We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bath hostels

Reviews of Bath Backpackers

Hostel | 13 Pierrepont Street, Bath, England BA1 1LA

82.1% Overall Rating

116 out of 152 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Amy Bland thinks…

"The environment, the well kept facilities and the proximity to the town centre, river and bus station"

Read all Bath Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bath?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bath

St. Christopher's Inn - Bath
19.99 USD

Hostel 82.5% 588 reviews
Wentworth House
52.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 44 reviews
YHA Bath
17.04 USD

Hostel 80.6% 181 reviews
Glenade Guest House
50.17 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 103 reviews
University of Bath
38.74 USD

Hostel 82.1% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

116 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bath Backpackers'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 146 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

sandra albrecht

Alone

Events / festivals

05 February 2015

Liked: the kitchen is very poor.someone should spend money to cheer it up a bit

Disliked: code for front door and room.Key card would be much better and front door unlocked the whole day.unsafe

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Huot Iv

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Huot would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station and the staff was nice.

Disliked: There was some kind of leak in my room. I didn't notice until I went to bed. Also it was quite quiet in the hostel. Not a lot of people to meet during my stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Pablo Fernandez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2014 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Juan Pablo left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm was good, sturdy beds, comfortable duvet.

Disliked: if your in a room facing the main street you might find the very frequent buses, passing at all hours through the night to be quite annoying. Also the lockers in the dorm were tiny.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: door room face to the main entrance door

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny McKenna

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly, the dorm we stayed in was nice ans big,.

Disliked: Penny left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Bland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The environment, the well kept facilities and the proximity to the town centre, river and bus station

Disliked: I had no complaints

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled, perfect location, nice showers, nice rooms and a nice kooky old vibe to the place. All the staff were very helpful. I really liked the place and would stay again :)

Disliked: Only one flat pillow and no where to securely leave your luggage before you check in (but it is secure in your room), and no place to securely store a laptop in the room or anywhere if you have one with you, but this didn't fuss me too much although there were some tweaks of conscience. Oh and they didnt mention you have to bring your own padlock for the lockers; or at least I never saw that memo.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anu Warrier

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 August 2014 Anu would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful, had great ideas for a night out and they seemed pretty organised. The place itself was good value for money - clean beds, clean sheets, clean toilet facilities and showers. What else do you really need in a hostel?

Disliked: They do accept cards but they charge you about a pound for it - which is not really a hassle and if you are tight on money you could always walk to the nearest cashpoint which was only around 2 minutes away!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: My room was unbearably hot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Gregory

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The central location, the friendly staff and guests.

Disliked: The squarking seagulls from about 0400, but I soon got used to them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

GongJu LEE

Alone

Business / conference

29 June 2014 GongJu would recommend this property

Liked: everything~~

Disliked: if shower room didn't have bad small I would be better!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Corinne Pastor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. It was near the train station and very easy access to local attractions.

Disliked: The fact that this was the only hostel I stayed in that did not offer any type of included breakfast.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

26 May 2014

Liked: Nothing. The highlight was leaving

Disliked: Dirty and horrible

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! The people are very friendly and laid back - everyone greets each person they meet! Free wifi that get full bars throughout the hostel. Big kitchen with a shared food area. Also, they provide little milk sachets and tea and coffee, which is awesome as I hate buying a carton of milk just for tea. Perfect location, less than 10 mins walking to the bus station and can walk to all Bath's attraction. Cheap food close by. Safe lockers and rooms.

Disliked: Maybe just the stairs, but thats me being lazy!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014

Liked: Bath Backpackers is very well situated for access to the Bath centre and the railway station. The hostel had a social atmosphere about it too. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans.

Disliked: Much of the building is very well worn, this falls short of giving it a rustic charm though, leaving it only tired and dirty. The rooms, toilets, and kitchen are cleaned regularly, but not enough to remove the essence of the thousands of people that must have passed through the hostel in its day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really close to everything so it was nice to be able to walk out the door and be right in the middle of the city. The kitchen and common areas were nice and easy to cook in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Macdonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: staff are very friendly and helpful, great location

Disliked: not clean, very cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zhimin Chen

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Zhimin would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is not bad.

Disliked: The toilet is bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014

Liked: Amazing location, and fairly cheap. It had some cool signs/art which added to the atmosphere. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Lots of plugs in the rooms. Staff was pretty nice.

Disliked: There are only one location of showers, which is in the basement, and our room was on the third floor. The closest toilet was on the second. Annoying, but not a deal breaker. This place is dirty. Stairs, kitchen, common room, and especially the bathrooms. Not only messy with stuff and trash but actually dirty. The rooms were the only okay part. The bathrooms were a NIGHTMARE. Water all over the food, toilet paper laying in it, no towels to wash your hands, soap run out, and just smelled terrible. Then, Signs, signs, signs. Don't do this, don't do that. Excessive. Yet it didn't stop anyone. The place was a complete mess and we had problems with the people in our room not just being loud and drunk (which is to be expected), but staying up for 2 hours in the room and talking incessantly, laughing, throwing things at each other, drinking in the room and having sex. This is all at about 3 am.a While I understand it's not the hostels fault, when we were talking about it to one of the staff the next day they said, "Oh yeah, I heard them! They kept me up." Okay..? And you didn't stop them? Ask them to quiet down, anything? Knock on the door?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Claudie Bouchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014

Liked: Wi-Fi Near of the town

Disliked: Not so clean For the price paid, I had way better around England

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The beds were comfy, and everything seemed quite clean.

Disliked: I was on the top floor on the top bunk in a 10 bed dorm, the ceiling has support beams that you have to crawl under to get in and out of the bed as well as a sloped ceiling. I hit my head several times. The one toilet was the next floor down and it was shared between 2 floors. It was slow when I was there but I can imagine that during the summer the queue for the toilet could get very long. There were only 2 plugs for 10 people.


See all Bath hostels