HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Alexander Hostel Cairo Hostel

165 Mohamed Farid St,, Down Town, Cairo, Cairo, Egypt

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 90%

Staff 93%

Value 85%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It is cose to evrything in the city

Disliked: Internet did not work most of the time

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was ok,i hope to get back soon.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: every thing is good at alexander Hostel clean ,safe , friendly atmosphere , cheap price and wonderful location near everything.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is located in a central area that looks like you can get everything you need. Other than one food and ATM run, I didn't do much else in that neighborhood so I can't really comment on that much. I booked a dorm room, and the room itself was fine and bathroom clean. free breakfast is simple continental and staff is friendly.

Disliked: The common area when I first arrived had bottles and cigarette butts all over the place. The place needs a better system for fighting mosquitoes than the electric zappers that they have because the sound of bugs frying is annoying and it is not effective because they keep the doors to the terrace open and the zapper is on the other side of the room, so mosquitoes are everywhere. I got bit up in the two days I was there. When I arrived, there were no rooms available so I had to wait, which wasn't a problem since I was early, but all the bathrooms are in the rooms, and the one public bathroom, that the employees use, I presume, was not that clean.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: all things is great

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It is clean, friendly atmosphere, every one there made all of his efforts to help you and the location is very good near every thing at Cairo.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: none

Disliked: we book the twin room, but they prepared only double room. they offered cab for tour crazy expensive price. we hired the cab from train station to the hotel, but cab didn't show up. we put some fruits and water in the fridge for guests but somebody took it from the next day. all things were nothing good.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Alexander Hotel has a great central location and is run by very friendly and welcoming people. We had arranged a pick up from the airport with the hotel and although the plane was late for 1 hour the driver was there waiting for us, very organized and efficient. Upon arrival to the hotel we were offered several rooms to choose from and we settled for a front view room with a balcony. Throughout our stay all the staff was very friendly and helpful, making us feel relaxed and at home

Disliked: Several things need maintenance, like shower head, electrical plugs for TV

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The 4bed family room was excellent. Had balcony overlooking the street. Great for people watching. The staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. Our driver Mohammed was excellent - faultless service, lovely man, very informative and knowledgable about the sites visited. He went out of his way to help. Would certainly recommend him and his brother .

Disliked: Mosquitos..... Clean but could with some general maintenance. Still good value for money and enjoyed our stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Great location in down town Cairo, easy to walk to many of the main attractions (and staff can point you to the best places to eat / drink!). Relaxed atmosphere, large clean rooms and a big open common room - ideal for meeting other travellers. The perfect spot to start our trip to egypt!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability