HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Jamaica Hostel

Hostel | 34 El Khalek Sarwat Street, Cairo, Egypt 22222

91.7% Overall Rating

40 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2013)

leo artan thinks…

"i like this place too much . it wasn't my 1st time in egypt & i have stayed too much places but i really like it so much cos of their kindness & great hospitality they helped me for what am asking…"

Read all Jamaica Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Cairo Moon
6.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
Select Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 5 reviews
Cairo Stars Hotel
5.58 USD

Hostel 93.9% 41 reviews
Travelers House
5.50 USD

Hostel 91.7% 106 reviews
Richmond Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.5% 34 reviews
family palace hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Mesho Inn hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 96.1% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jamaica Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michel da silva

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 michel would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel for my stay specially the location & staff is so friendly

Disliked: just providing the clients with their sightseeing offers cos they waited till i ask them

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leo artan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 leo would recommend this property

Liked: i like this place too much . it wasn't my 1st time in egypt & i have stayed too much places but i really like it so much cos of their kindness & great hospitality they helped me for what am asking for

Disliked: nothing but just thanks jamaica staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julio renato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 julio would recommend this property

Liked: its a good place for all budget. safe country & nice city the staff was great , clean hostel, they helped for what i asked for. they arranged me a very nice trip to see the most famous egyptian touristique places. it was along day but it was great specially to money i have paid . the owner was honest with me & gave me a very good advices which kept me safe special thanks for the egyptian people cos of their hospitality

Disliked: nothing but special thanks for them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica andersson

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: العربية الإنجليزية الإسبانية hola , este es uno de los mejores (si no el mejor albergue) que he estado nunca. Excelente ubicación, seguridad, personal muy, Todo el mundo que trabaja allí es muy agradable, servicial y tolerante. Está a una corta distancia a pie de todo, internet gratis, tienen duchas limpias. Me encantó este hostal

Disliked: nada

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

WING SHAN SIU

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: We don't like it at all, And we moved to other hostel after 1 night.

Disliked: The reception guy immediately offered help to plan our trip. He kept talking about the tours for more than half an hour........He was not friendly after we didn't join the tours, Also, the place and facilities are kinda old. We booked a twin room(without bathroom), They have upgraded us to the ensuite. However the room was no windows, and the air con was very a noise maker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sam de gouissa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 sam would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed there two times . i booked a room for 2 nights & then they arranged me a very nice trip to luxor & aswan but it was an amazing trip the staff is very nice & the owner was very nice & helpful really i want to thank them

Disliked: nothing but amazing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

batrick remond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 batrick would recommend this property

Liked: it was a very amazing hostel once i arrived there i was surprised from what i have seen from the staff they gave me a very good impression about the egyptian they helped me for the sightseeing & it was a great trip to egypt many thanks for the owner who arranged my sightseeing

Disliked: nothing to say but thank you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when we show what's going on in Egypt i feel worry but upon arrival i felt safe than anywhere i have been before it was a very short stay on my way back home but they arranged me a very nice trip to see the pyramids & a nile dinner cruise am going back as soon as i can to Egypt to see it & am going to stay at this hostel cos of the honer of this hostel he was very honest with me many thanks for the hall staff

Disliked: nothing to say but thank you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tommy holmes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 tommy would recommend this property

Liked: everything i met in this hostel is very nice may be it was 2 nights in this hostel which recomended by a friend of mine but i really never feel warm like my stay with this people may be i arranged my trips with some other people but i met some other people recomended their arrangement & their trips may be it was my bad luck but i really happy with this people & i think my next trip to egypt am gonna book this hostel again when i made a comparison between the prices for their arrangement it was a big gap i really enjoyed their

Disliked: only the stairs but its ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, and the building itself, all the conveniences available, really nice staff , quite , very nice location 5 min from the national museum it was one day but i really enjoyed there they made everything easy for me i already stayed in some other hostels with a group from my country & when i asked them to visit the pyramids again i was surprised because the price that they offered me . they sent a very professional driver to see it but he really explained to me better than the guide i think they could be the best hostel with this prices & their services

Disliked: nothing to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exelente localizacion, staff mui prestativo, habitaciones mui agradables y con uma cama exelente.

Disliked: non hay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Herbert

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Service is perfect, breakfast is perfect, my brothers in the reception + all the staff are perfect, the bed is perfect - this hostel is warmly recommended!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clara Adrian

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: Jamaica hostel was an excellent choice! Very cheap. The staff did everything they could to make me feel welcome and comfortable. I've never seen such fantastic customer service! Great stay. I'll definitely be back

Disliked: ...................

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this hostel is EXCELLENT!!

Disliked: ..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dana Rafter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very welcoming & warm, It is a great place to go if you like to have a good time, A very clean and fun place, The staff was super helpful & I felt totally safe

Disliked: ..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great locatiion in downtown Cairo, close proximity to the main sites of the city and good to wander the area for shopping and restaurants. Friendly, flexible staff and clean rooms. Free wifi, which works right throughout the hostel. Rooms have airconditioning and satellite TV with a good selection of english movie chanels. Everything you need at your doorstep and great value for money.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jannah Murray

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Jannah would recommend this property

Liked: Hey, this is one of the best (if not the best hostel) I've ever been to. Great location, security, staff extremely, Everyone who works there is so nice, helpful, and lenient. It is in walking distance to everything, Free internet, they have clean showers. I loved this hostel.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lina Sjo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, super friendly and fun people to hang with. Easy access to the hostel. Unusual but cool decoration and room layout. We felt safe and secure and got good information during the Egyptian uprising. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing, it was all really good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simão Portela

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010 Simão would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a very calm place. It's perfect to rest in the noisy and polluted city of Cairo. It is near to everything you would like to visit so as the bus and train stations. The staff is young and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing to say.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the interior is much better than the exterior.

Disliked: the partition between room is rather thin, you will hear sounds from adjacent rooms, although you'll be spared the traffic noise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, great attitude to their job and always willing to give you good advice about Cairo and Egypt. Great air conditioning in the room and had a TV as well.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little strange, but still had lots of hot water for showers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, not expensive.

Disliked: Had to change rooms several times. The owner tried to overcharge for some things.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mina el raheb

Alone

City break

14 November 2010 mina would recommend this property

Liked: i recomend this place to every body all you need neer by, and spcaily they are very helpful staff , you should stay your next trip ther

Disliked: very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Best BEST! Love Love LOVE this hostel. Stay here. Seriously. So. Awesome!!! good location, the best staff who are super helpful, Clean, happy, fun, cool people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had air conditioning, the people were very friendly and helped us organise trips to the pyramids and sahara desert. the rooms are big and it s safe to leave your things behind while you go out. it is definately worth your money.

Disliked: the only thing i wasn't too happy about is that the shower was really cold, water was too cold to have a shower.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels