HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Egyptian Night Cairo Hostel

13 Merit Basha St. Cairo Egypt, Cairo, Egypt

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 84%

Staff 86%

Value 89%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: my second time with them and they still very nice and polite guys and hostel thank you guys

Disliked: the entrance of the building

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: The smell of cats wee!!!

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: The smell, on way to 5th floor where hostel is located, the smell of cats wee is everywhere. Hostel itself is not so clean, toilet in room had to be dismantled to flush

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice people, happy, and friendly.

Disliked: Not too much, I got exactly what I paid for.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Staff were really helpful, gave us good places to visit nearby, helped us find longer term accomodation.

Disliked: Quite noisy at night - but it's Cairo.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right in the middle of downtown, across from the museum. Very clean. I had the whole dorm room to myself! Also, the price is the best AND it included breakfast.

Disliked: One of the members of staff was difficult, and there was only one key to the dorm room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the fact that the building was around 100 years old, and that they made a beautiful hostel out of the fifth floor! The balcony gives a great view of the city as well~

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, staff are helpful and friendly if you talk to them. I ended up staying in a private double room with ensuite when booked for a dorm, not sure why but didn't complain :-).Not much pressure on booking tours/trips, I ended up doing everything by myself and saving a fortune using public transport, but obviously was less convenient.For the price you pay it's definitely good value for money. Would recommend.

Disliked: The kitchen could do with being a bit bigger, the oven hobs don't work but it's probably cheaper to eat out anyway. the 24 hour reception staff was sleeping on my arrival and the front door was locked so I thought the hostel had shut down, if it wasn't for a couple of other people who were in the hallway I probably would have walked off into the night to find somewhere else to stay.At night there was a slight sewage smell from the toilet of the room I was staying in, it didn't bother me too much but could for others. The laundry is charged on a 'per item' basis rather than a standard cost for a wash. 20EGP per item, so when you have many pairs of socks and small items it can cost a fortune... This should change in my eyes.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cosy atmosphere and interesting reception area with a view. The breakfast good and the staff very friendly and helpful.Would certainly recommend this place to budget travellers.

Disliked: Bedroom ensuite was a bit run-down and needs updating but very acceptable given the price.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had a triple private room with ensuite that was one of the largest rooms we have stayed in on our RTW trip. The staff were friendly and didn't push us to book any tours. We did book a car through them to take us to Pyramids, Saqqara, Darshur, and Memphis, which we could not have done without a car. The location is fantastic, right across the street from museum and close to metro. Even though there were protest during our stay, we felt completely safe even being just two blocks from Tahir Square. The hotel does not have a hostel vibe, it is more of a hotel, which we liked. Make sure to go to the famous Kushari restaurant, it is right around the street!

Disliked: The rooms are loud, but I would imagine it is loud everywhere in Cairo.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability