We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Luxor hostels

Reviews of Nubian Oasis Hostel

Hostel | Mohamed Farid Street, Luxor, Egypt 000

77.6% Overall Rating

21 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/11/2012)

"simply nice! Really good deals, everyone is kind, and cheap! The place to be in luxor"

Read all Nubian Oasis Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.58

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Luxor?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Luxor

Arabesek Hotel
5.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 61.0% 3 reviews
Nefertiti Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.1% 158 reviews
Tutotel Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Teacher Hotel & Club
5.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Everest Hotel
3.80 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
El Mesala Hotel
12.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Princess Hotel Luxor
3.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 21 reviews
Philippe Luxor Hotel
13.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

21 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nubian Oasis Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.0%
Location
84.2%
Facilities
71.7%
Cleanliness
69.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
87.5%
Safety
81.7%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013

Liked: Nothing at all!!!

Disliked: Everything. It's was disgusting from the begging. The beds were really unconfortable it was like they didn't have any mattress at all. No linen and no towels. Really dirty, insects and cockroaches. At first the receptionist ask us at what time we would like to have breakfast, we said 8 am. Ten minutes after that we where at the "hall" using wifi (as there is no wifi on the rooms), and another guy told us we have no breakfast as it was not included on the price (of course it does at least on this web page). I must show him this web to "have" breakfast. At about 8:10 we went down and when we arrive not only the recepcionist but also the other guy were sleeping, we woke them up and ask for that "breakfast", he asked us if we REALLY wanted...that's why we told him "no, just leave it". We took ALL our staff and ran away from there. No safety, bad location. The recepcionist got angry because we already bought a tour on El Cairo and we were not going to buy something to him. No friendly people, really really unconfortable and dirty rooms. Run away from this hotel!!! They didn't refund us the money, we stayed at Gaddis Hotel, nice, clean, great location and of course friendly people.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Aurelia Rodriguez Moreno

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Andrea Aurelia would recommend this property

Liked: it was the cheapest in Luxor

Disliked: the owner was kind of a pain in the ass trying to sell his expensive tour in the west bank

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Li Zhu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Li would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff; Location is good, shower is wonderful!!

Disliked: Blanket is rough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simply nice! Really good deals, everyone is kind, and cheap! The place to be in luxor

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariya Todorova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Mariya would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite clean, but expect very basic stuff. The location is good - near to Luxor temple and near places to eat. We didn't have hot water. Overall, it is a good value for the money, considering how much you are paying. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They chatted with us and played Backgammon. Also, there was a free welcome drink - tea or coffee, and we had free tea daily. We also signed up for a hot-air balloon ride through them. Just like anywhere in Egypt, you should find out what the prices are in other places and bargain, don't just take the first offer. The wi-fi works, but only in the common area downstairs.

Disliked: Their listing leads you to believe that breakfast is included in the price of the bed, but it is not. It costs additional 7-8 EP. Not a big deal, but good to know in advance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Winning

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty decent, it's only 2 streets away from the Luxor Temple and the main streets. The staff are amazingly helpful and the owner Mr Sayed is honestly one of the nicest Egyptian men I met on my trip.

Disliked: It doesn't look overly glamorous, that's because it isn't, if you can look past the drab decor, you'll love it. If people say there's no hot water, they're lying, everytime, I had hot water on demand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is very very much a budget hotel so don't come here expecting luxury. For what it is, it is brilliant. Staff very helpful without hassle. I would recommend it for backpackers. Great location. Near the station and centre of the town. Extremely basic but clean with locks on doors.

Disliked: Again, for what it is there is nothing to dislike. If you want clean/ v basic then this is great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff are really nice and will go out of their way to make your stay a Happy one. The Boss was extremly nice and even let me keep my room till really late so i could have a shower before catching the train at 11pm. Always tea at your hand and a friendly face to help with any problems. They really look after you here..would love to come stay again :)

Disliked: wasn't hot water all the time and the tiles were falling off the wall as i was having a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen James

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are very very friendly and helpful - anything you need, just ask. They can organise well-priced tours and give great advice about eating/shopping etc in the city. The location is excellent (quiet at night) and we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Rooms are basic, but if you bear in mind the price they are excellent value.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Reid

17 June 2010

Liked: We arrived in Luxor on an overnight train from Cairo around 6:00 in the morning and there was someone there waiting to find passengers who either did not have any accommodations or was staying with Nubian. They walked us back through sketchy back roads, granted this was faster. When we arrived there was no hot water for showering and bugs, dirt and some 10+ window shutters just sitting in the room. We decided to go ahead and pay for the night and go to the better Oasis hostel down the street. In retrospect, we should have seen this coming as this solution was detailed in Lonely Planet.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cheap and the staff friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good for low price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Luis Marques

07 April 2010 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: For this price is a good hostel. Salah arranged honest tours to the sites and also Aswan and Abu Simbel and they worked pretty well. Linen was dirty. Breakfast OK.

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Parisen

04 April 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Place was pretty good, only complaint is that they say they have WIFI but they don't, internet downstairs is one computer in the lobby and you have to pay after 30min or so.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Floortje Cornelis

12 January 2010 Floortje would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly. He maked as a wonderfull diner for free and was very nice all the time. Very cheap but i'm sure that this is the best hostel in luxor! The roof is briljant! Relaxing, take sun, watch a movie. Perfect. You must have to go to nubian oasis! Have a nice time!

Disliked: Floortje left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and polite staffs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 April 2009

Liked: location is ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Luxor hostels