HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

71.0% Overall Rating

242 out of 346 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Emily Lloyd thinks…

"Great location right by the ocean ad peir, helpful friendly staff and not a bad price for a bank holiday weekend."

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
24.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
58.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
35.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostelpoint Brighton
15.76 USD

Hostel 82.9% 24 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
31.35 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
24.88 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
24.88 USD

Hostel 95.9% 587 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
70.49 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

242 out of 346 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 283 of 308 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Hayley Meads

Alone

City break

07 April 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant, couldn't fault it and the price was excellent for where it was to.

Disliked: I didn't think that there were enough bathroom/toilets for the hostel.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014

Liked: Location, that is all

Disliked: disliked paying a hotel price for a below par hostel, awful showers, signs around telling you to keep your own stuff safe etc no responsibility of the hostel is a bit disconcerting, bad smells in corridor, mould on ceiling, wifi only in a little shabby reception which had no where to sit.... squeaky beds, awful pillows.... Not trying to be harsh, I stay in alot of hostels in more run down places than the UK and this was probably my worst

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Carroll

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and really cheap. Exactly what you need for an overnight trip to Brighton for a night out

Disliked: No hot water

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

lucy Carpenter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014

Liked: Location & staff were great

Disliked: The room is so basic it didn't have a mirror so we had to get ready for a birthday night out in reception.... Which worked out better! The cost of the room was ridiculous for what it was but we booked on the day with no other choice. Apart from that it was a good hostel & amazing location. If you want a holiday at not ideal at all!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The seaview, fairly large room with space.

Disliked: Would be nice if there was a bar.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Stephen Marsden

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

18 December 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: lack of facilities, i expected a seaview in a private double room, like it showed in the picture, but we had a view of the rear and the pigeons. It does describe the place as basic and it certainly is, if you are staying for a night in the dorms then value for money i suppose but for a private room, definitely not worth it. Also did not like the 21 day cancellation policy. Surely for people travelling around that is very inconvenient and inflexilble. Reception people were lovely though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Cox

Alone

Events / festivals

25 November 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: I travelled to Brighton to go to a concert at the Brighton Centre and the accommodation was just around the corner, so I didn't have far to walk back to the hostel and was able to get some brilliant chips at a late night eatery.

Disliked: Nothing - it was perfect for what I wanted.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms per rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriett Belmonte

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

13 November 2013 Harriett would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access, so close to the sea front, clean, safe, brilliant value got money!

Disliked: The window was slightly noisey

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location

Disliked: The kitchen was tiny and dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

david grubb

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location for our requirments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and good location if you're just looking for a bed to sleep on at night.

Disliked: Beds were not sparkling clean but I didn't really mind for a night's stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marie Tricker

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, hostel full of character.

Disliked: I was in a dorm and it was the weekend so it was noisy! But that is all my fault. Otherwise, it was very good value for money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on the seafront - close to the pier and lanes. Clean. Reasonably priced.

Disliked: A bit of a funky smell in the hallway. Our room was not on the seafront side (unfortunately!), which meant our room backed onto some other apartments? (not part of the hostel?). There were two guys who sounded as if they were yelling at each other from about 5am both mornings we were there!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

William Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: right on the beach and very friendly staff

Disliked: noisy outside at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although basic it was in a good location and suited our needs and budget. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The noise from the 24 hour cafe below our room disturbed us until 5am. The shower was either far too hot or freezing cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Urban

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2013 Edina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main attractions, party places.

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Apart from the noise of the terrace below, the location is very convenient.

Disliked: It's not the cleanest hostel I've ever been.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: No common area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Gillies

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: twin room - very clean; great loaction

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2013

Liked: Location. Staff were usually helpful.

Disliked: Unclean and smelly, no kitchen, no WiFi in rooms, no security options.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ellie Stevens

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 June 2013

Liked: The only good hung about this hostel was the location.

Disliked: The beds, no wifi after eight pm. We had no hot water for our showers, were told when booked we would have sea view room, our room looked out onto an old roof with dodgy steps to climb out onto..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Gemma Austin

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2013

Liked: Nothing Ooo

Disliked: Noisy, bed bugs, showers, honestly you get what you pay for but if you want a good nights sleep DON'T stay here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: No hot water at the sink in my room so there was no where for me to shave.