HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bath hostels

Reviews of Bath Backpackers

Hostel | 13 Pierrepont Street, Bath, England BA1 1LA

79.0% Overall Rating

106 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

Corinne Pastor thinks…

"The location was perfect. It was near the train station and very easy access to local attractions."

Read all Bath Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bath?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bath

St. Christopher's Inn - Bath
21.79 USD

Hostel 84.3% 575 reviews
Wentworth House
57.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 44 reviews
YHA Bath
33.45 USD

Hostel 76.8% 174 reviews
Glenade Guest House
54.67 USD

Guesthouse 95.5% 96 reviews
University of Bath
42.24 USD

Hostel 82.1% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

106 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bath Backpackers'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Gregory

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The central location, the friendly staff and guests.

Disliked: The squarking seagulls from about 0400, but I soon got used to them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

GongJu LEE

Alone

Business / conference

29 June 2014 GongJu would recommend this property

Liked: everything~~

Disliked: if shower room didn't have bad small I would be better!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Corinne Pastor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. It was near the train station and very easy access to local attractions.

Disliked: The fact that this was the only hostel I stayed in that did not offer any type of included breakfast.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

26 May 2014

Liked: Nothing. The highlight was leaving

Disliked: Dirty and horrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The people are very friendly and laid back - everyone greets each person they meet! Free wifi that get full bars throughout the hostel. Big kitchen with a shared food area. Also, they provide little milk sachets and tea and coffee, which is awesome as I hate buying a carton of milk just for tea. Perfect location, less than 10 mins walking to the bus station and can walk to all Bath's attraction. Cheap food close by. Safe lockers and rooms.

Disliked: Maybe just the stairs, but thats me being lazy!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014

Liked: Bath Backpackers is very well situated for access to the Bath centre and the railway station. The hostel had a social atmosphere about it too. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans.

Disliked: Much of the building is very well worn, this falls short of giving it a rustic charm though, leaving it only tired and dirty. The rooms, toilets, and kitchen are cleaned regularly, but not enough to remove the essence of the thousands of people that must have passed through the hostel in its day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really close to everything so it was nice to be able to walk out the door and be right in the middle of the city. The kitchen and common areas were nice and easy to cook in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Macdonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: staff are very friendly and helpful, great location

Disliked: not clean, very cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zhimin Chen

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Zhimin would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is not bad.

Disliked: The toilet is bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014

Liked: Amazing location, and fairly cheap. It had some cool signs/art which added to the atmosphere. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Lots of plugs in the rooms. Staff was pretty nice.

Disliked: There are only one location of showers, which is in the basement, and our room was on the third floor. The closest toilet was on the second. Annoying, but not a deal breaker. This place is dirty. Stairs, kitchen, common room, and especially the bathrooms. Not only messy with stuff and trash but actually dirty. The rooms were the only okay part. The bathrooms were a NIGHTMARE. Water all over the food, toilet paper laying in it, no towels to wash your hands, soap run out, and just smelled terrible. Then, Signs, signs, signs. Don't do this, don't do that. Excessive. Yet it didn't stop anyone. The place was a complete mess and we had problems with the people in our room not just being loud and drunk (which is to be expected), but staying up for 2 hours in the room and talking incessantly, laughing, throwing things at each other, drinking in the room and having sex. This is all at about 3 am.a While I understand it's not the hostels fault, when we were talking about it to one of the staff the next day they said, "Oh yeah, I heard them! They kept me up." Okay..? And you didn't stop them? Ask them to quiet down, anything? Knock on the door?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Claudie Bouchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014

Liked: Wi-Fi Near of the town

Disliked: Not so clean For the price paid, I had way better around England

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The beds were comfy, and everything seemed quite clean.

Disliked: I was on the top floor on the top bunk in a 10 bed dorm, the ceiling has support beams that you have to crawl under to get in and out of the bed as well as a sloped ceiling. I hit my head several times. The one toilet was the next floor down and it was shared between 2 floors. It was slow when I was there but I can imagine that during the summer the queue for the toilet could get very long. There were only 2 plugs for 10 people.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pawasut Chatmaleerat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: Hostelbookers

Disliked: A lot I dislike about this hostel but mainly the facilities and service. As we were checking in, the reception was very rude about one of us not having the ID they required. 2 of us did and he requested double deposit to be put forward, which we were very happy to do but yet he still felt the need to be rude about the booking and how we didn't not read the page. I pulled out the conformation letter out to confirm there is no such specific requirement needed but he still did not want to quit. We went to our room, switch the light on, only to find the light was not working. It was flicking badly. We can hardly see our hands so I went to find the reception to resolve the problem, only to get the answer "yes it's working. You just need to press the button" The problem was resolved nonetheless. It was a very quiet time I stayed at the hostel. The hostel consisted of 5 floor, we are on the fifth and the showers are in the basement.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013

Liked: It was a good location.

Disliked: Very old and worn facility.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to town and station.

Disliked: Showers have low pressure

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The noise through thin walls, with people going up and down the stairs. The staffs are also staying in the same dorm. And I lost my slippers because one of the staff packed it and send it away, thinking that it belong to another guest that were admitted into the hospital.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and very clean

Disliked: The staff could have been more helpful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcomming and helpful staff. Location.

Disliked: Nothing really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JANET BROOKS

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 JANET would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to shopping centre of Bath. Lovely and warm in dorms. Sky sports and other TV channels. Kitchen well-stocked. Good showers. Spacious.

Disliked: Manager unavailable to make certain arrangements for a stay, whilst other staff are unable to commit to those decisions themselves but they don't know when the manager will be there for arrangements to be discussed. So I had to leave without being able to speak to the manager to discuss future arrangements.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jesse Blackley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, close to bath's tourism attractions as well as shops and facilities, pretty much everything I needed was within 10 minutes walk. Good, fast internet in the common room and downstairs in the 'party dungeon' (which nobody ever uses for its intended purpose, so its a perfect quiet space). Cable TV, plenty of toilets (one on every floor + a big one downstairs). Code locks on rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen locked at 11pm, making it hard to get to your drinks and chilled food in the fridge (not good if your a night owl). Beds are like sleeping on a rock. Just down the road from the police station, so lots of noise from sirens + partygoers until around 2am. Rooms can be uncomfortably warm. Common room is not very big, and can be over-occupied.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, nice hostel

Disliked: Kitchen was basic - no cooking oil had to buy my own, Lots of staff who took up most of the space in the common room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The kitchen was very messy in the evening

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Reza Zandian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: security was good (doors are equipped with password lock, luggage storage is controlled by the reception and I had locker at room), location was good and kitchen was equipped.

Disliked: They do not provide breakfast, the internet is terrible (it keeps resetting, the speed is low and some times do not connect at all), the building highly needs to be renovated as it is too old and everything is shaking if some one just walk in the stairs. The water pressure was low but the water was warm.


See all Bath hostels