HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Travelers House

Hostel | 43 Sherief Street, (on the corner) 4th floor Cairo, Egypt -

91.7% Overall Rating

104 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Andrew Ryan thinks…

"The owners, Adel and Diaa along with their friend, Magid, are excellent hosts. Very helpful. They make you feel at home and you want to return to the hostel to chat with them. They made all the…"

Read all Travelers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 60.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Cairo Stars Hotel
5.58 USD

Hostel 93.9% 42 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
Hola Cairo
6.28 USD

Hostel 91.9% 222 reviews
Venice Hosokawaya
6.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Jamaica Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 91.7% 42 reviews
Hostel Brothers
6.28 USD

Hostel 93.3% 235 reviews
Cairo Moon
6.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Miami Cairo Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 98.2% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

104 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travelers House'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 105 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Ryan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, Adel and Diaa along with their friend, Magid, are excellent hosts. Very helpful. They make you feel at home and you want to return to the hostel to chat with them. They made all the difference to my stay.

Disliked: My only possible negative comment was the noise of the traffice outside, but this is the same everywhere in Egypt. Silence is something incomprehensible to most Egyptians and noise seems to be the status quo. I don't know how they live with the constant beeping of horns.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melad Girgis

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014 Melad would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing and so friendly. The moment you walk in to check in, you feel like you are walking into your own place. The place is Safe, Clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful - Special Thanks to Maged, Adel and Diaa' for their hospitality.

Disliked: NONE

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristina Nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: The balcony was nice and the living room. The best thing though was Adel, Maged, and Deeya. The first night I came, they shared their dinner with me and talked about Egyptian culture. They are very knowlegable about what to do and will call reputable and friendly drivers who are just as knowledgable about the history.

Disliked: The building is a little seedy, but nothing can be done about that. There was a power outage when I arrived due to government happenings. My room had mosquitoes in it every night and there were several smushed mosquitoes on the walls. Spray some repellent in the hostel please!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff who knew lots about the local area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yen Na Yum

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Yen Na would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is very helpful. He's also fair & honest. It's much better than the other hostel I stayed previously. The bed sheets are clean. There's no mosquito in the room as there are electronic devices to drive them out. There's also a lift to carry our heavy luggage to the 4/F. Wi-fi connection is good, no extra charges. When we wanted a quieter room, he moved us to the sister hostel, My Hotel, which is equally convenient. The rates are more or less the same. We stayed there for 2 nights, from 4-5 Jan 2013.

Disliked: The area is convenient but quite noisy due to heavy traffic. The sister hotel of the chain, My Hotel, situated opposite to the Egyptian Museum, is about the same rates but much quieter.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: The friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: My room was filthy, bathroom was poor, air-conditioning didnt work, mosquitos everywhere, right next to the busiest street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Bishop

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: After arriving into the craziness of Cairo, our 4th Floor hostel felt very welcoming and the five bedded dorm the four of us shared was large and – thanks to some superb air-conditioning – beautifully cool. The hostel manager, who spoke excellent English, was very kind and helpful, and keen to help us plan our stay in Cairo, offering us a fabulous deal for our day at the Pyramids – a driver to take us first to Giza, then onto Saqqara, at a cost of 200 Egyptian Pounds (about £20) for the four of us (not including entry fees)! This was well worth the price and our driver Moussa gave us loads of cultural and historical information along the way. The breakfasts of bread, cheese, omelette, jam and tea/coffee were filling, and our host was very flexible, serving breakfast earlier than normal on days where we had an early start and providing a picnic breakfast one day when we took an early train to Alexandria. Occasionally our host gave us directions which were a little confusing, but overall he was very accommodating, making this a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samiha Ahmed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Samiha would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel, I recommend it to anyone considering a visit to cairo. The staff are amazing, they really make an effort to get to know you and they helped me out so much with advice. The hostel also is nice if you travelling alone and want to meet other people. The place is so clean and brilliantly organised. Loved the free scrambled eggs for breakfast cooked by the fantastic ladies- a real treat. Thank you Travelers House for a wonderful stay,,,

Disliked: Samiha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Herman van Vuren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Herman would recommend this property

Liked: Been in TH four times in two months and felt very welcome. Great and warm staff and a very reliable adress for tours and hiring taxi's. Have a small kitchen. They had no problems with leaving some of our stuff behind for a few weeks. Very convenient location downtown. Special recommendation if you want to sleep quiet: book room number 407. Favourite adress in Cairo!

Disliked: It's in the busiest part of downtown so if you are looking for rest and quietness this is not the place to be.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yuanyuan Lin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 yuanyuan would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, but didn't have hair dryer.

Disliked: a little noise during midnight, maybe the location is too near the crowed street.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Enrica Pazè

Alone

Business / conference

03 December 2011 Enrica would recommend this property

Liked: The personal is very friendly, and at the airport the driver was waiting for me and he was also very precise at keeping time when I left (3 a.m.!). They didn' t charge me the price for the double room, although that's what I had booked, once I arrived alone. The hostel is located in a perfect position to go out for a walk to the market or to have a kebab in the evening. Breakfast is ok, pleasantly home made. I never felt insecure even moving around in the evening.

Disliked: I had to share the bathroom with other people, but I knew from the beginning I didn' t have my own bathroom. I would have liked my own towels (but I didn' t ask for them) and I would have liked to have my bed made up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good convivial atmosphere, and helpful staff

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very comfortable here and because it is on the corner of a very busy street, it felt safe to go out at night. One thing to note. The map on hostelbookers shows it as being a bit down Sherif St, towards Adly St, but it is actually on the corner of Sherief St and 26 July St (across from the bakery on Sherif St).

Disliked: It didn't bother me very much, but because of it's location, it is very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From a value perspective, travelers house was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and did everything possible to make sure my stay was as good as possible. That included providing drivers and recommendations on where to go/what to do. The rooms were very clean, and the beds were surprisingly very comfortable. The location of the hotel, too, is great, right in the heart of Cairo and a short walk to Tahrir Square and metro stops. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a fun time in Cairo on a budget, but the best thing about the hotel is the owners/staff who really make the difference.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel is more than wonderful,Design is amazing stuff is very helpful and willing.the room in this hotel is clean,nice,safe,comfortable and situated in a very convenient location.the owner of hotel adel give us many useful information and if you like, he can organize the trip in Cairo and the other cities. If you want a Hotel is travelershouse

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time in Cairo and this hostel was great. The location is extremely central being minutes away from the Egyptian museum, the metro, etc. The staff were great. They were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I'll probably end up staying here again when I pass through in the fall.

Disliked: !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good hostel with excellent staff members. Especially adel and diaa are generous in making you feel at ease and in showing you around. The entrance does not looks great , but once you are inside the hostel all is clean and welcoming.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very clean (with aircondition) and the beds were comfortable.There is a common room (PC+Internet+TV), a kitchen and a balcony.Breakfast was reasonable.The most amazing thing are the people who manage the hostel!They organized trips for you (White Desert, Luxor)for some Europeans it may seem a bit weird how such things are organized,but you can trust them.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dia and Adel were very nice and help full. Nice place in Down Town Cairo. Helped me get to Giza and the Sphinx. Arranged me a Bus Ride to Dehab. Let me stay until 10pm the night after I booked waiting for my bus and watching English movies with them.

Disliked: Cairo is a Wild and Intense place, Travelers provided and Nice Balance to my visit

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was well airconditioned and reasonably new in condition. There was good wifi and we were offered the use of a common room. Breakfast was simple but adequate. We were also able to get assistance with organising a driver for our tour who was infotmative and helfpul. We were also made welcome to use their fridge and computer if we wanted.

Disliked: The owners/managers were relatively young and often had friends or partners with them which made the place seem a little less professional. We also found it difficult to get our breakfast served some times. Also, breakfast was served in a "common room" that did not have proper dining facilities which made it difficult to eat Guests should note that the facade of the building is very old and intimidating - whilst the actual accommodation was clean and new - the external areas were almost a bit frightening. Also there was a lift that we were assured was under repair but it appeared to have been out of service for some time with little indication that it would be back in order soon. Unfortunately, being 5 floors up this made it difficult when travelling with a less mobile companion.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

monia lunardi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 monia would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness and the atmosphere

Disliked: the traffic from the room is noisy. it is good to have a room not on the traffic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were super helpful and went out of their way to tell you the best places to see/eat. comfy beds and everything was spotless. kitchen and breakfast were great as well.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice helpful staff. Across the street from GAB, an amazing take-out food chain in Cairo! Located in the heart of the city. Rooms were very big and clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! Staffs very friendly, make me feel like home..actually this is a bad thing cus u dont feel like leaving..lol

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is AMAZING.adel was really helpful in arranging my day trip to the pyramids and he also arranged the desert tour. I really love their attention to backpackers' needs like bedside pouch, free towel, free breakfast, internet, etc. The home atmosphere is also quite nice. And although the city center location is perfect, it can be noisy sometimes, so bring your earplugs! or ask them for it its for free too

Disliked: the right place to feel in safe


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels