HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Grapevine Brighton Hostel

75/76 Middle Street, Brighton, Brighton, England

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 56%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 80%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.26USD

Important Information

************* Important information to guaranty your booking ****************

The sec code of your card and the “valid from date” must be sent by email after booking to the hostel, hostel's email address can be found in your booking confirmation. Without this information this property cannot guaranty your room.

Reception hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00-20:00
Sun 09:00-18:00

Group bookings larger than 6 must be paid 7 days prior to arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brighton?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 58%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 56%

Location 94%

Safety 67%

Staff 80%

Value 72%

Showing 91-70 of 70 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: Room was cold with heater not always working. Shower was hard to control and water was only warm. Mould in shower. Dark room as some lights were out. Reception did not open until 10am yet check out was by 10am. Horrible experience.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location

Disliked: I have stayed in 100's of hostels and this is the worst i have ever stayed in. And for £27 pp pn it it definately not worth it for the good location.One room was dark with broken lights and peeling red paint we referred to a the dungeon and the other had a sloping floor and ceiling that made you feel seasick. One room did not have a bath (main reason for choice of hostel as running the marathon) and the other had no plug. This did not matter as when we had finished the marathon there was no hot water to wash in anyway. The receptionist laughed in the face of my friend when she asked for a hairdryer to borrow and said no next question. We sat in the 24hr Buddies cafe below until we were sure we could sleep as we didnt want to spend minute more in those depressing rooms than necessary. But sleep was impossible as everytime any one came in it sounded like a stampede of elephants had gone past our door.I can't believe they charged £20 deposit pp when I am sure there is nothing worth £20 to fix or repair in the rooms. I have never left a bad review in my life but this place left me so angry

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Showers were either boiling or freezing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Sea front location at a cracking price.

Disliked: The quilts and pillows very thin ! Very noisy at front of building but was too hammered to really care.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, staff are helpful.

Disliked: The main problem was the noise from the road, and near clubs so noise from drunk ppl outside. The window was poor quality so it lets all the noise in. Also noise from people in hall way.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We stayed in the 3 bed dorm room and had an incredible view of the beachfront and ocean! We had a fob to get in to the building, then our own key so I felt it was safe.

Disliked: Bed was squeaky. No hot water at night and in the morning you couldn't find a happy medium temperature (it was either scorching hot or freezing) so new shower taps would be ideal.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Excellent location, lovely and accommodating staff

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The location of this property was perfect, right on the seafront and in the centre of the night life. It's great value for money, and going away on a weekend where all your friends can stay in one room.

Disliked: Considering we stayed on a weekend in January after it had snowed, there was minimal heating facilities. And with old sash windows, the rooms were freezing! The shower was not great either, the water was either scolding or cold, and the pressure wasn't that great. But as we were only there for two nights, this wasn't the end of the world.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was close to the beach, and city

Disliked: The kitchen was dirty, and it was difficult to find cutlery to use.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very good area, beach, town centre and bus stops are very close to the hostel also supermarket.

Disliked: Perhaps not enough fridges or one more will be perfect:)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability