HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Grapevine Brighton Hostel

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 52%

Location 94%

Safety 63%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.57USD

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking ****************

The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room.

Reception hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00
Sun 09:00-18:00

Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 55%

Cleanliness 59%

Facilities 52%

Location 94%

Safety 63%

Staff 78%

Value 66%

Showing 11-20 of 83 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Room looks on to a 24 hour resturaunt which means there is drunken rowdiness outside constantly with zero sound proofing. Sleep is next to impossible because of that noise and due to the beds being really lumpy and squeaky. Temperature in the shower was either freezing or steaming hot, no in between.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff`

Disliked: I feel it is a very valuable place to stay

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were fine Decent location

Disliked: Quite dirtyVery cramped roomOnly one shower and toilet between lots of rooms

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Part of statt extremely unfriendly (one older receptionist) and arrogant. No common room whatsoever (e.g. lounge or anything).Toilets leaking, somewhat loud area.

Disliked: good location, secure, part of staff is friendly

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect and we really enjoyed ourselves here. We loved the good vibes we got from this place. Would 100% stay again and I have already recommended friends that I thino are staying there now!

Disliked: The only problem was the shower and sink- way to hot! No cold water at all, very hard to shower

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was incredible, right in the centre of the nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The first room we were given had no lock on the door so the security was really bad. As two females we didn't feel safe sleeping in this room. We then told the friendly staff and they were more than happy to replace our room. We moved up a level and into a dormitory. This room was filthy, clearly had not been vacuumed or cleaned in at least a month.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I liked that I stayed in a room that was a fire exit, so if a fire alarm went off, then our room was then unlocked for any and all to enter. I like that the space has been maximised so well that the general concern for the safety of others and people's valuables and property is considered so highly that I wasn't ever told about this during my stay. I liked the heating that never worked, the shower that dribbled and the paper-thinness of the walls.

Disliked: It's hard to remember a specific point.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was not very clean or cozy... small room and no wifi in dorms... not very friendly staff...

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location is great as descriptions accurate. Perfect for a one night or weekend stop over.

Disliked: Not the cleanest but ok.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability