ppl outside. The window was poor quality so it lets all the noise in. Also noise from people in hall way.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Romanda Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2013 Romanda would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 3 bed dorm room and had an incredible view of the beachfront and ocean! We had a fob to get in to the building, then our own key so I felt it was safe.

Disliked: Bed was squeaky. No hot water at night and in the morning you couldn't find a happy medium temperature (it was either scorching hot or freezing) so new shower taps would be ideal.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the beach, and city

Disliked: The kitchen was dirty, and it was difficult to find cutlery to use.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2013

Liked: Excellent location, lovely and accommodating staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vicky McFarland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 January 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was perfect, right on the seafront and in the centre of the night life. It's great value for money, and going away on a weekend where all your friends can stay in one room.

Disliked: Considering we stayed on a weekend in January after it had snowed, there was minimal heating facilities. And with old sash windows, the rooms were freezing! The shower was not great either, the water was either scolding or cold, and the pressure wasn't that great. But as we were only there for two nights, this wasn't the end of the world.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful atmosphere, I really enjoyed my stay there very much, the staff were very friendly, they helped me a lot with directions and recommendations about places to go, the people staying there were also amazing and really friendly. Clean room, lovely people, great lounge/hang out area, very good kitchen, what more could one want?

Disliked: na

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emil Pacan

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 January 2013 Emil would recommend this property

Liked: Very good area, beach, town centre and bus stops are very close to the hostel also supermarket.

Disliked: Perhaps not enough fridges or one more will be perfect:)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Jiménez

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 January 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: great location. the building we stayed in was on the seafront and we had a seaview.

Disliked: rooms are basic but great value for money.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Russell Muir

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 January 2013 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: It is the ideal 'crash pad' for party goers including stag and hen parties. Good hot showers, clean sheets and central location. It offers no frills but serves a purpose. Only go is you are clear about what you are booking. There are No views, the rooms are old and tired looking It was perfect for what I wanted! I'll be back!!

Disliked: Nothing ... I read the reviews both good, bad and very bad. I was more than happy with the accommodation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view of the sea!

Disliked: Small rooms

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012

Liked: great location, Nigel the night security man was very friendly, it was really cheap to stay 3 nights in a double en-suite room. The heating was good in room as it was hot & cosy

Disliked: the shower was rubbish - water sprayed from the sides of the shower head and not the middle so took ages to wash my hair and the window was really mouldy and bathroom cold. Didnt like the fact our room was the fire exit room and there was a big sign on our door to say break the lock in fire event - this meant anyone staying in the hostel could get into our room easily ! There was night security and a fob to get into the building so this was re-assuring and the building felt secure from the outside. also unfortunately the fire alarm went off twice on our stay. once at 4:15am and again at 10ish the same day. there was no explanation as to why this happened and no security that they thought everyone had got out even though we had the emergency exit!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Darius Joseph

Alone

Business / conference

03 December 2012 Darius would recommend this property

Liked: clean bedding, spacious lounge area, friendly & helpful staff, spacious & equipped kitchen

Disliked: I couldn't sleep because of surrounding noise. Lack of heat in rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great seafront location, friendly staff and cheap.

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012

Liked: Location was very good

Disliked: Water for shower was barely luke warm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money! Ideal for a cheap night sleep

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012

Liked: The only good thing was the location and the sea view

Disliked: The receptionist was very short and unfriendly to me! The rooms were really old (mattress, carpet and bathroom), and the sheet had some stains. I heard during the whole night the people having party on the street, it was very very noisy.