We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Dina's hostel

Hostel | 42 Abd El Khalek Sarwat, 5th Floor, Cairo, Egypt 0

87.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2013)

Julia Knapton thinks…

"The rooms were massive and very comfortable (we had a private room). The property was quite atmospheric. The staff were very helpful, for example offering to go get our train tickets for us for the…"

Read all Dina's hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Venus Hostel
6.23 USD

Hostel 82.9% 13 reviews
Blue bird hostel
8.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
African House Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 58 reviews
Star Plaza Hotel
13.85 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Isis Hotel 2
10.39 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mandarin Hotel
11.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 112 reviews
Each Way Hostel
6.23 USD

Hostel 69.5% 3 reviews
Regent house hostel
3.46 USD

Hostel 71.8% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dina's hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 26 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shazalie Yapp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Shazalie would recommend this property

Liked: The room and its location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as always, a very good stay!! The staff is fantastic! I miss them already

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good facilities.!

Disliked: haha,no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Knapton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were massive and very comfortable (we had a private room). The property was quite atmospheric. The staff were very helpful, for example offering to go get our train tickets for us for the next leg of our journey, to save us doing it. I was surprised that you'd get a balcony in a hostel room but we had one with a great view of Downtown Cairo! Breakfast was provided and it was large and tasty. Everything was clean and nice. We had a great time!

Disliked: We got an airport pickup, but if we hadn't had that, the hostel would've been hard to find as it was down a side street. It was signed, but with the hustle & bustle of the streets we probably would've missed it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Asim Khan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Asim would recommend this property

Liked: place was safe and clean and decent location. Stay here but dont ask them to book you a taxi and ignore the in house tour/taxi booker.

Disliked: they booked a horrible taxi to the airport, its fumes made my wife sick. a normal taxi to airport is between 70-100LE (i saw the guy who is the owners friend slip 20LE into the drivers hand. pocketting the difference. A staff member insulted guest in Arabic and act as if egyptions culture is better then other cultures.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is on the top floor of a turn-of-the-century classic Cairo building full of character, with high ceilings, balconies overlooking the street, large windows opening on to the central courtyard. There is a wonderful communal area with cushions and low tables. It attracts a wide range of people of all ages. On Sundays they have movie shows -- about Egypt or the region. The staff, Nana, Marwa, Dina, Mohammed et al. are all very nice. Also I found it interesting that some staff come from other African countries such as Ivory Coast and Senegal. There are a good number of bathrooms which means you will not have to wait. Overall it is a wonderful place which I would be happy to recommend.

Disliked: One feedback to the owners would be that the bathrooms could do with a upgrade as the flow/heat of the water can sometimes be erratic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff, great place to meet others, awesome lounge area, and one of the best hostel breakfasts. Walking dist. to cheap yummy food and the train station.

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting with like-minded good tourists in Dina's hostel was the best thing for my safety at a turbulent period in Cairo. I could share information and experiences with them as you can do at any other hostels.

Disliked: A lot of mosquitoes and bed bugs. I had to see a doctor to treat this itching and infection. After this accident by mosquitoes and bed bugs, hostel started cleaning dorms. But at beginning, the owner, Dina, thought it was my problem and one girl with long black hair was very rude. After just hearing from a Doctor about the cause that happened to me was done by mosquitoes and insects, they reluctantly accepted at their responsibilites. I arrived at the hostel in the morning around at 11am from Aqaba of Jordan by way of Nuweiba, they told me i have to buy breakfast paying 10 EGY since first day was not included for the cost. But the portion was very little so I asked one more bread and tea. The girl with black hair was shouted me that I have to buy for an extra tea that has been normally serviced at any hostels with hospitality in the world for tired tourists who will be stayed their hostels. They could say nicely but they were very rude and everything was calculated by money.From the beginning, it was very unpleasant. They do not know the real service and hospitality. I felt that this is Egypt. Later I moved to other hostel because they told me i have to let them know my extension 4 hours ago in advance before the check out time. They do not know how to treat their guests properly. There are many hostels around at the Dina's hostel. Mostly much cheaper but same quality with Dina's hostel or better qualities, and less busy, more spaces for shower, no pushing guests for next steps.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, relaxed atmosphere and the hired help are friendly

Disliked: Breakfast a little scanty, internet at the one available computer is not free, and the showers don't have separate stalls so the floor is normally a puddle!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to museum, in downtown - plenty of places to eat in walking distance, banks for money exchange and pharmacies. Large, spacious rooms. Good showers with constant temperatures. Fair value for money.

Disliked: We had to walk many levels to get to hostel as elevator was locked. Missing piece of glass in window let mosquitoes in - 11 bites on me alone during the first night. This also let noise in from the street (they honk constantly.) 2nd time we had a room to the side and it was much quieter and bug free. Staff seemed to not communicate with each other well as one did not record that we paid and were asked to pay again - just one example - but they clarified with a phone call. Internet is a bit price - we walked west down the street a bit and found an internet cafe on the 2nd floor of a building for 2 egp per hour. Just look for the sign.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dina herself went above and beyond! She was a gracious host, so helpful to me for anything I needed to know. The place was safe and clean, and social with other travelers.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to stay in a place in Egypt that someone takes pride in and cares for. It really was the nicest room we had in one month in Egypt, lovely furniture and the shared bathroom was clean. Really good towels too! Lovely airy communal areas and the entrance and stairs are not dark and dingy like other Cairo hostels.

Disliked: Room 2 next to reception so got a bit of converation noise. Disappointed not to get a breakfast box when we had a 6am departure and no reduction in room rate for not having breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jang Minji

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Jang would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staffs and spacious space.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Galanternik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel.. it was going through renovations/expansion when i was there so there was dust and people look worried (specially Dina at being under stress). People where nice enough, especially Achmed, very helpfull and easygoing. They have three new bathroom and hot water almost everytime. They have free wifi but only one computer with internet.

Disliked: I only have one problem with friends of mine that haven´t booked online and they charge more to them and then change the price in between to a even higher rate dispite having arrange a fare before. The building´s entrance is really creepy and dirty, but Dina´s floor is nice and charm. The elevator only works to go up, you can´t call it from the fifth floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Wattez

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: The friendlyness from the staff is exeptional, nothing is too much trouble. We liked meeting lots of other travellers and had a good time.

Disliked: The sittingroom could be a bit bigger and with more atmosphere. Maybe a table and chairs to play some games.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010

Liked: location and cleanliness

Disliked: nothing to complain about really

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010

Liked: Dina and her workers are very nice. However, they charged me the full price and did not deduct what I paid you which was $7.00+.

Disliked: 1.) Walking up a dark staircase, easy to see peeling paint and pools where men had urinated against the walls. 2.) The painting and construction going on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Dropkin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2010 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic time at Dina's Hostel. Dina and her staff are great. They arranged all of my tours and transportation and recommended lots of good restaurants to eat at. I didn't imagine I would have so much fun in Cairo, but I think Dina helps you really enjoy the city. Awesome hostel!

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My second time staying at Dina's it was great! I was a bit worried after the comment about only 2 bathrooms, but the hostel is expanding and there were plumbers building new bathrooms while I was there, so no worries on that end.This is really a great hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostel!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to Ramzes station, Egyptian museum. Helpful staff.

Disliked: The hostel has only two bathrooms, and one of them was out of order. It was pretty inconvenient and we wasted a lot of time waiting :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. The staff were very helpful!

Disliked: Nothing, I enjoyed my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dina is a very welcoming and helpful hostess. She has a great knowledge of all the touristic attractions in Cairo and Egypt. The hotel is very clean and comfy. The ambiance is very welcoming and charming.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really a special place. The staff went out of their way to help me. I was just there one night, but I already felt like it was my home. The showers were amazing and breakfast was great as well. With only 10 days in Egypt I was eager to make the most of my time, and Dina organized a fabulous itinerary for me, all within my budget! She was great!! I highly recommend this place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels