HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Cairo, Egypt

Dahab Hostel 98%

1. Dahab Hostel

Hostel
26 Mahmoud Bassiouny St.

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 98%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 98%

Value 100%

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dahab Hostel

02 Apr 2017 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Nice location ! Amazing atomsphere!

would recommend this property

17 Jan 2017 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

I liked the fact that is was a very central location with wide accessibility to all the places within walking distance of downtown Cairo. The staff were very helpful and accommodating in all aspects of the hostels offerings. Plenty of Social areas on the roof top and the prove tours themselves which I would highly recommend doing to avoid being hustled elsewhere. I will definitely be staying there on my return.

would recommend this property

Read all Dahab Hostel reviews
Freedom Hostel 98%

2. Freedom Hostel

Hostel
6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank.

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 97%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 99%

112 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Freedom Hostel

31 May 2017 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 31-40

First impressions a friendly relaxed atmosphere.The staff made me feel right at home.My bed was clean & comfortable and water in the shower was hot.Eslam had my itherny arranged from beginning to end.Sara was so friendly and welcoming.And Ahmed is so talented with his music I felt at home.There was construction work going on and the staff worked extremely hard and I loved the atmosphere when I joined in to help.This place is highly comes highly recommended and I will return soon.⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

would recommend this property

19 Apr 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Very good place, clean, safe, good location and the best is staff !!!

would recommend this property

Read all Freedom Hostel reviews
May Fair Hotel 96%

3. May Fair Hotel

Hotel
9 El Aziz Osman - Zamalek

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 88%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 96%

Value 100%

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend May Fair Hotel

22 Jan 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Family Holiday

The Mayfair proved to be a lovely hotel to stay in - it was very clean; the staff were friendly and helpful and is in a secure location with lots of places to eat around it.

would recommend this property

12 Oct 2014 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Quiet, nice location, pretty terrace, free Wi-Fi

would recommend this property

Read all May Fair Hotel reviews
City Plaza Hostel 96%

4. City Plaza Hostel

Hostel
13 (26 july street) sixth floor

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 96%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 93%

8 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Plaza Hostel

19 Mar 2013 51%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture Work / volunteering

Friendly, helpful staff. WiFi.

24 Nov 2012 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Relaxation / spa

good hostel,nice room ,thanks for all staff

would recommend this property

Read all City Plaza Hostel reviews
Miami Cairo Hostel 96%

5. Miami Cairo Hostel

Hostel
34 Talaat Harb Street, 2nd Floor, cairo

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 97%

Staff 99%

Value 97%

42 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Cairo Hostel

14 Feb 2015 66%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Not much

would recommend this property

27 Jan 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

This location is very close to the Egyptian museum and it has a good atmosphere. The streets surrounding the hostel is full of life during evening hours, and the bakery just down the street has amazing ice cream and bakeries

would recommend this property

Read all Miami Cairo Hostel reviews
Wake UP! Cairo Hostel 94%

6. Wake UP! Cairo Hostel

Hostel
33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower., Downtown

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

86 out of 88 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wake UP! Cairo Hostel

04 Dec 2015 89%
Travel Type: Alone

The location is pretty good, and the staff's friendly.

would recommend this property

21 Nov 2015 89%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The staff is great and very friendly. They help you with anything you need. Besides the location is excellent.

would recommend this property

Read all Wake UP! Cairo Hostel reviews
My Hotel Cairo 94%

7. My Hotel Cairo

Hotel
13 Merit Basha Street

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 77%

Location 100%

Safety 91%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend My Hotel Cairo

16 Jun 2012 80%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

location is ideal. Staff were great. and really, for the money what are you expecting??? Its a great place if you're on a budget and just need a place to put your head down for the night. in Cairo.

would recommend this property

27 Apr 2012 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

At the heart of Cairo and ease of access to Metro,

would recommend this property

Read all My Hotel Cairo reviews
Meramees Hostel 93%

8. Meramees Hostel

Hostel
32 Sabri Abou Alam Street

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 92%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

41 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Meramees Hostel

01 May 2017 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 18-24

very nice location. friendly staff! strong wifi! overall 100%.

would recommend this property

29 Dec 2015 71%
Travel Type: Alone

Rustic, old building with character. Very friendly staff.

would recommend this property

Read all Meramees Hostel reviews
The Australian Hostel 92%

9. The Australian Hostel

Hostel
23 Abd El Khalek Tharwat, Downtown

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 87%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 98%

28 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Australian Hostel

13 Jun 2016 97%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Mido, the owner of the hostel is super helpful and nice. He was very willing to help us out and tell us a lot about what we could do in Egypt. The hostel itself is nice. AC rooms, community kitchen and fridge, etc.

would recommend this property

17 Feb 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Good location, friendly staff and cheap price. Excellent for backpackers -good value for a money.

would recommend this property

Read all The Australian Hostel reviews
Arabian Nights 92%

10. Arabian Nights

Hostel
10 Al Aded Street, off of Mansouria Street, El Darasa, Islamic Cairo

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 93%

28 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Arabian Nights

14 Dec 2014 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Work / volunteering

It wasn't about the property, it was more about the welcoming and friendliness, especially two staff members called Mohammed and Hasan, they made me feel at home although i initially came to learn Arabic i hadnt any idea of anything yet instead of feeling alienated and isolated i felt a part of the family. They should definitely receive some sort of recognition or reward. I would recommend anyone to Arabian night hotel.

would recommend this property

04 Mar 2014 63%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Work / volunteering

The staff were INCREDIBLY warm and welcoming. Really, I give this place a 5 star rating simply for their friendliness. Otherwise the place is a dump, the room was "clean" but nothing special. But it's basic and we aren't picky so it's absolutely fine. Nothing wrong with staying here, it is budgeting in Cairo after all... Also, they provided an airport pickup that was affordable and very convenient. I recommend that since its be hard to find the place on your own, especially if you don't speak Arabic.

would recommend this property

Read all Arabian Nights reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Cairo hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairo. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Cairo

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Cairo. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!