HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Alexander Hostel

Hostel | 165 Mohamad Farid St., City centre, Cairo, Egypt 506011

87.9% Overall Rating

196 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2013)

"The hostel is located in a central area that looks like you can get everything you need. Other than one food and ATM run, I didn't do much else in that neighborhood so I can't really comment on that much. I booked a…"

Read all Alexander Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Gresham House Hotel
5.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.4% 3 reviews
The Australian Hostel
4.87 USD

Hostel 89.1% 117 reviews
Classic Plaza Hostel
5.57 USD

Hostel 91.1% 10 reviews
May Fair Hotel
15.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.1% 23 reviews
Star Plaza Hotel
13.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Isis Hotel 2
10.44 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Arabian Nights hotel
5.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.1% 104 reviews
Venus Hostel
6.27 USD

Hostel 82.9% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

196 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexander Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 186 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a central area that looks like you can get everything you need. Other than one food and ATM run, I didn't do much else in that neighborhood so I can't really comment on that much. I booked a dorm room, and the room itself was fine and bathroom clean. free breakfast is simple continental and staff is friendly.

Disliked: The common area when I first arrived had bottles and cigarette butts all over the place. The place needs a better system for fighting mosquitoes than the electric zappers that they have because the sound of bugs frying is annoying and it is not effective because they keep the doors to the terrace open and the zapper is on the other side of the room, so mosquitoes are everywhere. I got bit up in the two days I was there. When I arrived, there were no rooms available so I had to wait, which wasn't a problem since I was early, but all the bathrooms are in the rooms, and the one public bathroom, that the employees use, I presume, was not that clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

millessa howe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 millessa would recommend this property

Liked: every thing is good at alexander Hostel clean ,safe , friendly atmosphere , cheap price and wonderful location near everything.

Disliked: millessa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana gonzalez

Alone

Romantic getaway

01 January 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: all things is great

Disliked: Liliana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

suzi stephen

Alone

Business / conference

17 November 2012 suzi would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean, friendly atmosphere, every one there made all of his efforts to help you and the location is very good near every thing at Cairo.

Disliked: suzi left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012

Liked: none

Disliked: we book the twin room, but they prepared only double room. they offered cab for tour crazy expensive price. we hired the cab from train station to the hotel, but cab didn't show up. we put some fruits and water in the fridge for guests but somebody took it from the next day. all things were nothing good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alexander Hotel has a great central location and is run by very friendly and welcoming people. We had arranged a pick up from the airport with the hotel and although the plane was late for 1 hour the driver was there waiting for us, very organized and efficient. Upon arrival to the hotel we were offered several rooms to choose from and we settled for a front view room with a balcony. Throughout our stay all the staff was very friendly and helpful, making us feel relaxed and at home

Disliked: Several things need maintenance, like shower head, electrical plugs for TV

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heather Irvine

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 May 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The 4bed family room was excellent. Had balcony overlooking the street. Great for people watching. The staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. Our driver Mohammed was excellent - faultless service, lovely man, very informative and knowledgable about the sites visited. He went out of his way to help. Would certainly recommend him and his brother .

Disliked: Mosquitos..... Clean but could with some general maintenance. Still good value for money and enjoyed our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Great location in down town Cairo, easy to walk to many of the main attractions (and staff can point you to the best places to eat / drink!). Relaxed atmosphere, large clean rooms and a big open common room - ideal for meeting other travellers. The perfect spot to start our trip to egypt!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

andrew baxter

As a family with children

City break

01 March 2012 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: damp feeling in bed sheets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PIA SULLIVAN

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 PIA would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed Our stay at this Cosy hostel , it was centraly located at the middle of the city surrounded by the majority of the attractions . and about the facillities and services it exceded what we expected .highly recomended

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was well decorated hostel , and the staff did a very good job to responed to all of my requests . I recommened it too because of the centeral location .

Disliked: nothing I dislike .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sascha anonsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 February 2012 sascha would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fatima Abo Gulel

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Fatima would recommend this property

Liked: This was a super cool place to stay, and at a pretty convenient location. We were picked up and taken to the airport for free and became on a first name basis with ahmed, Mohamad , and Haitham whom were always happy to see us each and every time we arrived in the building. We did not have many solid plans arriving in Egypt but Haitham arranged us a tour across Egypt with train tickets, accommodation, and sights for a low price and gave what I believe was a fair price. This was overall a great experience and something I will never forget. Thanks again for a great time, and hope you enjoy yours as much as we did

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

letty suarez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 letty would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay there Clean , Comfortable and friendly Staff .

