HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Cairo Stars Hotel

Hostel | 16 Adly Strite, Downtown, Cairo, Egypt -

93.9% Overall Rating

38 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2013)

"Mostly, the best thing about this hotel is the warm, welcoming, helpful staff--they were utterly accommodating!! I arrived and they immediately offered me a welcome beverage. Because the single that I had booked was in…"

Read all Cairo Stars Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Cairo Moon
6.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Select Hostel
11.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 5 reviews
Travelers House
5.50 USD

Hostel 91.7% 106 reviews
Richmond Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.5% 34 reviews
Jamaica Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 91.7% 42 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
family palace hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 100.0% 4 reviews
Mesho Inn hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 96.1% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

38 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cairo Stars Hotel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: What a pain.

Disliked: This seemed like a slum. Everything from the rooms themselves to the leaning cabinet in the kitchen. seariously it had fallen into an jam, which was holding it up. Mosquitos and cockroaches make for an uncomfortable feel. The walls of the two rooms I had were covered in stains. Asking your tennants to change rooms is a huge no no. I am usually understanding about a few downfalls, but this place was horrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mostly, the best thing about this hotel is the warm, welcoming, helpful staff--they were utterly accommodating!! I arrived and they immediately offered me a welcome beverage. Because the single that I had booked was in the process of being painted, they put me in a larger room, obviously with no additional charges. I had a late flight the following night and asked if there was a way I could pay for half a day so I could keep my things in a room for the day and shower before leaving. They said I should just check out and that they would allow me to use a room to clean up before departing for free. Finally, they arranged transport to the airport for a fair price. It isn't a 5-star hotel, but if you are looking for clean and economical with super staff--this is it!

Disliked: The free/included breakfast isn't anything to rave about. There are almost always people smoking in the common areas and smoking is allowed in the rooms so they can have a smoke-smell.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The good room and wardrobe

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIN JIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 XIN would recommend this property

Liked: nice , warm ,close to the Metro station Attaba, clean . and there is a bathroom in a 4-bedded dorm , a wardrobe with hangers , french windows facing the street, i like this hotel! i think it's a good choice !

Disliked: XIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIN JIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 XIN would recommend this property

Liked: this hotel makes me feel warm , when i arrived ere i didnt have enough money to ay taxi driver , so i borrowed from the reception , he didnt hesitate at all and lent me money. brought me lunch as well . and the owner always call me "sister", haha , fun and nice! and i enjoyed the dormitory only by myself because now there is not many tourists in Egypt because of the roits. i like it!

Disliked: XIN left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great prices, and the staff were always asking if there was anything they could do to help.

Disliked: They lost a pair of my underwear when doing my laundry, while giving me someone else's sock. My room had no window and was poorly ventilated, so I asked if it was possible to get one with a window. They said they'd have one the next day, then the next day, but I never got one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jennifer warner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice owner and everybody who works there. they do the best to make you happy.

Disliked: jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Shingler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF! They went above and beyond! Incredibly helpful. They have great discounted travel deals for all of Egypt, as well as transport throughout the city. An amazing value, I could not have asked for more.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Brian McCrae

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012

Liked: Nothing, it is terrible.

Disliked: Too long to list everything. It is filthy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cairo Stars Hotel was extremely comfortable and great value for money. The location is excellent, situated in Cairo's Downtown area, the city's heart, close to lots of cheap eateries and from which all of Cairo's main 'sights' are readily accessible. Above all, though, the staff, without exception, are friendly, helpful, and charming, making Cairo Stars an ideal destination for the duration of one's stay in the city.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel good for the price .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Lennon

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

02 May 2012 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: the best thing i can tell about Cairo stars hostel is the home atmosphere you an feel that you are living there not a tourist , Salim helped us a lot , we like it and hope you too .

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luciana perez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 luciana would recommend this property

Liked: Very good room at central location . I booked it and felt well upon arrival they are friendly and helpful , I walked to the Mussem and train station and booked a cheap car through them to drive me a day to the pyramids , Thanks to hostel staff and driver .

Disliked: luciana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was good for us , as we were at the center and same time away from Tahrir Sq and the hot spots . we enjoyed our stay there and will come back again at the end of our trip .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good. Clean new rooms, good quality for Cairo and price quite good , Good location for checking out central Cairo. recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzana Anthony

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Suzana would recommend this property

Liked: it is a great hotel has Great location near the Metro, you need to look up to see the hostel's sign. Staff friendly. Breakfast simple but satisfactory.

Disliked: Suzana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ERIKA MOYA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 ERIKA would recommend this property

Liked: Cairo Stars hostel was my choice and my friends felt well upon arrival and it was not less than what we want , the hostel has centeral location and the staff were friendly . thanks

Disliked: Was nice stay no complaints .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely stunning little hotel. Rooms were cool, comfortable, and beautifuly decorated. Obviously excellently located. The TV had an excellent selection of international channels available, which a lot of places with TVs in rooms don't.and price of the room was reasonable .

Disliked: recomended

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is Great one you can enjoy your short stay with honest Staff , in a great location make it easy tpo walk to the main attractions . highly recomended .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and rates were incredible.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. They helped arrange for reliable transportation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fawzy fofa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 fawzy would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the amiable atmosphere and the attentive staff. The location is good, and the rooms are spacious and clean. No need to worry about air conditioning, it works really well-I didn't have the desire to even leave my room for a while simply to bask in the cold air.

Disliked: very nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bahgat znaty

Alone

City break

26 April 2011 bahgat would recommend this property

Liked: its nice place and clean and the stuff very frindly and they try to do the best fot you . and salem the owner he make a trips to all over egypt with a good price .luxor and aswan its wonderful places .i hope to all the people to see it.i love this country and this hotel .and i will countine some day.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sofia almondo

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 April 2011 sofia would recommend this property

Liked: cairo stars hotel is from the best places i ever seen .the stuff is very welcoming and the place is very clean they working 24 and salem the owner he making trips to all over egypt with good prices and he trying to do the best to the tourestes .i like this place and i will come me and my frinds again .

Disliked: nothing


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels