HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Meramees Hostel

Hostel | 32 Sabri Abou Alam Street, (Off Talat Harb Square), Cairo, Egypt .

96.7% Overall Rating

195 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

Katja Gucek thinks…

"Came for 4 nights and stayed for 2 weeks, hostel has great location, great stuff that is really nice and helpfull. Streets around are full of places where you can seat down and enjoy the life that…"

Read all Meramees Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Hotel Royal
16.01 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sara Inn Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 88.5% 49 reviews
Freedom Hostel
6.83 USD

Hostel 96.5% 104 reviews
Cairo Inn
8.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.1% 4 reviews
New Minerva Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.1% 16 reviews
Hotel Grand Royal
19.53 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
One Season Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
King Tut Hostel
8.37 USD

Hostel 90.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

195 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Meramees Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 164 of 172 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katja Gucek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Katja would recommend this property

Liked: Came for 4 nights and stayed for 2 weeks, hostel has great location, great stuff that is really nice and helpfull. Streets around are full of places where you can seat down and enjoy the life that goes by. Hostel rooms are clean and it has comfortable beds, i would really recomend it!

Disliked: Katja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were beautiful, friendly people that helped us with anything we needed whilst we were here, what really impressed me was the free airport-pickup they offer. My plane was late for four hours and there was still someone there waiting for me. Great service, especially in a city/ an airport like Cairo! Also did a desert safari through them which was simply perfect as well. Thanks a lot to everyone at Meramees!!!! I would definitely return.

Disliked: all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roland Stadler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: Very helpfull and freindly staff

Disliked: Roland left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really helpful and willing to give advice. Internet was fast and the a/c in my room was great. Great location was you found the hostel. Walking distance to the Metro and Museum.

Disliked: Tours that were offered were more expensive than offered elsewhere and didn't live up to expectations. Staff were very pushy to make you review the hostel and give it 100%. Security lockers aren't lockers as such more a lockable communal cupboard where reception has the key, having said that the hostel felt very safe and secure. The place was hard to find and not very well signed and didn't give me the airport transfer nor reply to my request for one. Having said all this the Hostel was great place to stay, just be aware.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, location, helpfulness!

Disliked: no comments!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest people in all of Cairo! Especially Ahmed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location; basic rooms but clean and well taken care of; good value for (backpackers') money; friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mandy Dsouza

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

07 December 2011 Mandy would recommend this property

Liked: I have never been in a hostel where all staff was so nice,very friendly and helpful staff. They organized a great trip for me to Luxor and Aswan, with transport, accommodation and tours. Thank you so so much for everything! Good value for money. Recommended. More thanks to Ahmed

Disliked: .....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Matt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

05 December 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: This is a perfect place! The staff is excellent! Good and Safe location! Clean rooms and nice balcony view!Price is very reasonable. Good hospitality. \u can save a good amount on the Egypt tour plan organized by the hostel through Ahmed.. thanks to the entire team...

Disliked: .....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1.Warmth & Friendliness of the staff 2.Caring Staff 3. Courteous 4.Maintained very neat & tidy 5.Convenient & best location 6.Mostafa & Sheriff are really helpful & gr8 persons (They r ur hostel's diamonds)

Disliked: Nothing....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meramees was very helpful, the atmosphere was very laid-back and lively. I loved the breakfasts every morning, the rooms were neat, the bathrooms were nice, it's located really close to Tahrir. In all, I think we stayed in the best Cairo hostel! :) Thanks to all of the staff, especially Sharif. We had a blast!

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome Hostel. Great staff, and the tours they provide are wonderful. They put together a tour to Aswan and luxor that was the most amazing tour I have ever been on. Love the hostel would come back in a heart beat.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had great time staying there , the staff were so friendly helped organizing my stay and a tour around Egypt which was great cheap and well organized , I defiantly would love to go back one day .

Disliked: nothing it was all perfect .

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Julia Elmenhorst

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location to see touristic highlights of cairo.

Disliked: No cleaning of the rooms while we were staying. Bad breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Roxanne Barker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Roxanne would recommend this property

Liked: very pleasant hostel, clean and quiet and staff were friendly and helpful with any questions we had.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Nobre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Location is Excellent, The Staff is amazing and VERY helpful, They also provide free pick-up from the airport!!!!! The price includes a continental breakfast, Hot water is not a problem even though you don't need in the hot days in Cairo, Rooms have fans and AC!!!! Amazing! I have stayed in 70 hostels this year and this is one of a few that i recommend!! www.maredunobre.com

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, perfect people, perfect price - I couldn't have asked for more. The place is excellent but what really makes this hostel great is its staff. They are so kind and helpful and they do everything possible to make you feel like Egypt is your home. Sherif is the best!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike, everything was excellent

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff so wonderful and helpful. I think of this as my home in Cairo.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie angel

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 marie would recommend this property

Liked: The guys were very helpful and the tour they organized for us out to the pyramids was hassle free. The place is clean, in the center of town, and they also gave us a free transfer to the airport at the end of our stay. Highly recommended!

Disliked: ......................................

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassie Mannetje

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Cassie would recommend this property

Liked: Meramees has a very homely feel to it. The couch in the reception is very comfy to hang out on and there is always someone to chat to. The staff are very funny and friendly and they helped me book all my tours around egypt. Cheers to the girls, they keep the place very clean. Would definately stay here again when i return to Cairo. ::))

Disliked: Nothing...everything was great...:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mohammed, mostafa and Ahmed were excellent... very helpful. There was no partying that I saw, but I did not seek it. Great place for single female travelers. If you arrive really early in the morning try to force yourself to read the hostel sign in its entirety... it's on the fifth floor and knowing that when you walk into the building saves a lot of time on confusion.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Baxter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: I came to stay at Meramees Hostel for two nights. I enjoyed myself so much that in between trips to other places I returned to to see the friendly staff whom I had made friends with. They are so helpful, and can help to organise your time in Egypt most efficiently and for very good value for money. They make every effort to make sure you have a brilliant time here and have lots of fun along the way! I am now off to Dahab, but I have booked again to stay in Meremees for the night before I fly home. I can say goodbye to the staff, my friends I have met here. I will miss you Meremees! from Lauren xxxx

Disliked: I have no dislikes!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was centrally located in Cairo, which made getting around really easy. The building is really old and arriving at 4 in the morning can be pretty daunting but once you are upstairs at the hostel it's great! The staff are really a great team. We felt a little out of place with where and when to go to places and for how long and they directed and booked most of the rest of our Egypt holiday, which helped so much. We actually came back to spend our last few days with them. We would definitely direct friends to stay at Meramees.

Disliked: The lift is pretty scary, but there are stairs... good work out.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: U get to see the state of accommodation in Cairo in the 1920s. (pun intended) The free breakfast is decent though.

Disliked: Staff is not exactly helpful; any advice essentially boils down to using the service provided by the hostel. The toilet is one of the most run down I have seen in my travels; the transport provided by the hostel bringing us from the airport is speeding excessively and zig-zagging along Cairo streets. For those who like their privacy, pls be aware that ancient locks are installed on the doors of the hostel rooms which makes it convienent for peepers and the walls are really thin so noise pollution is a serious problem. The cushions in the common room are really old and dirty and Cairo cab drivers really had a hard time locating the hostel since there is no signage and the hostel is located in a cranky, run-down building. The internet cost is also prohibitive, taking into account the cost of living in Cairo.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels