HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bath hostels

Reviews of Bath Backpackers

Hostel | 13 Pierrepont Street, Bath, England BA1 1LA

77.5% Overall Rating

99 out of 132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"This hostel was really close to everything so it was nice to be able to walk out the door and be right in the middle of the city. The kitchen and common areas were nice and easy to cook in."

Read all Bath Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bath?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bath

St. Christopher's Inn - Bath
21.68 USD

Hostel 82.1% 552 reviews
Wentworth House
56.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.2% 44 reviews
YHA Bath
18.55 USD

Hostel 81.1% 170 reviews
Glenade Guest House
49.44 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 83 reviews
University of Bath
35.29 USD

Hostel 82.1% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

99 out of 132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bath Backpackers'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
75.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really close to everything so it was nice to be able to walk out the door and be right in the middle of the city. The kitchen and common areas were nice and easy to cook in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayla Macdonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Tayla would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: staff are very friendly and helpful, great location

Disliked: not clean, very cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zhimin Chen

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Zhimin would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is not bad.

Disliked: The toilet is bad.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014

Liked: Amazing location, and fairly cheap. It had some cool signs/art which added to the atmosphere. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Lots of plugs in the rooms. Staff was pretty nice.

Disliked: There are only one location of showers, which is in the basement, and our room was on the third floor. The closest toilet was on the second. Annoying, but not a deal breaker. This place is dirty. Stairs, kitchen, common room, and especially the bathrooms. Not only messy with stuff and trash but actually dirty. The rooms were the only okay part. The bathrooms were a NIGHTMARE. Water all over the food, toilet paper laying in it, no towels to wash your hands, soap run out, and just smelled terrible. Then, Signs, signs, signs. Don't do this, don't do that. Excessive. Yet it didn't stop anyone. The place was a complete mess and we had problems with the people in our room not just being loud and drunk (which is to be expected), but staying up for 2 hours in the room and talking incessantly, laughing, throwing things at each other, drinking in the room and having sex. This is all at about 3 am.a While I understand it's not the hostels fault, when we were talking about it to one of the staff the next day they said, "Oh yeah, I heard them! They kept me up." Okay..? And you didn't stop them? Ask them to quiet down, anything? Knock on the door?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Claudie Bouchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014

Liked: Wi-Fi Near of the town

Disliked: Not so clean For the price paid, I had way better around England

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The beds were comfy, and everything seemed quite clean.

Disliked: I was on the top floor on the top bunk in a 10 bed dorm, the ceiling has support beams that you have to crawl under to get in and out of the bed as well as a sloped ceiling. I hit my head several times. The one toilet was the next floor down and it was shared between 2 floors. It was slow when I was there but I can imagine that during the summer the queue for the toilet could get very long. There were only 2 plugs for 10 people.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Pawasut Chatmaleerat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: Hostelbookers

Disliked: A lot I dislike about this hostel but mainly the facilities and service. As we were checking in, the reception was very rude about one of us not having the ID they required. 2 of us did and he requested double deposit to be put forward, which we were very happy to do but yet he still felt the need to be rude about the booking and how we didn't not read the page. I pulled out the conformation letter out to confirm there is no such specific requirement needed but he still did not want to quit. We went to our room, switch the light on, only to find the light was not working. It was flicking badly. We can hardly see our hands so I went to find the reception to resolve the problem, only to get the answer "yes it's working. You just need to press the button" The problem was resolved nonetheless. It was a very quiet time I stayed at the hostel. The hostel consisted of 5 floor, we are on the fifth and the showers are in the basement.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013

Liked: It was a good location.

Disliked: Very old and worn facility.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to town and station.

Disliked: Showers have low pressure

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The noise through thin walls, with people going up and down the stairs. The staffs are also staying in the same dorm. And I lost my slippers because one of the staff packed it and send it away, thinking that it belong to another guest that were admitted into the hospital.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and very clean

Disliked: The staff could have been more helpful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, welcomming and helpful staff. Location.

Disliked: Nothing really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JANET BROOKS

Alone

City break

20 October 2013 JANET would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to shopping centre of Bath. Lovely and warm in dorms. Sky sports and other TV channels. Kitchen well-stocked. Good showers. Spacious.