Disliked: I had nothing bad to tell , recommended book no worries .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the things that can take up a lot of our free time is finding accommodation. We prefer to have something booked before we hit a city so we can go and drop off our bags and relax after a day of travel. If the place sucks we spend the next day searching our new destination without our bags for something better. For our advance booking we rely a lot on one website, hostelbookers.com, for our needs. They have accurate user reviews from fellow backpackers and we’ve yet to have a bad experience when we’ve stayed at something with over an 80% approval rating. This is how we found the Alexander Hostel in Cairo. Situated right downtown and only minutes from the Egyptian Museum, it’s a great budget accommodation that we can recommend. Haitham and his crew took great care of us, offering lots of fantastic advice. They can also arrange any tours your interested in only with people and companies they trust. The rooms are pretty basic but clean

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We decided to book at Alexander Hostel because it won an award from Hostelbookers for 2011. This was our first hostel experience in Cairo so we did not know what to expect for such a reasonable (cheap) price. We liked the friendly and helpful staff, the convenient location, close to Sharia Talaat Harb, a major shopping street, and an easy walk to Midan Tahrir and the Egyptian Museum as well as the Metro. We easily found several nice cafes for meals, including Abou Tarek, the famous Kushari cafe. We want to tell people that Downtown Cairo is safe! Yes, it is bustling, noisy, full of traffic and pedestrians all trying to get where they want to go - a typical megacity! But we never felt in danger at all!!.

Disliked: Overall the hotel was not quite what we expected from a Hostelbooker award winner. We found the room to be as shown in the listing but more shabby. The beds were comfortable after we asked for top sheets. Towels were a scarce item, too. The common room was OK for breakfast except for the cigarette smoke. We'll pay a bit more for a room when we return to Cairo.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really well located as it is central but also away from the crowded area of Talaat harb which is noisy I could walk to there but when I come back to sleep at the hostel enjoy the quietness . the room was good with private bathroom and TV . the staff are helpful and friendly .

Disliked: nothing at all .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

didar vadasaria

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 November 2011 didar would recommend this property

Liked: Alexander hotel is a modern hotel, suitable for all kinds of travellers and its location is centeral easy to arrive and to go anywhere . The duration of my stay in Alexander was a very pleasant experience. The place was clean and well furnished..The staff were extremely polite and very helpful. I believe for the price I paid to stay in the hostel, I think i got more than i bargained for. I would definantly use this hostel again in the future,, Everything including the location of the hostel was excellent.

Disliked: If they can offer local launch and dinner it will be more Value or some parties it will be more fun .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay, they have great tour services and an airport pickup service for 10 Euro only (VIP service ). room is Very clean, staff are friendly!

Disliked: Bathroom was small , but to have a private bathroom in my room even small is OK .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely stunning little hotel. Rooms were cool, comfortable, and beautifuly decorated. Obviously excellently located. The TV had an excellent selection of international channels available, which a lot of places with TVs in rooms don't.The manager Haitham, is also a magnificent fellow- incredibly helpful, yet not in any way pushy- which can be a rarity. After a number of bad experiences in middle eastern tourist traps, his thorough but impartial advice was a breath of fresh air. Definitely the best place I stayed in out of a month touring the middle east.

Disliked: nothing .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool place .

Disliked: Ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edward makon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 edward would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in middle of a downtown, so you really have a feeling you're in the heart of the city. They come to pick you up at the airport free of charge, and also organize sight tours by very cheap prices.

Disliked: ـــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــ

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Pitcher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Alexander is a simple hostel has nice staff , it has central location too which is very important so I could walk to Egyptian Mussem and Khan Elkhalili the old market I only need to arrange a ride to Giza and this was very easy for them to order a private car for reasonable price and their driver is friendly too .

Disliked: done

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin nooby

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 martin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel location was central surrounded by the main shopping area , and has good staff , the room was clean and has private bathroom and air conditioned , and that was what I need . recommended .

Disliked: It was as I imagined .


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels