HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of La Casa Mazeta Juayua Hostel

1ra Calle Oriente, 2da avenida norte no.22, Juayua, El Salvador

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 100%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 80.00USD
  • Breakfast 3.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Juayua?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 100%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean, friendly and very helpfull host

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A nice friendly little hostel in a nice friendly little town... good facilities, a lovely garden are to relax in, lots of good information available, and the owner, Darren, is very welcoming and helpful. A good base from which to explore the area.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Darren, the British expat owner was exceptionally nice and very helpful, common areas were really nice, cute courtyard areas and being able to use the kitchen (which was decently appointed) was also great!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Your comments are very well appreciated. It was fun hosting you, and chatting with you. We hope to see you back this way another day. Best of luck with all of your future plans (non-plans!)
Abrazos calidos, de todo el ´crew´ de La Mazeta

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the to men who works there was very helpfull

Disliked: they take extra charge for everything, water,coffey,tea,. and the loundry i think was very expensiv, 6 dollar.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review, very much appreciated.
In response to your statement above…you declined our offer of a free welcome beer (Free…no charge) then bought your beer elsewhere (probably not free) Water refills-20c, coffee/tea-50c, beers-$1.25 ($2.00 litre bottles) Tough to give away, but not expensive, do you think? So, er… yep, that´s all we charge for. Free kitchen,free DVD´s,free travel advice,free internet & WiFi,free parking,free book exchange,free fun & games & conversation
Abrazos

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay here, Darren the owner is great, really friendly and helpful and full of useful information. The location is good. The beds were comfortable. Quiet time from 12am. Welcome beer! Bathroom kept really clean (only one shared bathroom but not a problem for us). Enormous DVD collection. Comfortable chill out area - good for socialising. Great wifi.

Disliked: The walls are thin and there was a gap above our door - but it was quiet after 12am, so fine.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review guys, we really appreciate your input
Cleanliness is always of the utmost importance to us; beds are all good deep mattresses (no cheap´colchonetas´ here) and the welcome beer, we think, is only polite ! The DVD collection is set to get even larger, along with the large screen TV on the way. A little bemused about the walls being thin ... this is an old colonial home, built with red brick at least 6 inches thick !?? Thanks again for chilling with us, abrazos, Casa Mazeta

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Having spent 10 months traveling in Latin America we were surprised to find one of our favourite hostels in Juayua. The hostel is is beautifully decorated with a lovely garden with lots of little areas to relax in and a huge and well equipped kitchen. As there is only space for 12 people there’s lots of room to chill out and enjoy the atmosphere. Darren, the owner, could not have been more helpful, he made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable and was a fountain of information, not just about the local area but the whole of El Salvador. The ‘7 waterfalls trip’ he organises is well worth doing (Carlos the guide was great) and it’s extremely easy to use local buses to see other nearby towns. The curry night was brilliant, it felt like we’d popped around for dinner with a friend and we were in love with the dogs. We could easily have stayed for longer (we were there for 4 nights) and would love to go back.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review guys, we appreciate you spending time on it.
Very glad to hear that you felt comfortable in our little home. We are making great efforts to use every corner for your convenience, and at the same time keep the ambience relaxed and homely. Excellent that you enjoyed the 7 waterfalls tour (and Carlos is thrilled to get a mention too!)
Happy, safe onward travels,
Abrazos de todos,
Casa Mazeta

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff, the lovely garden, the cute dogs! Plenty of travel information and activities on offer. Recommendations for places to eat and sights to visit were all fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our heartfelt thanks for your great review. Mazeta is still growing under it´s new ownership, and we will be adding more & more features as and when we can, to make it the best value possible .... the free welcome drink on arrival has proven to be massively popular already !
Abrazos, Seka y Darren

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location was very quiet. It was very safe. The owner was extremely friendly. The place was clean. There was plenty of music, games, movies, etc to enjoy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback guys, we really appreciate it.
We´re very glad that you appreciated the peacefulness of Casa Mazeta .... only three blocks from parque central, yet all we hear is the birds, just why we love living here too.
Safe journey onwards to you both,
Saludos,
Darren y Seka

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: the owner darren was awesome

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a million for your review, it was great having you here. Safe onward travel, hope you continue to love this beautiful country.

Check Availability