HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Freedom Hostel Cairo Hostel

6, Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St., Downtown - Front of the Egyptian Central Bank., Cairo, Egypt

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 97%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 99%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 8.46USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 97%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 99%

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very good place, clean, safe, good location and the best is staff !!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Best staff ever! They're friendly, helpful and have lots of advice about Cairo and beyond. Dorm was nice and comfortable, the bathrooms are clean. The location is right in the middle of downtown Cairo with short walks to the metro, Egyptian museum and the bus station. But it's off the main road so there isn't too much noise from traffic. Really great stay here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Andrew , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We will do our best to still excellent as you rated us . We wish to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :)

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: bed are a little run down

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, staff very friendly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Gorge , Thanks for taking time to review our hostel and we hope that you had a great stay here . We hope to see you again in Egypt . Home away from home :) .

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location and staff helpfulness

Disliked: Cleanliness is not upto par. I think, even the linen wasnt cleaned before I was given the room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I have stayed one other hostel in Cairo for the first night and it was a huge relief when I found this place after that night. The air con, the dorms, the staff and the level of cleanliness in the commmon areas and the bathrooms is superb. Excellent Wifi. The trip organised through the hostel for the pyramids was excellent as well. The staff have been very forthcoming about everything I needed help with. It is located close to two amazingly good value for money places to eat - Kazzaz and GAD. Highly recommended.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Greetings. I just wanted to share to everyone that I had an extraordinary stay at Freedom Hostel during my 2 week trip though Egypt. The common room was lovely and spacious, bathroom had hot water, rooms were clean and comfortable all for a relatively good price. Honestly and most importantly the staff there was more than friendly and beyond helpful. If you guys are so lucky to meet Islam the man working there, he is well "the man". He'll help you sort out rides, give you key pointers to save money, give amazing food recommendations such as eating at Kazaz, and always offering you tea. I can go on how good it is but i won't bore you all to death... One last thing, location its easy to find and central. 10min walk to the Egyptian museum! Hoped that helped all you backpackers venturing to Cairo!

Disliked: You do have to walk up 4 flights of stairs, lol... but think about it? Its healthy for you! :D

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Simply the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is awesome, almost in the heart of downtown. The staff is really tenacious, the common room is big and comfortable, they offer beverages for a good price. The hostel sells tickets and tours for almost all the attractions in Egypt with a student discount. Just loved it!

Disliked: nothing...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff. Rooms have individual air conditioners, which is a real asset in the Cairo heat. The staff is happy to book tours and ongoing travel for you, but there's no pressure whatsoever to take them up on it. I highly recommend this place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location, close to the metro station Mohammed Naquib (5min walk max). Being on top floor of the building, you can get a good sleep despite the outside noise. Breakfast was very simple, but you get what you pay for. Shower was good, beds clean, so that's all we needed. Helpful staff, arranged our transfer to the airport and gave us other info about Cairo too.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability