We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

75.4% Overall Rating

257 out of 365 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2015)

Dan Jukes thinks…

"Location is great as descriptions accurate. Perfect for a one night or weekend stop over."

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
15.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
62.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
YHA Brighton
23.06 USD

Hotel 97.6% 6 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
17.16 USD

Hostel 78.5% 40 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
312.21 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
23.42 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
23.42 USD

Hostel 97.4% 601 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
57.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.4%

Overall Rating

257 out of 365 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 327 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014

Liked: Close to the city centre.

Disliked: Cleaniness, shower is a strange construction and too small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location because it was right in the middle of the night life and near lots of good places to eat, especially the 24 hour cafe which proved useful after a night out. The room was quite basic but everything was very clean and the beautiful seafront view was greatly appreciated.

Disliked: It was very noisy at night but that was expected because of the great location and we already knew this would happen so it wasn't that big of an issue.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Huisjen

Alone

Business / conference

28 July 2014

Liked: Excellent location on the beach, near conference hotels and pier, yet still on a backpacker budget.

Disliked: Funky smell in the corridors, poorly designed rooms, weak ventilation system, especially poorly designed shower system, difficult access corridors.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Brewitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Was very close to the pier and the lanes. Was clean and tidy enough would say it was worth it for the money!

Disliked: The shower room wasn't the best and there was only 2 powepoints in my room which were behind to of the beds people were in so I couldn't really charge my phone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Taylor Wolfe

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2014 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, walking distance to clubs. Cheap !!

Disliked: Small bathroom and heat

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: check in closes at 8pm & you each have to pay £20pp deposit which was not stated before so it is not as cheap as expected.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fab

Disliked: Beds were all bent in the middle. Maybe time for some new ones.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joel Watt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice. Clean. Cheap. Good location.

Disliked: £30 key deposit was a bit much. Surely £10 would be more reasonable. Very, very limited showering facilities. No place to lock valuables from memory.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2014

Liked: The location is perfect, close to all the good stuff.

Disliked: We hoped for an oceanview, but didn't get it. The beds were really bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I could not access the wi-fi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working there, the location and the room were absolutely nice and clean.

Disliked: That the kitchen is in the underground and for one small house just one toilet.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: Lack of blinds to make those early mornings feel even earlier!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location - close to sea front and close to all important areas of Brighton

Disliked: overpriced for what you get. tiny rooms dusty and dirty terrible shower - no water pressure bird poo all over the windows - obstructing the one good thing about the room - the view

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Josephine Mavromatis

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

22 May 2014

Liked: Absolutely nothing

Disliked: Everything the smell especially

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Clubs and Brighton Pier

Disliked: No place to leave belonging securely

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Singh-Chahar

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the best location so close to everything.

Disliked: Noisy at night as club just outside and windows aren't double glazed. It was ok for us because we were going out at night clubbing but if you intend on having an early night could be a problem. But I loved the locations and our room was next to the street and right opposite the club. and no parking but that just Brighton in General ok if you have a car but we went in a van and couldn't fit in most of the underground parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, within walking distance to the shops, pier and stations.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Hayley Meads

Alone

City break

07 April 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant, couldn't fault it and the price was excellent for where it was to.

Disliked: I didn't think that there were enough bathroom/toilets for the hostel.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014

Liked: Location, that is all

Disliked: disliked paying a hotel price for a below par hostel, awful showers, signs around telling you to keep your own stuff safe etc no responsibility of the hostel is a bit disconcerting, bad smells in corridor, mould on ceiling, wifi only in a little shabby reception which had no where to sit.... squeaky beds, awful pillows.... Not trying to be harsh, I stay in alot of hostels in more run down places than the UK and this was probably my worst

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Carroll

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 February 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and really cheap. Exactly what you need for an overnight trip to Brighton for a night out

Disliked: No hot water

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

lucy Carpenter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014

Liked: Location & staff were great

Disliked: The room is so basic it didn't have a mirror so we had to get ready for a birthday night out in reception.... Which worked out better! The cost of the room was ridiculous for what it was but we booked on the day with no other choice. Apart from that it was a good hostel & amazing location. If you want a holiday at not ideal at all!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The seaview, fairly large room with space.

Disliked: Would be nice if there was a bar.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Stephen Marsden

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

18 December 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: lack of facilities, i expected a seaview in a private double room, like it showed in the picture, but we had a view of the rear and the pigeons. It does describe the place as basic and it certainly is, if you are staying for a night in the dorms then value for money i suppose but for a private room, definitely not worth it. Also did not like the 21 day cancellation policy. Surely for people travelling around that is very inconvenient and inflexilble. Reception people were lovely though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Cox

Alone

Events / festivals

25 November 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: I travelled to Brighton to go to a concert at the Brighton Centre and the accommodation was just around the corner, so I didn't have far to walk back to the hostel and was able to get some brilliant chips at a late night eatery.

Disliked: Nothing - it was perfect for what I wanted.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms per rooms