HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of City Plaza Hotel

Hostel | 13 (26 July Street), 6th Floor, Cairo, Egypt 11331

91.7% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2012)

omar rahim thinks…

"Great hostel. Very kind, friendly, and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean. Great location. Great breakfast. thanks for city plaza hostel"

Read all City Plaza Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.28

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Pharaoh Egypt Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Classic Plaza Hostel
5.71 USD

Hostel 91.1% 10 reviews
May Fair Hotel
15.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.1% 23 reviews
Allegiance Hotel
6.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Gresham House Hotel
5.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 3 reviews
Tiab House Hotel
9.28 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Rose Hotel
11.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
El Tonsy Hotel
17.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 57.1% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Plaza Hotel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 27 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 March 2013

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. WiFi.

Disliked: Not very clean. Kitchen is very poorly equipped. Room was absolutly tiny, barley space to fit me and my case with the bed, no hooks or hangers for towels etc and only a fan (no air con) and a tiny window. No real common room area and not very sociable. The stairs up to the hostel are filthy and I was dubious about trusting the lift.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lama ahmed

Alone

Relaxation/spa

27 November 2012 lama would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel,nice room ,thanks for all staff

Disliked: nooooooooooooo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

omar rahim

Alone

Relaxation/spa

18 November 2012 omar would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very kind, friendly, and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean. Great location. Great breakfast. thanks for city plaza hostel

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

retag sam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 retag would recommend this property

Liked: its funny ,the room was clean .the staff frendly,the hostel arrange for me very nice tours realy i was happy thanks mr mike (guest relation)its cheap DONT WORRY

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sana javed

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2012 sana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a very good location , I enjoyed my short stay there and will definetly come back , reccomended city plaza hostel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lana omama

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 September 2012 lana would recommend this property

Liked: thanks city plaza hostel very safe .good break fast .cheap tours

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rena omama

Alone

Family Holiday

08 September 2012 rena would recommend this property

Liked: city plaza hostel safe i am stayed alone the frist night ,staff helpful ,clean

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria waade

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel and cheap also save and clean i will stay again at city plaza hostel

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

solo kim

Alone

Family Holiday

23 August 2012 solo would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel ,clean,thanks for staff ,i will stay again at city plaza hostel

Disliked: all good

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a travel writer I stay in many hostels. The beds were comfortable, pillows soft not Egyptian hard, ensuite shower good, room nice size. The hot water is better in the evening than the morning. The breakfast is standard rolls, cheese, jam, boiled egg and coffee which they need to learn how to make better coffee. The hotel/hostel is quite with the exception of the noise from the vehicles six floors below on street. Salah and the other staff are very friendly and helpful. It is located in a active part of downtown with plenty of street food and vendors. Very close to Ramses train station and bus terminal going to Dahab. Taxi from either of these locations should be no more than 7le but depends on bargain skills. It is easy 15 minute walk to Museum, metro is close.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Very safe place, clean, nice and friendly staff. I really recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Anderson

01 November 2010 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was awsome. the manager Waled is great he helped me with all my trip gave me good advise and good prices . The place is very clean and the staff is very trust worthy. I feel very safe and I feel my belongings were safe as well. I recomend this place and I will come back to City Plaza in my next trip to Egypt.

Disliked: Nothing, I was very happy with my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location, close to everything! very clean, nice people and a really good hostel. recommended!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is just awsome! Location couldn't be better! It was really cool staying there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near all the tourist sites. Great staff who makes you feel very at home and are very helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Lintelman

22 October 2010 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel to stay. Very clean and the location is excellent. The staff was very helpfull and arranged everything for me. In my next trip to Cairo I will stay at this hostel again.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice staff in-midst downtown Cairo. As others told before, yes, the stairs are not very clean and do smell here and there, but there is an elevator (though it looks not very reliable), yes, the rooms might not be superb clean (i saw cockroaches and ants), yes, the room is very noisy (on the 6th floor, the 5th floor is better, so take your earplugs with you!!)-- but: all this adds to its beauty and charm. if you need european-like standards, maybe you should try one of the 4-star hotels, but if you want to feel like youre in egypt: this is a perfect place. i do not regret having been there for 11 days.

Disliked: do not go on tour by this hotel or if you want to, make clear you get everything written down, else your money goes down the drain. though my guide (ibrahim) was excellent, the organizator did not told me that the entrance fees were not included. i simply feel being linked by aiman-- not nice at all. and wont do again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean hostel, cheap tours and nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, excellent location, Free breakfast was the best. Staff were extremely helpful! MR. Waled, thanks for putting up with all my requests on the last two days. Highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Kirksey

21 September 2010 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay in Cairo, close to metro, clean room, we have been traveling the world for 6 months and so have seen lots of hotels and hostels. The hotel was great value and the staff were excellent, Ayman was GREAT! very friendly, helpful and enjoys a chat. Very happy we stayed here, recommend to all. Thanks for all.

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Stewart

19 September 2010 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location & the rooms are clean & very comfortable. The staff are very helpfull, especially Ayman, who helped me to plan & organize my tours while I was in Egypt. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's closed to GAD (for Egyptian food) and EL ABD (for superb ice cream) which I like very much. Other than that, it's noisy at night, shabby building... which similar to most other Cairo hostels anyway. With the price, can't complain. By the way, 5th floor has better facility than 6th. They also provide tours with reasonable price. However, watch out for tour drivers/guides. Just say "no" when u feel being ripped off.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Richardson

20 May 2010 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and offered me lots of helpful advice about how to get around Cairo (and how not to get overcharged by taxi drivers!) My room was nice and clean and the air con was good. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Cairo.

Disliked: Alice left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok place, ok price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels