HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Travelers House

Hostel | 43 Sherief Street, (on the corner) 4th floor Cairo, Egypt -

91.7% Overall Rating

104 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Andrew Ryan thinks…

"The owners, Adel and Diaa along with their friend, Magid, are excellent hosts. Very helpful. They make you feel at home and you want to return to the hostel to chat with them. They made all the…"

Read all Travelers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 60.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Cairo Stars Hotel
5.58 USD

Hostel 93.5% 43 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
Hola Cairo
5.58 USD

Hostel 91.9% 222 reviews
Venice Hosokawaya
6.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.4% 5 reviews
Jamaica Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 91.7% 42 reviews
Hostel Brothers
6.28 USD

Hostel 93.3% 235 reviews
Cairo Moon
6.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Miami Cairo Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 98.2% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

104 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travelers House'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 105 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely well localized hostel with all at walking distance. Super friendly staff and nice breakfast, nice lady preparing fried eggs in the morning : ).The common areas were very clean and cozy, and always lots of people hanging around, I guess it's perfect for young

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabian Uhl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very good time at Travelers House. Adel, the owner, is very nice and extremely helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and clean. I also arranged trips with Adel and everything worked very well. He really made very sure that everything runs smoothly, he even took me to the busstation himself and made sure that I was on the right bus when I went to the White Desert. If I come back to Cairo I will definately stay at Travelers House again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

reimond vandecasteele

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 reimond would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfull staff when you ask for a driver, you can be sure you have a driver and for a good price breakfast was good

Disliked: The elevator was very old and worked only one day we were there The income was very dirty, but when we arrived in the hostel at the 4th floor, every thing was ok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Robson

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very relaxed, friendly place. It is not very big, but it has everything one could need. There is always at least one employee sitting in the front room or TV room. They're really friendly, relaxed, and always willing to help out with anything you need. The wi-fi always works. It is also probably a good place for female travelers, because the staff are not the type of people to sleazily hit on women, as I've heard about some other hostels.

Disliked: It is downtown, so naturally it can be noisy due to the traffic on the streets. However, the street noise usually dies down sometime around 11pm or midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff who organise fun day trip to the pyramids and night events. Good location too. Would recommend!

Disliked: not really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: open minded young staff in very good location in the heart of cairo,next to many shops and restaurants nice decorated hostel,We had no problem with the airport pickup when we arrived at 2:30am..

Disliked: old elevator

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jeannie Llewellyn

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 jeannie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff - Adel, Dia, Aya, Driver Ahmed - great folks wanting to make our stay the best. Interior decor - not only clean, but has character! Location - close to Metro, shops, restaurants, etc. Beautiful high ceilings and tall French doors to balcony! Cleanliness - Aya did a great job keeping it clean. Pickup at Airport though we arrived at 4:45 am! Ahmed was great at getting around even though there was a curfew! Not crowded now - so get in soon! Great time to visit Egypt - March-April!

Disliked: Smoking was always present and flowed down to our room, especially with the TV room windows open. Mosquitoes in rooms and interior. Maybe window / door screens? Need more cabinets or shelves in room for personal storage - maybe a closet to hang up clothes? Stairs - up five flights - whenever the ancient "olde" fashioned electric elevator didn't work! Entrance hard to find, but there IS a brown sign high up on the right of the doorway!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Margaret Carruthers

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

28 February 2011 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: helpful friendly staff

Disliked: Maybe the entrance to it was abit dogey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carole Kinnell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Carole would recommend this property

Liked: The price, the staff, the location, everything was good. The communal lounge and balcony are excellent for relaxing after sightseeing and people watching. Free internet, friendly and helpful advice from the staff and help with booking tickets for the jazz club, etc.

Disliked: I would have preffered the Egyptian breakfast Dia and Adel had that they kindly let us share than the continental style breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carole Kinnell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Carole would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, good location and great communal room with balcony to relax in, chat to the staff and people watch.

Disliked: The lift was a bit scary!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ezwan Effendy Anuar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Ezwan Effendy would recommend this property

Liked: A good location. Near to the Museum and Train station. Big room with high ceiling. Spacious sharing toilet. The staffs are great and well-informed of situation in Egypt since I was there during the unrest. Comfortable living room to meet other travellers with cable TV.

Disliked: 1st impression when arrive to the building, the staircase is abit creepy thinking it was a deserted building. Once reach the 4th floor, all is well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aranzazu Gonzalez Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Aranzazu would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, kind and helpfull staff and spotless room.

Disliked: The elevator was old and sometimes it doesn't work, but still has its charm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Angela Montero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi an breakfast, friendliness of staff

Disliked: Need to upgrade kitchen, bathrooms and windows. Bedrooms are right on main roads so very noisey at night when trying to sleep. The horns give you a headache :0)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely place, staff are friendly,highly recommended

Disliked: it was nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, some of the greatest staff I've ever come across. Highly recommend this hostel, especially to people traveling on their own as the staff orgs day/night trips if you wanted company while sightseeing

Disliked: cairo is so busy city and it effect some times

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who are friendly and happy to give advice. Great breakfast and free internet!

Disliked: The building seems abandoned when you walk up the stairs until you reach the hotel on the 4th floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUNITA MANN

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 January 2011 SUNITA would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of the owners, price and location in downtown Cairo.

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice hostel, a really good staff, it is near from all the tourist sites and the people were great. If you want to eat a wonderful koshari ask for the directions to koshari (abo tarek) it's in the way to egyptian museum (easy to walk)

Disliked: jam in the street during the day (very commercial area)same in all cairo downtown

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed 2 nights here in travelers house with my girlfriend. Had a wonderful time in cairo thanks to the staff at the hostel. They were very helpful with directions and recommendations. Wish we had time to take the desert tour they offer. Nice, clean rooms. Very private and secure. Overall a great hostel. Already looking forward to coming back!

Disliked: it was nice experience

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is tidy and pleasantly decorated,The staff is super friendly and very helpful, and they offer free pickup from the airport . beds are comfortable and sheets are clean.right in the downtown so it is easy to get shops, museum, Nile on foot.

Disliked: bad building entrance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cozy hostel with great location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location downtown, lovely friendly staff, clean spacious rooms... Perfect.

Disliked: Road noise is a bit of an issue, so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back or pack your earplugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enggar Paramita

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 Enggar would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean room and clean bathroom, nice view. this is definitely the place that you should stay at in cairo. don't get confused if you find the building is kinda old and dump. just go to the you'll find a nice place to stay. and i must say that i'm overwhelmed with the staff's friendliness. let me tell you my story. so the taxi driver who drove me, apparently didn't know the down town cairo very well. he was having difficulty in finding the place. we had to stop twice to ask to a policeman and a stranger. i feel depressed, coz the driver didn't speak english at all. then i called the travelers house, asking the staff to speak in arabic to the driver and give him details direction. after 10 minutes and i still didn't show up, the staff called me twice to ask where i was and told me that he would wait in front of the building to make sure that everything's okay. to me, that's a true hospitality.

Disliked: sometimes you have to take stairs because the elevator is broken. but it's no problem for me. unless you carry heavy luggage/bag.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had great time with this people ,very nice decor ..

Disliked: it was no problems

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i usually don't write feedback but that's exceptional ,i went to Egypt and i have no idea what i'll do there but the awesome staff at travelers house helped me to organize my time in Egypt perfectly and simply which made my stay in Egypt unforgettable and lovely i would definitely recommend this place .. (thanks guys)

Disliked: .


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels