HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Freedom Hostel

Hostel | 6, Bank Misr St., off Sherif St., Front of Egyptian Central Bank, Downtown, Cairo.Egypt Cairo, Egypt 11111

96.5% Overall Rating

103 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

"Simply the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is awesome, almost in the heart of downtown. The staff is really tenacious, the common room is big and comfortable, they offer beverages for a good price. The hostel…"

Read all Freedom Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Hotel Royal
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Meramees Hostel
5.50 USD

Hostel 96.7% 212 reviews
Jamaica Hostel
4.74 USD

Hostel 91.7% 42 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
One Season Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
American House
6.28 USD

Hostel 92.1% 88 reviews
Luna Hotel and Hostel
3.49 USD

Hostel 90.4% 148 reviews
Cairo Moon
6.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

103 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Freedom Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is awesome, almost in the heart of downtown. The staff is really tenacious, the common room is big and comfortable, they offer beverages for a good price. The hostel sells tickets and tours for almost all the attractions in Egypt with a student discount. Just loved it!

Disliked: nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff. Rooms have individual air conditioners, which is a real asset in the Cairo heat. The staff is happy to book tours and ongoing travel for you, but there's no pressure whatsoever to take them up on it. I highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oleg Behtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Oleg would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to the metro station Mohammed Naquib (5min walk max). Being on top floor of the building, you can get a good sleep despite the outside noise. Breakfast was very simple, but you get what you pay for. Shower was good, beds clean, so that's all we needed. Helpful staff, arranged our transfer to the airport and gave us other info about Cairo too.

Disliked: Oleg left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Enderlein

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very nice place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can always ask them. It s so quiet here, no traffic noise. I can recommend this hostel, I had a great stay here.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I could ask for. A kitchen with a pot and a pan, wifi, hot water. EXTREMELY friendly and helpful staff, and surprisingly fancy decor. My expectations were exceeded. And even though I love to try new things, I would probably stay here again if come back to Cairo because I liked it that much.

Disliked: Getting bit by Mosquitos at night, but good luck finding anywhere in Egypt without a few Mosquitos.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Henry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time. Great service! Very clean! I highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean,very friendly and welcome staff,the location is very good it is near by metro station and the Egyptian Museum and a lot of restaurants .

Disliked: nothing .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

weicheng yu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 weicheng would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stay,very clean

Disliked: NO

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was spotlessly clean and the staff were really friendly. They really went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one. The hostel offers an excellent backpacking experience - it is definitely the "go to" destination if you are planning to backpack in Egypt

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Fernando Grigolon Rodrigues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Luis Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: I was welcome for all of the staff since I arrived and they're keen to help you in any kind of need. The place is quite cozy and it's clean, with a lounge area connected with the reception (breakfast included). The environment is nice and for sure during the peak season or out of the actual revolution scenario, will be more guests. I ensure for who is coming and is afraid of the revolution, to come, because there's nothing happening around here and the country is safe to visit wherever you go.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable staff, relaxed environment, helpful advice but no hard sell for tours (etc.), comfortable room with working AC, great showers, consistent wifi, and great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Home like atmosphere, quiet and easy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Cairo, located near the Egyptian Museum and Tahrir Sq. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - they can organize your whole trip for you at a very reasonable price, or simply point you in the right direction if you prefer to do things on your own. It's also probably the cleanest hostel I visited in Egypt. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ontzettend vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel. En dat in een stad waar iedereen je probeert te verkopen en op te lichten. Verder ruime kamers, goede airco en schone badkamer.

Disliked: Hostel is op de 4 verdieping en heeft geen lift. Je moet dus met de trap naar boven.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, Shehab was excellent. room was clean, air con worked well. tour service excellent, no selling, i asked. Shehab went out of his way to accomodate all my needs, making phone calls etc for me speaking in Arabic.

Disliked: Rooms could do with wallpaper/paint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Butler

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 February 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very central to everything in Cairo. Clean rooms. Great bathrooms. Helpful staff. Safe and very welcoming.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo alvarez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: I was greeted in the nicest possible way after a rather stressful trip from the airport. The team at Freedom were professional, polite and really couldn't have do more to ensure that i enjoyed our stay. They were a fountain of knowledge on what to do in and around Cairo. When asked, they informed me of tour services, but we were the ones to initiate that conversation, so there was no "selling" being done, which was a welcome change from the rest of our trip!! My rooms (stayed twice) were comfortable, clean and spacious. If I came back to Cairo I would choose to stay at Freedom Hostel without any doubt, and you should too. Big thanks to the Freedom Team - you are doing an amazing job of welcoming visitors to your beautiful country. Paulo

Disliked: Paulo left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012

Liked: It's relatively new and the basics are there.

Disliked: Either the bed sheet was not clean or there were just many mosquitoes in the room. I got bug bites every night I stayed there. The building is almost derelict and you need to carry your luggage up 3 long flights of stairs. Breakfast is simple and the same every day, although of sufficient portion size.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Common's area could be improved

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Chua

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staff is helpful and welcoming. Sadly it's not as cheap as it says online as competing hostels offer free internet, after adding this in Freedom is more expensive than most in the area.

Disliked: You have to pay for wifi/internet, making the price higher than places that include it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gustav stehag

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 gustav would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay, i stayed for three nights. The place is run by Peter, a fellow backpacker that always wants to help. The place is very clean,cheap and theres everything you might need. Its without a doubt the best hostel i stayed in in Egypt,

Disliked: Nothing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location in downtown Cairo very close to restaurants and cafes as well as sites such as the Egyptian Museam. The bathrooms are great and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly staff, decent location

Disliked: Staff was not very helpful with tours and sights


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels