We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Cumbres del Volcan

Hostel | 85 Avenida Norte #637, Colonia Escalon, San Salvador, El Salvador 000

90.0% Overall Rating

22 out of 22 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2014)

seb brealey thinks…

"I especially likes the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. In comparison to other hostels aswell they have a booklet which allows you to see what is available locally aswell as restaurants…"

Read all Hostal Cumbres del Volcan reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Salvador?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Salvador

Casa Hostal El Petate
18.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
JoAn's Hostal
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 11 reviews
Hotel Tazumal House
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.2% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.0%

Overall Rating

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Cumbres del Volcan'

Atmosphere
88.2%
Location
85.5%
Facilities
88.2%
Cleanliness
92.7%
Staff
90.0%
Value
92.7%
Safety
92.7%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 22 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

seb brealey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 seb would recommend this property

Liked: I especially likes the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. In comparison to other hostels aswell they have a booklet which allows you to see what is available locally aswell as restaurants etc. the staff spoke english well so it was easy for him to help even though he was fully el Salvadorian.

Disliked: Little bit far from main touristic areas but the buses are cheap which makes up for it. Everything else was brilliant though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ian Saberton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 ian would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for 1 night in the city, easy bus access to the terminal oriente, spotless friendly and chilled with a nice balcony

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Hutton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with excellet facilities (especially the kitchen) in a good safe location; we'd always stay here when in San Salvador.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mariann lian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 mariann would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff.nice kitchen.

Disliked: the hostel is nice. but i would recomend the staff to try the beds in the doorm room. it is big differens. some are thin and it hurt to sleep there, other one was nice. try to get some new madresses.. they did not have any lockers on in the room,everyone was broken

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bit away from the action--Zona Rosa--but convenient for extending your visa. Also it's reasonably close to the TICAbus station for going to Nicaragua. The location is very safe at night. Walter is very helpful and speaks perfect English. It's a quiet hostel with a pleasant, homey ambience.

Disliked: If you are going to be in town for awhile, you might want a location with more restaurant/activities options--especially after dark, when most of the less expensive options are closed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Wallace

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 June 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay in San Salvador. The owner Malcom is very nice and helpful, the rooms are very nice, the food is good, and the location is convenient and safe. It is a great bargain for the price and definitely a great option for anyone staying or passing through San Salvador.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

EARLE Johnson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

28 April 2013 EARLE would recommend this property

Liked: The people

Disliked: Everything was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Louise Nielsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Marie Louise would recommend this property

Liked: It is not a Hostel it is a HOME!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Giardalas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, well equiptted kitchen, fast strong wifi, pretty much one of the best hostels I've stayed in yet!

Disliked: No security lockers in room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and staff were really helpful and accomodating. They really made us feel part of the family. The room we booked was spacious with a huge amount of closet space! The place was quiet but social. We had an excellent stay and I would certainly come back again.

Disliked: The street on which it is located is poorly marked on maps. It is actually in two parts; we walked the length of the one part that is marked on the map and didn't find the address. Luckily I speak Spanish so we got directions from a local that if we continued up the hill for two blocks then walked one block over, we would find the continuation of the street and hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catherine Twissell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, stayed in 2 bed private room. Comfy beds, aircon, lots of room. hot water in showers which made a nice change! Very helpful staff , keen to tell us about all local resturants in the area. Location seems very safe.

Disliked: Although there was a small lockable cupboard in the room for our valuable, we didn't actually get given a key to our room to lock it when we were out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect place with super friendly owner & staff !

Disliked: Nothimg

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nghia Truong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Nghia would recommend this property

Liked: Safe. Located in a middle class neighbourhood. Away from the historic downtown but next to the "new" downtown. Nice common areas: kitchen, tv room. Free water, tea, coffee all day.

Disliked: No curtains on window. Hard to sleep in. No air conditioner. Window open and karaoke from the "new" downtown every evening is quite invasive. Two one person washrooms for most of the guests in dormitories (more than 10 on busy days) are not adequate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mattias Engström

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Mattias would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff! Safe and central location at a cheap price... what else could you ask for? :D

Disliked: Took me a while to figure out how to open the front gate when I first arrived...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amoro Hermes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2012 Amoro would recommend this property

Liked: It is a quiet and calm place and friendly staff, has a wonderful terrace, an excellent kitchen. everything's just fine, but the MATTRESSES are very bad and need to be replaced with some new ones and there is no safe lockers. Else it is just afine place

Disliked: The mattresses are very bad, and no hot water all the time to take a shower when needed and no safe lockers

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Priscilla Pace

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 August 2012 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: Nice homey feel in a beautiful big house in a safe and clean part of Sans Salvador. Big and modern kitchen and living areas.

Disliked: Dorm room was a bit small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a spacious and a good layout. Having daily hot water was a big plus.

Disliked: The property felt more like someone's house than a hostel. There was a lack of organisation and there was not sufficient staff to run the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, familar hostel, staff is very friendly and hostel is clean and save!

Disliked: dorms are a litte bit small and the mattress is superthin, but for thice price absolutly okay...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Lymbery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel for a week.and its one of the best I have stayed in during my 5 months travelling. It had the cleanest, best equipped kitchen yet. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the owner is very knowledgeable about El Salvador/San Salvador and he is happy to share his knowledge. My bed was great, everything was really clean and there is ALWAYS hot water. There is a washing machine to do your laundry for a small cost. There´s a TV and nice communal / dining areas and a lovely terrace. Its in a good area where it is safe to walk alone at night and its two minutes walk to the World Trade Centre where there are bars, restaurants and ATM machines. Its a 10 minute walk to a nice shopping mall and supermarket. The shopping in San Salvador is surprisingly amazing - there's street markets to world class shopping malls scattered around the city. I highly recommed this hostel.

Disliked: Absolutely Nothing