HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Grapevine Brighton Hostel

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 56%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 80%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.27USD

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking ****************

The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room.

Reception hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00
Sun 09:00-18:00

Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 56%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 80%

Value 72%

Showing 11-20 of 70 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Fine location, guests were friendly

Disliked: Customer service was appalling, when I went to check in the man was actually very threatening, aggressive and made me feel incredibly uncomfortable, to the extent I thought about checking into another hostel.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The view of the pier was incredible and the room had no faults, with comfy beds and clean sheets.

Disliked: Shower was slightly hit and miss but apart from that nothing to complain about

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: great location in town

Disliked: too expensive

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Room looks on to a 24 hour resturaunt which means there is drunken rowdiness outside constantly with zero sound proofing. Sleep is next to impossible because of that noise and due to the beds being really lumpy and squeaky. Temperature in the shower was either freezing or steaming hot, no in between.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff`

Disliked: I feel it is a very valuable place to stay

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were fine Decent location

Disliked: Quite dirtyVery cramped roomOnly one shower and toilet between lots of rooms

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Part of statt extremely unfriendly (one older receptionist) and arrogant. No common room whatsoever (e.g. lounge or anything).Toilets leaking, somewhat loud area.

Disliked: good location, secure, part of staff is friendly

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect and we really enjoyed ourselves here. We loved the good vibes we got from this place. Would 100% stay again and I have already recommended friends that I thino are staying there now!

Disliked: The only problem was the shower and sink- way to hot! No cold water at all, very hard to shower

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was incredible, right in the centre of the nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: The first room we were given had no lock on the door so the security was really bad. As two females we didn't feel safe sleeping in this room. We then told the friendly staff and they were more than happy to replace our room. We moved up a level and into a dormitory. This room was filthy, clearly had not been vacuumed or cleaned in at least a month.

Check Availability