HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Hola Cairo

Hostel | 19 ( 26 July St. ) 4th Floor, Cairo, Egypt 00202

91.9% Overall Rating

213 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Claudio Mocci thinks…

"Le persone che lavorano alla reception sono gentilissimi e molto disponibili. L'ostello e' situato proprio al centro ed e' possibile raggiungere con facilita' vari posti. Il resto tutto bene"

Read all Hola Cairo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Travelers House
6.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 106 reviews
Venice Hosokawaya
6.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Hostel Brothers
6.17 USD

Hostel 93.3% 235 reviews
Miami Cairo Hostel
6.17 USD

Hostel 98.2% 51 reviews
Cairo Stars Hotel
5.49 USD

Hostel 93.9% 42 reviews
Bella Luna
13.37 USD

Hostel 95.6% 17 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.49 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
Richmond Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.5% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

213 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hola Cairo'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 204 of 216 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claudio Mocci

Alone

City break

12 August 2014 Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Le persone che lavorano alla reception sono gentilissimi e molto disponibili. L'ostello e' situato proprio al centro ed e' possibile raggiungere con facilita' vari posti. Il resto tutto bene

Disliked: non prende il wifi nella camera 506

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Hall

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 July 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Happy to provide them with business - not sure if we were the only ones staying there? Incredibly helpful, lovely people. All queries were answered with a wealth of information. Felt very appreciated by them.

Disliked: Having to climb up 4-5 flights of stairs when the power went off due to the government power cuts!! Floors were a tiny bit grubby in the rooms, but other floors were cleaned while we were staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

teresa cardenas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 teresa would recommend this property

Liked: The cordial attention and great service from all the staff, including Summer, the manager.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sunil Rampersad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014 Sunil would recommend this property

Liked: Great location walking distance from Tahrir square and the attractions there as well as along the way.

Disliked: The area can be a bit scary at first since everything seems grungy and dirty but once you realize that's just how Cairo is then you don't feel that way.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2014

Liked: Friendly and helpful stuff, close to Egyptian Museum, the metro station, stores and places to eat.

Disliked: The area around the hostel is very dangerous, full of touts all the time. The atmosphere is not like the regular hostels, is very familiar and quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HYCAINTH ANTHONY OGBODO

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 HYCAINTH ANTHONY would recommend this property

Liked: i recomend because is really helpful and friendly staff,they come and pick you up on the airport, help you always when you need them. Is good location. Is very clean. Is nice atmosphere and is value of money. If I will ever come back for sure I will visit Hola Cario hostel again.

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Wonderful staff!

Disliked: Aging infrastructure, but I'm sure the staff is working on improving it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAN MOHD ASHRUL WAN MAHAMAD LOKMAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 WAN MOHD ASHRUL would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hotel. 100% recomend to all of tourist to Cairo. good locatian and nice staff. Thank a lot to all the staff.

Disliked: all good experience

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omar Sadik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and new building. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I was told to be careful about hostels in Cairo and I can honestly say that this was one of the best hostels I have stayed at. They gave me invaluable safety information and helped me change my travel plans when I had trouble with communication and rebooking. A+++++

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mika Weissbuch

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Mika would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Hola Cairo are the most helpful I've encountered while traveling. We inadvertently came during the anniversary of the revolution, and they made sure we were safe at all times, happy, and with activities that were fun but didn't put us in the way of the protests. I recommend it highly.

Disliked: Mika left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. You cannot wait more for less than 6 euros.

Disliked: People are not helpful in general with information about places, buses, trains, etc. Only the guy at the reception during morning is helpful with that. It is very good for people that want to contract a tour with them but for people who travel on their own they are not helpful at all. Ask all the prices before asking for something, all the prices behind the doors are not updated. Do not think that their 95% of qualification is the same 95% of an european Hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendly staff.

Disliked: building is a bit old but there's an elevator , so it's OK!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bram Keirsebilck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Bram would recommend this property

Liked: In city centre of Cairo, friendly staff, quite clean, spacious room.

Disliked: not really hostel atmosphere to meet people, but that's probably because after the revolution, tourism fell down in Cairo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arlette Gomez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Arlette would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, central location, free airport pickup, free wifi, free breakfast

Disliked: Arlette left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mezo jklhfdiugs

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 mezo would recommend this property

Liked: every things is very good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hospitality and helpfulness in Hola Cairo hostel is among the brest i've encountered in middle eastern/arab countries so far! i only had 10 days in total in egypt and wanted to cramp in as much as possible in that time so i booked a tour for abu simbel and luxor, from home before i left, which i would never do if i had more time, but everything went smooth and HASSLE FREE, and i got a decent price!

Disliked: all with good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a wonderful stay at the Hola Cairo Hostel ! Beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean, and a perfect location right in downtown Cairo. The staff was very fun and energetic, helpful in navigating around Cairo and helping to plan a trip to Luxor & Aswan. The trip planned for me was perfect! Saw all of the amazing sights and had time to explore on my own. Even spent a night in Aswan at a Nubian wedding party! Overall a fantastic experience. Hope to be coming back soon!

Disliked: ................

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely awesome hostel! I would highly recommend this place to anyone coming to Cairo. The staff are super friendly and helpful - you feel at home from the moment you arrive. They went above an beyond to met your needs. The hostel itself is centrally located which is perfect, with easy access to food etc. The rooms are clean and the beds are bliss. Wifi is free and rooms well air conditioned. We also used the complete laundry service which was great.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James De silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and generally very friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Disliked: The downside of being central is that the Cairo is a nightmare to get around in if you are using cars. Doing anything is slow because downtown is an absolute pain. Some of the tours offered at this place are significantly more expensive than organizing it separately or via another hostel. Shop around.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In downtown area near Egyptian Museum. Safe and clean. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Loud street traffic. Breakfast was just bread.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chad Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Chad would recommend this property

Liked: It was an awesome experience, friendly staff and centrally located. If you are used to sleeping in dorms while traveling, you will be pleasantly surprised to find that this hostel does not have bunk beds, but real beds in each of their dorm areas. The water was always hot, the staff was very helpful and I will stay there again, when i return to Cairo.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is centrally-located, within walking distance of the metro, the Egyptian Museum, and downtown. You can even walk about 10 minutes across the Nile bridge to Zamalek. Rooms and bathrooms were clean, showers worked, staff were very helpful in arranging transport to the Pyramids. They even kept my bags after I checked-out and let me take a shower before my sleeper train. Definitely recommend for anyone on a budget.

Disliked: None

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upgrade to private room as they made a mistake with the booking.

Disliked: Staff being pushy trying to sell you tours etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and value of this hostel were great (central location, good value) but the thing that really stuck out here was the staff. The staff helped organize not just my time in Cairo, gave detailed recommendations for my entire stay in Egypt. They also went out of their way to help me catch a cab to an appointment in Cairo at a facility I would have not been able to find on my own (translating the address in name to arabic, making sure I got a good price, etc.) In several months of traveling this is one of two of the best hostels I have stayed at, and I do not hesitate to recommend this backpackers to anyone, it's great!

Disliked: Do its central location it can be a bit noisy at night (car horns, etc.) but I think you'll have that anywhere in this area. Maybe bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper? Other than that nothing comes to mind, overall AN EXCEPTIONAL STAY.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariya Todorova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Mariya would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the cleanest places we stayed in Egypt. The guys at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Wi-fi worked without a problem in the room. The shared bathroom is always kept clean. Breakfast was the normal Egyptian breakfast that is served at budget places. The free airport pickup was great. The driver they sent waited for us for a long time without complaint, because our flight was late. The location is great - near the metro and walking distance to Tahrir Square.

Disliked: Everything was great.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels