HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bath hostels

Reviews of YHA Bath

Hostel | Bathwick Hill, Somerset, Bath, England BA2 6JZ

81.1% Overall Rating

145 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Nick Smith thinks…

"Interesting property in a great location, easily accessible with bus stop just outside or an invigorating walk up the hill and down with a wonderful view of the city. Staff really friendly and…"

Read all YHA Bath reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will be cancelled not refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the agency for more than 16 people will be canceled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bath?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bath

Bath Backpackers
21.81 USD

Hostel 75.8% 131 reviews
University of Bath
35.23 USD

Hostel 82.1% 75 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Bath
21.64 USD

Hostel 81.8% 551 reviews
Wentworth House
56.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 44 reviews
Glenade Guest House
49.36 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 83 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

145 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bath'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 139 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Bit of a hike up the hill! Look into transport options

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting property in a great location, easily accessible with bus stop just outside or an invigorating walk up the hill and down with a wonderful view of the city. Staff really friendly and fun offered services in a nice way.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: It advertised wifi. I expected this to be free but it's only free if you are a member. I find wifi essential when traveling as you can look up opening hours and trip advisor, etc. I wouldn't have booked this if I knew the wifi wasn't free. We were also over charged. When we asked the staff member about it, he was nice and apologetic but couldn't give us a refund unless we filled out a 2 page form and sent it off to the head office. We ended up just getting some complimentary snacks but we wished it didn't happen to start with. The room was a bit cold and heater didn't work very well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, amazing view of bath, its warm and dry, plenty of common rooms.

Disliked: Sleeping spaces are getting a bit tired, paint peeling off walls. 2nd time here, this time 2 separate schools of teenagers were also staying, our room was opposite the canteen (and next to a wc) so we had no choice but get up before 7 as the noise was really over the top, a lay-in would've been nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful period house.

Disliked: A little out of town (20 mins walk), but not too far.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful. Bus stop right outside driveway. Very convenient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brendon McDougall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 October 2013 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel rooms and grounds were pleasant, room was clean enough, staff helpful.

Disliked: A little out of the centre of Bath, cannot park on property (hostel is set a fair way back from the road), stairs narrow and noisy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013

Liked: The property itself was very special, and the bed I slept in was very comfortable, even for a bunk room shared with 5 other people. A bus station at the foot of the driveway was extremely convenient & terribly necessary. A woman at the desk kindly called a cab for me upon my departure. Bath seems a very safe city, this location was in what I would call a high-rent and low-risk neighborhood.

Disliked: I did not anticipate having to pay for wifi, which may have been an oversight on my part; I was a bit nervous about not having a secure locker for my things when I left for the day; desk staff inattentive/incompetent: seems petty but was cut in line at front desk by two girls whom I had opened the door for; I received the 5 pound deposit for the towel I had rented (for two additional pounds) in 50p pieces because the man at the desk seemed too stoned to function; almost did not have a meal the night I arrived because of incorrect information given to me by the same man described above, and the food served was unfortunately not worth the 9 pounds I paid for it; shower/toilet facilities below par -- nothing was "free," I felt I was over charged given my experience there. Fairly far from town, mostly due to its location on quite a steep hill.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristian hathaway

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 kristian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice old property in lovely surroundings

Disliked: nothing really...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoscelin Perez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Yoscelin would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself is beautiful. It sits on top of hill and it's gorgeous. The staff really looks out for you.

Disliked: There was no wifi that was a bit annoying but I managed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and grounds.

Disliked: I don't understand why the only directions given are for car drivers-most people staying in youth hostels are backpackers and will be arriving to new places by train or bus so directions from the centre of Bath should be added. The staff were nice but I didn't feel they went out of their way to help and the few times I asked questions about Bath they couldn't answer them and didn't put much effort into finding out for me. The shower in our room was a disaster. Whenever anyone would shower it would leak all over the floor and would take hours to dry. So to use the toilet or anything you had to stand in dirty shower water. Pretty gross. I mentioned it to one of the staff the day I was leaving and she said it was because the curtain was outside the shower or something and they knew about it but couldn't do anything about it. I think there probably is a way around it. Even if they just put a mop in the bathroom so you had the option of drying the floor and not getting dirty feet would be good. Also I can't believe they were charging 5 pounds a day to use the wifi. Most hostels have it free and if it isn't free then it isn't that expensive. I thought that was ridiculous!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character

Disliked: We could not turn off the heater in our bathroom and as it was 30 degrees outside we absolutely cooked. We told the staff but they said it was an ongoing problem and did not offer to change our room or take any action.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhengkai Fei

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Zhengkai would recommend this property

Liked: landscape

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The green zone where it is located. Next to the bus stop

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and nice and wide open spaces. The self serving kitchen + dining room were great. Nice view from up the hill - a bit of a climb, but manageable. Lovely atmosphere.

Disliked: I was woken each morning by the plumbing making loud noises - only halting (ish) by running the tap continuously - bit of a tough situation!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 May 2013

Liked: The secluded location

Disliked: Floors were threadbare, bathrooms too tiny and in need of refurbishment.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charqacterful and comfortable

Disliked: A bit far out of town

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

daniel spies

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location a lot ! The showers and the toilets were alright.

Disliked: When i arrived the room was completely dirty and disgusting. The room was not hoovered, the window corners were black, the sink was yellow and dirty and the room itself was quite dusty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the environment and the room is beautuful and clean

Disliked: the shower head is not user-friendly enough

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chenyi cao

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 chenyi would recommend this property

Liked: very good and clean

Disliked: not in the city center, but it's convenient to take a bus.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Howard Gough

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 John Howard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, good common areas.

Disliked: Walking up Bathwiick Road (a steep hill) to get to it (should have got the Number 18 Bus!).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Goodrich

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 January 2013 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: It really was excellent, for £11 each I couldn't have asked for anything better. The location was beautiful, and the staff were extremely friendly. Especially Kate, she was great.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Saskia Strobel

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 January 2013 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: Easy way of booking

Disliked: -

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: many. extremely dissatisfied. 1. I booked a 6-bed dorm and was assigned to a 10-bed dorm room which is extremely dirty, especially the toilet inside the room. It was too dirty that I and my friend decided not to take a bath there. 2. Unoccupied beds for new visitors are unclear. I have to get an employee confirm which beds are empty. all pillows and beds are not covered and we had to do the bedding (include covering the blankets, pillows, etc) ourselves. However, when we came back and already slept at around 00:15 am, two spanish girls aggressively came to wake us up to claim that we took their beds. it was very noisy at midnight and took another hour to be solved by some people in charge there. What a nightmare!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a beautiful building with lovely big windows and rooms. It has good facilities and lovely gardens with great views of the city.

Disliked: The room we had to share for 4 was a bit small.


See all Bath hostels