HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Shanahans Hostel

Hostel | 127 - 129 Rocky Lane, Aston, Birmingham, England B7 5EP

69.1% Overall Rating

3 out of 5 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Joel Watt thinks…

"The staff for the hotel and pub were extremely good. Got home at 12 and they give me some dinner for free. Genuine people. Nice room. TV with lots of channels. Toaster and microwave in room."

Read all Shanahans Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

In order to confirm your booking you will be asked to provide the cvv code of your credit card. Failing to give this data your booking may be cancelled. In case you will check in after 9pm you need to contact us to arrange your arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Birmingham?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Birmingham

Campanile Birmingham
65.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Birmingham Central Backpackers
21.07 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1241 reviews
Hatters Backpack Hostel Birmingham
20.23 USD

Hostel 80.7% 453 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
25.28 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.1% 9 reviews
Brighton Arms Hotel
27.81 USD

Guesthouse 66.9% 22 reviews
Sheriden House Hotel
41.29 USD

Hostel 74.1% 16 reviews
PortlandHouse
13.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Prince Hotel
33.63 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 216 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

3 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Shanahans Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 5 of 5 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joel Watt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff for the hotel and pub were extremely good. Got home at 12 and they give me some dinner for free. Genuine people. Nice room. TV with lots of channels. Toaster and microwave in room.

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach our particular room but I think it reached nearly everywhere else. Hard to get into main building for breakfast in morning as the pub wouldn't have opened.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a traditional hostelry, providing a down to earth, honest fayre.

Disliked: The stairs!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

CHRISTINE ANYANGO

As a family with children

Events / festivals

02 December 2013

Liked: There is nothing I liked about this property. The atmosphere was cripy from the beginning to the end

Disliked: There is no communication. We woke up to find a note on the exit door telling us that the door is alarmed we had to use the fire exit. I tried two times to find my way out through the fire exit all the time being led to a cripy basement. I can't even explain the feeling. It was one of those scary movies scenes. I went back upstairs to knock on the door hoping someone will hear me and come to show me the way out. All this while, our taxi had been waiting outside. I asked the Taxi man through the window to go at the reception and tell them we are trapped upstairs we we want someone to come and show us the way out. The response was the door is locked. The taxi man tried to call, there was no response on the phone. We decided to proceed through the alarmed door, because that was the way we had come in. The alarm went off and we found ourselves in a closed pub with no one to let us out. We had to open the pub door and let ourselves out with the alarm on. At this time, we were already late for our function.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

25 November 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Kinsella

With a large group / tour

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 July 2012 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, very well looked after!!

Disliked: Leonard left no negative feedback.