Disliked: Manager unavailable to make certain arrangements for a stay, whilst other staff are unable to commit to those decisions themselves but they don't know when the manager will be there for arrangements to be discussed. So I had to leave without being able to speak to the manager to discuss future arrangements.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jesse Blackley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, close to bath's tourism attractions as well as shops and facilities, pretty much everything I needed was within 10 minutes walk. Good, fast internet in the common room and downstairs in the 'party dungeon' (which nobody ever uses for its intended purpose, so its a perfect quiet space). Cable TV, plenty of toilets (one on every floor + a big one downstairs). Code locks on rooms.

Disliked: Kitchen locked at 11pm, making it hard to get to your drinks and chilled food in the fridge (not good if your a night owl). Beds are like sleeping on a rock. Just down the road from the police station, so lots of noise from sirens + partygoers until around 2am. Rooms can be uncomfortably warm. Common room is not very big, and can be over-occupied.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, nice hostel

Disliked: Kitchen was basic - no cooking oil had to buy my own, Lots of staff who took up most of the space in the common room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The kitchen was very messy in the evening

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Reza Zandian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Reza would recommend this property

Liked: security was good (doors are equipped with password lock, luggage storage is controlled by the reception and I had locker at room), location was good and kitchen was equipped.

Disliked: They do not provide breakfast, the internet is terrible (it keeps resetting, the speed is low and some times do not connect at all), the building highly needs to be renovated as it is too old and everything is shaking if some one just walk in the stairs. The water pressure was low but the water was warm.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. Only stayed one night so didn't make use of kitchen but it seemed spacious. Very organised check in system, received a slip of paper with all necessary info such as door codes, wifi password etc. straight away. Keypad entry to rooms very secure. Separate toilet and shower rooms quite clean if a little on the cramped side.

Disliked: Lockers in room we stayed in were mostly broken, so even if you had a lock you couldn't use it, seemed pointless. Wifi was patchy in room (on first floor) but worked fine in common room. Not much space in common room. We arrived early and were allowed to check straight in to room, we left our bags to explore town and returned later in the afternoon to find someone, a fellow traveller, had thrown our bags from the bunk we'd claimed onto the floor and had claimed it for themselves. Staff were nice and helpful with this and verified our first claim, but such a situation could be avoided in future by designating a bed number to each bunk and allocating bed numbers to each guest. Another negative was that in the middle of the night a group of loud drunken male guests of the hostel stumbled up the stairs and noticed that our room name was "divas" emblazoned on the door on a pink sign. They excitedly carried on about how there must be girls in the room and proceeded to try breaking open the locked door. While they failed to get into our room, it made us feel unsafe that this had happened just because of the name of the room. This could be avoided in future by gender neutral room names and sign colours on the doors.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like its centrality and safe location, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Even though there were people who obviously lived at the hostel hanging out there, it was still a friendly atmosphere that helped you meet other people.

Disliked: The building was old, so you got the creaky floors and small bathrooms that accompanied that. Wifi didn't work in dorms but worked in the common rooms. No big lockers in dorms, although there were small ones for your valuables.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tiago Pitchon Sampaio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: Well located! Resonable price to do the laundry.

Disliked: The place is very old and it was a little difficult to understand what the staff say.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location very good of coming by train and close to everything.

Disliked: A bit old but it does have character

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013

Liked: Very good location, close to all the top touristy sights.

Disliked: The beds were as hard as sleeping on the floor. Guests were loud during 'quiet time'. There was a party dungeon that no one used, so the obnoxious drink people used the common room, making your room the only place to hang out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thuy Pham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Thuy would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, easy to find from railway station, friendly staff who also live at the hostel, good value for money, heater in room, toilets and showers were clean although in dingy area of the hostel. Lots of power points in room, wifi reception was variable

Disliked: Creepy old guy staying there, foam mattress was awful, no in room lockers for bag but small lockers for small valuables. Despite this, I would stay here again!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great. Giant shower room.. lots of bathrooms.. full kitchen. Perfect for a short trip to Bath!Bathtub

Disliked: Only that I went in January and the only other people there seemed to actually live there. I would have liked to meet other backpackers but this was all my fault for going in January..and hey.. I had the shower room to myself every morning.


See all Bath hostels