We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Tiba Midtown Hostel

Hostel | 41 Abd Elkhalek Tharwat St, Cairo, Egypt N/A

94.9% Overall Rating

27 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/11/2013)

Justin Bloome thinks…

"The hostel is right downtown in Cairo. The room has an air conditioner and was comfortable. The Hostel owner was very helpful making arrangements to get me around the city, including a college…"

Read all Tiba Midtown Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.16

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Jamaica Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 91.7% 42 reviews
Travelers House
6.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 106 reviews
Cairo Stars Hotel
5.58 USD

Hostel 93.5% 43 reviews
Cairo Moon
6.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Miami Cairo Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 98.2% 51 reviews
Hostel Brothers
6.28 USD

Hostel 93.3% 235 reviews
Bella Luna
3.91 USD

Hostel 95.6% 17 reviews
Select Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

27 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tiba Midtown Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Justin Bloome

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right downtown in Cairo. The room has an air conditioner and was comfortable. The Hostel owner was very helpful making arrangements to get me around the city, including a college educated and licensed guide, and even Alexandria for a price that was very reasonable. This is not a "party hostel" so there is usually peace and quiet and the rooms are private with a lock.

Disliked: It worked good for what I needed, but its not a 5 star hotel. Your going to miss certain comforts and conveniences so if your spoiled it may not be for you, but it's a great value overall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lilian Anderson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 lilian would recommend this property

Liked: I Can recomened it to any one want to stay at a clean room right at the center . staff make my stay wounderful with no even single complaint .

Disliked: lilian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paola Carlos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Paola would recommend this property

Liked: very good location , and nice people .

Disliked: Paola left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuela Alves

Alone

City break

18 June 2013 Emmanuela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff of this hostel did the job well , their driver was waiting on time at my arrival time to airport , the hostel was exactly at the center , the room was perfect , of course recommended .

Disliked: Emmanuela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Yankey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: For the price I paid it was the best among its kind , it is a small hostel so it was quite , clean and comfortable . I enjoyed my stay there and wish you too , good luck !!! Rachel A.G

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was beter than what I expected , It seems to be newely renovated my room was perfect , I highly recommened it .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly. The room is extremely quiet. The location is convenient for many activities and safe and secure. The value is really good for the money!

Disliked: We had a constant stream of Mosquitos in our room (we killed around 15 over the 4 days we were there and we still got eaten up at night) and the shower has no curtain (which seems to be pretty normal for the hostels we looked at) which means you soak the entire bathroom when you shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tess Dekeyser

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2013 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Tiba hostel for 17 nights and I can't imagine a better place to stay at in Cairo. The rooms are simple but they are clean and have everything you need, mine even had a balcony. But what makes this hostel special is the people working there. The owner of the hostel is an incredibly nice man, who clearly cares about his customers and will do what he can to make them satisfied and enjoy their stay. He and his staff at the reception my stay in Cairo even more great than it already was, they are really the best!

Disliked: Tess left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Enrique Francucci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2013 Luis Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, clean, good breakfasts and good location. We also bought our tour through ALL Egypt with Haitham. The tour was from Cairo to Luxor, Aswan, edfu and Kom ombo. Very punctual not only at the airports but also at the hotels to make the visits, really good price and by plane not by train (our friends bought a similar tour with other hostel and they spent 17 our on the train instead of 10, they didn't include edfu and Kom ombo and was the same price as we paid. Also at Luxor we have a problem with a hotel and they cared about us finding a new hotel and also cheapest than in booking.com. I definitely recommend the hotel but also their tours! We felt safe all the time that's why we enjoy Egypt.

Disliked: Mosquitos

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bilal Sumra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Bilal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very accommodating and great at organising tours. They were very friendly.

Disliked: Need some shower curtains

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carl Damas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, ultra-helpful.

Disliked: Cleanliness could be improved.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013

Liked: The staff were great and accommodating, but I was unimpressed with the facilities and the location. I ended up cutting my stay short (which they accommodated, but wanted to charge me 15 US for the airport pickup (which would have been free had I stayed all 3 nights), to which I was able to lower to 10$ US. I ended up having to pay the 10% hostelbookers fee for 3 nights and I only stayed 1 night. They didnt give me any discount and ended up charging me more than I should have been charged. The staff were nice enough about it, but overall I was highly disappointing with the stay.

Disliked: The location is in abit of a dodgy area, the rooms smell like sewage, and there are tons of Mosquitos in the room (I was bit atleast 8 times over the course of the night, to which I assume were mosquitos...I ended up killing about 6 of them before I went to sleep) Overall the rooms are grossly outdated and the high rating on hostelbookers seems to be abit of a sham. I would suggest staying at Wake up! or ISIS, far better hostels from my experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

geoffrey white

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 January 2013 geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Right from the airport pickup, which was friendly and helpful, the stay was excellent. This was my first time in cairo and didn't know what to expect....I was VERY pleasantly surprised with the Tiba Midtown. For the great price, I was expecting grittier, grubbier and more noisy. The tiba is genuinely clean, very comfortable (the mattress was excellent....again a pleasant surprise) and surprisingly quiet for it's very central location. Also, the manager was informative about tours on offer but was never pushy....in fact after the initial helpful provision of information he never brought up the tours again. Highly recommended

Disliked: Not so much a dislike as a suggestion....if the lobby, which is close to all the rooms, is going to remain a smoking area, they should extend the room doors all the way to the floor....as it is a lot of smoke got into my room under tha gap in the door. Also, some of the loud conversations bewteen staff and friends in the lobby got a bit much. And one staff member (or two....I could never figure out if they were both staff or just one whose friend was always around) stood out among the generally excellent service for his surliness and disinterest (all other staff members were excellent). But none of this detracts seriously from my high opinion of the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrián Jiménez Iglesias

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Adrián would recommend this property

Liked: Thomson Hostel was really nice. I would like to thank them for such a great stay. They helped us organising the whole trip in Egypt. The beds were clean and comfortable, clean and hot shower, fast wi fi, nice breakfast, tea and nice conversation anytime we needed it. They offer very affordable tours that I would definitely recommend. If I go back to Cairo I will stay there.

Disliked: I liked everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best Hostels I've stayed in so far. Just opened recently. Staff is really friendly and trying to help you make the most of your time in Cairo. Its the kind of small family run Hostal where the owner even let me print my boarding pass on his Laptop.

Disliked: no showercutain

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were very helpfull on planing for us a tour around Egypt. If it weren't for them my stay in egypt wouldn't have been as organized. Their work done planning and being there for us was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam kutereba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the owner and all staff very friendly and welcoming. as was a new hostel they seemed genuinely interested in my opinions of how good the tour tey organised was/ upgraded to room with private bathroom.ac worked good.wifi was consistant

Disliked: breakfast was served in reception which felt a little wrong but maybe thats just me

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No problem and I would come back to stay here again as they are taking care with the cleaness and provide good service . yes it is good place to stay at center of Cairo .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Baily

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Estuve en el hostal Tiba una semana,fue muy limpio y bien atentos.los trabajadores son ayudantes y hablan Ingles y Espanol. Hizo tambien con ellos tours a las piramides y luxor.aswan fue bien sirvicio. Como nos decimos es bueno,bonito y barato,es recomendable.

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice cosy hostel and the Staff were helpful and friendly , I like it because of the design of the building high ceiling and high french windows which make the room always fresh , the cleanness of my room was perfect , Breakfast was OK , in general it was very good value .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was Good for us , we like it and would recommened it for our friends .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel tiba has central location and offer clean rooms with private bathroom for a very good price , and good service .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: New , clean , good location and helpful sttaf .. recommended !!

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good , New , Clean and Comfortable Hostel at very good location .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jasmine Perg

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: It is a new hostel so It was perfect as every thing was exactly same as website and this is very important , tiba hostel deserve to be rated as very good hostel in down town ,Cairo , I enjoyed my stay and will come back to stay here again before I leave Egypt . recommended .

Disliked: .


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels