We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bath hostels

Reviews of YHA Bath

Hostel | Bathwick Hill, Somerset, Bath, England BA2 6JZ

79.0% Overall Rating

153 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2014)

Greta Kool-clarke thinks…

"Beautiful old house it was located in, the location wasn't far from the main centre of town, so was a quick walk there."

Read all YHA Bath reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.10

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

*** Please note this hostel has a maximum stay of 5 days. Bookings longer than 5 days will be cancelled not refunded*** Please note - All bookings made via the agency for more than 16 people will be canceled and your deposit may not be refunded.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bath?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bath

Bath Backpackers
21.10 USD

Hostel 82.4% 149 reviews
University of Bath
34.08 USD

Hostel 82.1% 75 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn - Bath
19.31 USD

Hostel 86.7% 583 reviews
Wentworth House
54.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 44 reviews
Glenade Guest House
52.55 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 103 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

153 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'YHA Bath'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greta Kool-clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Greta would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old house it was located in, the location wasn't far from the main centre of town, so was a quick walk there.

Disliked: I mainly disliked the lounge area and eating areas. As they felt very sterile and clinical.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Modern facilities

Disliked: A little of a way out of town. Definitely NOT a 10 minute walk. Realistically it would take you 40 minutes to get into the centre of Bath

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a character building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: WiFi only in ground floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Asuka Ura

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Asuka would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its cleanliness and a service about kitchen. And safety is so good because the rooms were separated strictly.

Disliked: Beds have no curtains. So it was difficult to keep my privacy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Hayes

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 June 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful

Disliked: 6 bed dorms are actually for 10 and showers were awful so it was difficult to actually get wet!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Bit of a hike up the hill! Look into transport options

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting property in a great location, easily accessible with bus stop just outside or an invigorating walk up the hill and down with a wonderful view of the city. Staff really friendly and fun offered services in a nice way.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Staff were friendly.

Disliked: It advertised wifi. I expected this to be free but it's only free if you are a member. I find wifi essential when traveling as you can look up opening hours and trip advisor, etc. I wouldn't have booked this if I knew the wifi wasn't free. We were also over charged. When we asked the staff member about it, he was nice and apologetic but couldn't give us a refund unless we filled out a 2 page form and sent it off to the head office. We ended up just getting some complimentary snacks but we wished it didn't happen to start with. The room was a bit cold and heater didn't work very well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, amazing view of bath, its warm and dry, plenty of common rooms.

Disliked: Sleeping spaces are getting a bit tired, paint peeling off walls. 2nd time here, this time 2 separate schools of teenagers were also staying, our room was opposite the canteen (and next to a wc) so we had no choice but get up before 7 as the noise was really over the top, a lay-in would've been nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful period house.

Disliked: A little out of town (20 mins walk), but not too far.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful. Bus stop right outside driveway. Very convenient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brendon McDougall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 October 2013 Brendon would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel rooms and grounds were pleasant, room was clean enough, staff helpful.

Disliked: A little out of the centre of Bath, cannot park on property (hostel is set a fair way back from the road), stairs narrow and noisy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013

Liked: The property itself was very special, and the bed I slept in was very comfortable, even for a bunk room shared with 5 other people. A bus station at the foot of the driveway was extremely convenient & terribly necessary. A woman at the desk kindly called a cab for me upon my departure. Bath seems a very safe city, this location was in what I would call a high-rent and low-risk neighborhood.

Disliked: I did not anticipate having to pay for wifi, which may have been an oversight on my part; I was a bit nervous about not having a secure locker for my things when I left for the day; desk staff inattentive/incompetent: seems petty but was cut in line at front desk by two girls whom I had opened the door for; I received the 5 pound deposit for the towel I had rented (for two additional pounds) in 50p pieces because the man at the desk seemed too stoned to function; almost did not have a meal the night I arrived because of incorrect information given to me by the same man described above, and the food served was unfortunately not worth the 9 pounds I paid for it; shower/toilet facilities below par -- nothing was "free," I felt I was over charged given my experience there. Fairly far from town, mostly due to its location on quite a steep hill.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristian hathaway

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 kristian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice old property in lovely surroundings

Disliked: nothing really...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yoscelin Perez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Yoscelin would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself is beautiful. It sits on top of hill and it's gorgeous. The staff really looks out for you.

Disliked: There was no wifi that was a bit annoying but I managed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and grounds.

Disliked: I don't understand why the only directions given are for car drivers-most people staying in youth hostels are backpackers and will be arriving to new places by train or bus so directions from the centre of Bath should be added. The staff were nice but I didn't feel they went out of their way to help and the few times I asked questions about Bath they couldn't answer them and didn't put much effort into finding out for me. The shower in our room was a disaster. Whenever anyone would shower it would leak all over the floor and would take hours to dry. So to use the toilet or anything you had to stand in dirty shower water. Pretty gross. I mentioned it to one of the staff the day I was leaving and she said it was because the curtain was outside the shower or something and they knew about it but couldn't do anything about it. I think there probably is a way around it. Even if they just put a mop in the bathroom so you had the option of drying the floor and not getting dirty feet would be good. Also I can't believe they were charging 5 pounds a day to use the wifi. Most hostels have it free and if it isn't free then it isn't that expensive. I thought that was ridiculous!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character

Disliked: We could not turn off the heater in our bathroom and as it was 30 degrees outside we absolutely cooked. We told the staff but they said it was an ongoing problem and did not offer to change our room or take any action.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhengkai Fei

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Zhengkai would recommend this property

Liked: landscape

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The green zone where it is located. Next to the bus stop

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and nice and wide open spaces. The self serving kitchen + dining room were great. Nice view from up the hill - a bit of a climb, but manageable. Lovely atmosphere.

Disliked: I was woken each morning by the plumbing making loud noises - only halting (ish) by running the tap continuously - bit of a tough situation!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 May 2013

Liked: The secluded location

Disliked: Floors were threadbare, bathrooms too tiny and in need of refurbishment.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charqacterful and comfortable

Disliked: A bit far out of town

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

daniel spies

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location a lot ! The showers and the toilets were alright.

Disliked: When i arrived the room was completely dirty and disgusting. The room was not hoovered, the window corners were black, the sink was yellow and dirty and the room itself was quite dusty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the environment and the room is beautuful and clean

Disliked: the shower head is not user-friendly enough


See all Bath hostels