We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Bella Luna

Hostel | 27 Talaat Harb St - 3rd Floor, Cairo, Egypt 11111

95.6% Overall Rating

17 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2010)

"The Bella Luna exceeded my expectations. The private room we booked was clean and exactly as seen on the promotional pictures (nicely decorated). The hospitality was second to none from prompt replies to my queries…"

Read all Bella Luna reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only cash is accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Miami Cairo Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 98.2% 51 reviews
Hostel Brothers
6.28 USD

Hostel 93.3% 235 reviews
Luna Hotel and Hostel
1.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 146 reviews
American House
6.28 USD

Hostel 92.1% 88 reviews
One Season Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
Travelers House
6.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 106 reviews
Hola Cairo
6.28 USD

Hostel 91.9% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.6%

Overall Rating

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bella Luna'

Atmosphere
91.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
90.6%
Cleanliness
97.7%
Staff
96.5%
Value
94.1%
Safety
98.8%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff

Disliked: Little noisy if you have a room close to the road

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sirraj Kara

As a family with children

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Sirraj would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, location and cleanliness of rooms.

Disliked: Pressurised sales tactics of hotel arranged pyramid tour. Uncleanliness of hotel entrance Lack of fridge in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Bella Luna exceeded my expectations. The private room we booked was clean and exactly as seen on the promotional pictures (nicely decorated). The hospitality was second to none from prompt replies to my queries about airport transfers before arriving to the homely and friendly welcome from the staff and management team on arrival and great service throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them (I am not the easiest of customers) and I will always be grateful to the whole team at Bella Luna for making our stay in Cairo exceptional and introducing us to the Kosury (Must eat Egyptian pasta/rice & beans dish) . A few facts: Use the in-house airport transfer service if you are not familiar with Cairo (they are reliable and good value for money). The Hostel can be difficult to spot because it’s on the 3rd floor in a busy shopping street and as other reviews have stated, don’t let the dilapidated appearance of the building put you off because the hostel it-self is a real jewel. Excellent value for money and I will defiantly be going back.

Disliked: I liked it all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean. Choice of continental or Egyptian breakfast. Staff very friendly and tried hard. Hotel only 4 months old with bright paintwork.

Disliked: Hotel on 3rd floor so entrance alleyway a little difficult to find and untidy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie anne husein

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 December 2010 julie anne would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay in order to experience a real flavour of Cairo. Staff were super helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. iIwas travelling alone with two small children and the staff were so kind and welcoming to all of us. I lost my credit card and they helped me contact the bank. Offered good advice on local rates and tours. The atmosphere was lovely, gorgeous and character full bedrooms with a great view of the hustle and bustle of down town Cairo. definately recommend!Julianne Husein (School, teacher)

Disliked: julie anne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

suzanne weller

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: great central location and the rooms were nice, clean and egyptian style modern. the staff were friendly

Disliked: i really don't like being charged for tea in the middle east. i feel insulted when asked to pay for something as cheap and yet so indicative of the middle east. i ran a pension in egypt for 2 years and would never, ever charge for my hospitality. tea is hospitality. also the staff did not have a lot of interest in guests mixing or giving out information to guests

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and staff were helpful. Very good location if you like to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Cairo.

Disliked: Continental breakfast was poor. Some fruit would have been nice. We booked a tour through the hotel which was very good apart from the guide took us to a very expensive horse riding trip near the pyramids. Much more than quoted in the lonely planet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend Bella Luna to everyone who is looking for an economical hotel. The room we stayed at was cute and spacious! Very clean. There were three beds in the room. (Not sure if all the rooms are the same)No tubs, just shower and this place did not have shampoo. The bathroom ceiling is open to the room, so you can hear everything in the bathroom but this personally did not bother me at all. Friendly staff.They offer airport transportation (not free but it's nice to have someone there when you arrive especially if it is first time) We had to leave early next morning but they still offered us a good continental breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing particular. The location may be hard to find for taxi drivers. I would recommend carrying Bella Luna business card when you go out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Akilah Hendking

Alone

20 September 2010 Akilah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and friendly. The property is new so it's excellent for the price.

Disliked: I did not like that there was no restaurant in the hotel property but I did meet nice people during my walk to retrieve food.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hannah-Jane Taskis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

04 September 2010 Hannah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very friendly and helpful staff - sat with the friendly Osamah for a good hour one evening practising my shoddy Arabic! Central and down the road from Felfela, an excellent 'fast food' joint. Taxis easy to flag down from outside the hotel. Buzzing atmosphere at night during Ramadan, but if you ask for a room at the back, the sound is mostly muffled.

Disliked: A slight sense of false advertising; was lured in primarily by good ratings and the free airport transfer - but it transpired, once I'd made the booking, that the *free* transfer was only available if you stayed 4 nights +. Have a feeling that because it's a Westernised hotel, and thus attractive to Westerners, they took liberties with their 'Service Charges'. They offered to arrange our tickets to our next destination, but applied a £E50 Service Charge per person. Things like that are all relative - especially when you're travelling on a budget!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: t is clean, safe and secure. The host is friendly and helpful. The room is basic and at the price it is acceptable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very enjoyable stay and staff were excellent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony thorpy

29 April 2010 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Without a doubt, Bella Luna is the best hostel in the city.

Disliked: Anthony left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels