HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grapevine Seafront

Hostel | 75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, England BN1 1al

68.5% Overall Rating

234 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"I loved the location because it was right in the middle of the night life and near lots of good places to eat, especially the 24 hour cafe which proved useful after a night out. The room was quite basic but everything…"

Read all The Grapevine Seafront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking **************** The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room. Reception hours: Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00 Sun 09:00-18:00 Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brighton

Grapevine Central
25.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
UMI Brighton
59.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 35 reviews
Hostelpoint Brighton
18.68 USD

Hostel 84.3% 18 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Brighton
32.09 USD

Hostel 80.8% 443 reviews
Grapevine North Laine
25.47 USD

Hostel 77.6% 214 reviews
Kipps Hostel Brighton
25.47 USD

Hostel 91.7% 582 reviews
Britannia Study Hotel
72.17 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kings Arms Hostel
13.58 USD

Hostel 84.1% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

234 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grapevine Seafront'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 274 of 298 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location

Disliked: The kitchen was tiny and dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

david grubb

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location for our requirments

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and good location if you're just looking for a bed to sleep on at night.

Disliked: Beds were not sparkling clean but I didn't really mind for a night's stay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marie Tricker

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

24 September 2013 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, hostel full of character.

Disliked: I was in a dorm and it was the weekend so it was noisy! But that is all my fault. Otherwise, it was very good value for money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on the seafront - close to the pier and lanes. Clean. Reasonably priced.

Disliked: A bit of a funky smell in the hallway. Our room was not on the seafront side (unfortunately!), which meant our room backed onto some other apartments? (not part of the hostel?). There were two guys who sounded as if they were yelling at each other from about 5am both mornings we were there!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

William Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: right on the beach and very friendly staff

Disliked: noisy outside at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although basic it was in a good location and suited our needs and budget. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The noise from the 24 hour cafe below our room disturbed us until 5am. The shower was either far too hot or freezing cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edina Urban

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2013 Edina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main attractions, party places.

Disliked: -

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Apart from the noise of the terrace below, the location is very convenient.

Disliked: It's not the cleanest hostel I've ever been.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: No common area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Gillies

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 July 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: twin room - very clean; great loaction

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2013

Liked: Location. Staff were usually helpful.

Disliked: Unclean and smelly, no kitchen, no WiFi in rooms, no security options.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ellie Stevens

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 June 2013

Liked: The only good hung about this hostel was the location.

Disliked: The beds, no wifi after eight pm. We had no hot water for our showers, were told when booked we would have sea view room, our room looked out onto an old roof with dodgy steps to climb out onto..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Gemma Austin

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2013

Liked: Nothing Ooo

Disliked: Noisy, bed bugs, showers, honestly you get what you pay for but if you want a good nights sleep DON'T stay here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: No hot water at the sink in my room so there was no where for me to shave.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Brighton. Near the seafront and centre as well as all the nice pubs and clubs. Good value for money. It can't get any cheaper. It is clean and safe with very friendly staff. It has a kitchen.

Disliked: It is not very lively in the hostel. There isn't a communal area to meet other stayers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mike Devoy

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 April 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: The location and view of our room in particular was superb. It is functional and practical. 24H access to the rooms was great. Comfortable size.

Disliked: Mike left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

michele pallaro

Alone

City break

21 April 2013 michele would recommend this property

Liked: coffe tea almost anytime..location..quite..

Disliked: arrow..many stairs..small kitchen..

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ashleigh Dunn

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2013

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Room was cold with heater not always working. Shower was hard to control and water was only warm. Mould in shower. Dark room as some lights were out. Reception did not open until 10am yet check out was by 10am. Horrible experience.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: I have stayed in 100's of hostels and this is the worst i have ever stayed in. And for £27 pp pn it it definately not worth it for the good location. One room was dark with broken lights and peeling red paint we referred to a the dungeon and the other had a sloping floor and ceiling that made you feel seasick. One room did not have a bath (main reason for choice of hostel as running the marathon) and the other had no plug. This did not matter as when we had finished the marathon there was no hot water to wash in anyway. The receptionist laughed in the face of my friend when she asked for a hairdryer to borrow and said no next question. We sat in the 24hr Buddies cafe below until we were sure we could sleep as we didnt want to spend minute more in those depressing rooms than necessary. But sleep was impossible as everytime any one came in it sounded like a stampede of elephants had gone past our door.I can't believe they charged £20 deposit pp when I am sure there is nothing worth £20 to fix or repair in the rooms. I have never left a bad review in my life but this place left me so angry

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Showers were either boiling or freezing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jane Stanswood

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

17 March 2013 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Sea front location at a cracking price.

Disliked: The quilts and pillows very thin ! Very noisy at front of building but was too hammered to really care.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Phillip Pilkington

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013

Liked: Good location, staff are helpful.

Disliked: The main problem was the noise from the road, and near clubs so noise from drunk ppl outside. The window was poor quality so it lets all the noise in. Also noise from people in hall way.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Romanda Simpson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 February 2013 Romanda would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 3 bed dorm room and had an incredible view of the beachfront and ocean! We had a fob to get in to the building, then our own key so I felt it was safe.

Disliked: Bed was squeaky. No hot water at night and in the morning you couldn't find a happy medium temperature (it was either scorching hot or freezing) so new shower taps would be ideal.