HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Cairo, Egypt

Family Palace 100%

1. Family Palace

Hotel
169 Mohamed Farid Street, Downtown

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Family Palace

23 Dec 2013 100%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Family Holiday

very nice place

would recommend this property

20 Dec 2013 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

First, the biggest benefit of this hostel is the incredible staff--so friendly and so helpful, and as a solo female traveler, I didn't feel unsafe at all. Beds are comfortable and rooms are exactly as pictured in any official pictures. Had some difficulty with the toilet, which the staff were quick to help with. A/C and in-room wifi great (they have free wifi throughout the hotel) Awesome location on Mohammed Farid street (very active street, especially at night, with many restaurants, etc.) near Tahrir Square (but far enough away if you're nervous about it), near metro, Easy enough to find and staff were eager to help with (massive) suitcases and refused to accept a tip even though Egyptians usually expect a tip for pretty much anything. No problem with charges/reservations--got exactly what I asked for at the price I had been quoted. Very filling breakfast and tasty enough. Mostly, I'd recommend staying here for the great staff and great prices.

would recommend this property

Read all Family Palace reviews
Dahab Hostel 97%

2. Dahab Hostel

Hostel
26 Mahmoud Bassiouny St.

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 97%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 97%

Value 100%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dahab Hostel

17 Jan 2017 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

I liked the fact that is was a very central location with wide accessibility to all the places within walking distance of downtown Cairo. The staff were very helpful and accommodating in all aspects of the hostels offerings. Plenty of Social areas on the roof top and the prove tours themselves which I would highly recommend doing to avoid being hustled elsewhere. I will definitely be staying there on my return.

would recommend this property

15 Dec 2016 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 31-40

The interior on the roof, plants and cats...

would recommend this property

Read all Dahab Hostel reviews
Freedom Hostel 98%

3. Freedom Hostel

Hostel
6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank.

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 97%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 99%

111 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Freedom Hostel

19 Apr 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Very good place, clean, safe, good location and the best is staff !!!

would recommend this property

30 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

Best staff ever! They're friendly, helpful and have lots of advice about Cairo and beyond. Dorm was nice and comfortable, the bathrooms are clean. The location is right in the middle of downtown Cairo with short walks to the metro, Egyptian museum and the bus station. But it's off the main road so there isn't too much noise from traffic. Really great stay here.

would recommend this property

Read all Freedom Hostel reviews
Miami Cairo Hostel 96%

4. Miami Cairo Hostel

Hostel
34 Talaat Harb Street, 2nd Floor, cairo

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 97%

Staff 99%

Value 97%

42 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Cairo Hostel

14 Feb 2015 66%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Not much

would recommend this property

27 Jan 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

This location is very close to the Egyptian museum and it has a good atmosphere. The streets surrounding the hostel is full of life during evening hours, and the bakery just down the street has amazing ice cream and bakeries

would recommend this property

Read all Miami Cairo Hostel reviews
May Fair Hotel 96%

5. May Fair Hotel

Hotel
9 El Aziz Osman - Zamalek

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 96%

Value 100%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend May Fair Hotel

22 Jan 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Family Holiday

The Mayfair proved to be a lovely hotel to stay in - it was very clean; the staff were friendly and helpful and is in a secure location with lots of places to eat around it.

would recommend this property

12 Oct 2014 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Quiet, nice location, pretty terrace, free Wi-Fi

would recommend this property

Read all May Fair Hotel reviews
City Plaza Hostel 96%

6. City Plaza Hostel

Hostel
13 (26 july street) sixth floor

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 96%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 93%

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Plaza Hostel

19 Mar 2013 51%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Work / volunteering

Friendly, helpful staff. WiFi.

24 Nov 2012 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Relaxation / spa

good hostel,nice room ,thanks for all staff

would recommend this property

Read all City Plaza Hostel reviews
My Hotel Cairo 94%

7. My Hotel Cairo

Hotel
13 Merit Basha Street

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 77%

Location 100%

Safety 91%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend My Hotel Cairo

16 Jun 2012 80%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

location is ideal. Staff were great. and really, for the money what are you expecting??? Its a great place if you're on a budget and just need a place to put your head down for the night. in Cairo.

would recommend this property

27 Apr 2012 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

At the heart of Cairo and ease of access to Metro,

would recommend this property

Read all My Hotel Cairo reviews
Wake UP! Cairo Hostel 94%

8. Wake UP! Cairo Hostel

Hostel
33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower., Downtown

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

86 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake UP! Cairo Hostel

04 Dec 2015 89%
Travel Type: Alone

The location is pretty good, and the staff's friendly.

would recommend this property

21 Nov 2015 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The staff is great and very friendly. They help you with anything you need. Besides the location is excellent.

would recommend this property

Read all Wake UP! Cairo Hostel reviews
Meramees Hostel 93%

9. Meramees Hostel

Hostel
32 Sabri Abou Alam Street

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 92%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Meramees Hostel

29 Dec 2015 71%
Travel Type: Alone

Rustic, old building with character. Very friendly staff.

would recommend this property

28 Mar 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Relaxation / spa Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

I especially like the location of the hostel and that everthing went quit uncomplicated.

would recommend this property

Read all Meramees Hostel reviews
New Palace Hotel 95%

10. New Palace Hotel

Hostel
17, Soliman El Halaby St,, From Emad El Din St

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 95%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend New Palace Hotel

26 Sep 2012 71%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Cheap place.

would recommend this property

18 Aug 2012 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Business / conference Work / volunteering

Once I arrived there everyone was very helful ,being a single female I thought it will be problem but I found I was very safe ' Friendly staffs and enviroment. Homely place to be.

would recommend this property

Read all New Palace Hotel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Cairo hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairo. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Cairo

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Cairo. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!