HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Regent house hostel

Hostel | 2 Maaruf St from Talat Harb, Down Town, Cairo, Egypt 00202

71.8% Overall Rating

21 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2013)

"It was just cheap and most people except the main man were very nice despite speaking little English at times. location was great."

Read all Regent house hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Mandarin Hotel
11.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 112 reviews
Each Way Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 69.5% 3 reviews
Isis Hotel 2
10.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Arabian Nights hotel
4.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.1% 104 reviews
Star Plaza Hotel
13.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Dina's hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 87.1% 28 reviews
Venus Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 82.9% 13 reviews
African House Hotel
7.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.3% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.8%

Overall Rating

21 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Regent house hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
65.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013

Liked: It was just cheap and most people except the main man were very nice despite speaking little English at times. location was great.

Disliked: bathroom in so-so condition. No hook for clothes. Just a bed and a shared toilet carved out of storing room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Thomas Kuo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: filthy, noisy, very hostile host who always tries to sell you an overprices tour package.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mudit Bhatia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Mudit would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, right in the center of downtown. The owners are friendly, especially Mr Omar. It is easy to meet people here.

Disliked: Nothing much, the mattresses could be in better shape.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christian Claus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: very central, cheap

Disliked: If you are speaking about day tours and stuff, make sure you have and outstanding opinion about money. Better use a guide book for prizes!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bernd Wahlen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: Bernd left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's location is excellent--right on the downtown strip close to shopping, restaurants, public transportation, and the museum

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011

Liked: C'est centre de ville. Il est à côté de La place de Tahir (Métro Sadat). Vous pourrez prendre Autobus pour aller Alexandrie ou Loxor ou Dahat (pour visiter St. cathérine) très facile. This property est l'endroit de la police dont il est sécurité! Des chambre est très grand mais un peur plus cher que Luxor.

Disliked: Non internet. La cuisine est très pauvre. Il n'y a pas le petit déjeuné.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Efosa Akenbor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Efosa would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011

Liked: Nothing! I declined to book a pyramid tour with the staff in the place and after half an hour of badgering the member of staff became rude and threatening and shouted at me that he didn't want me to talk to him again....which to be honest was a relief! I can get on a tube and catch a bus and not pay £20 to the tout for the privilage!

Disliked: If you are going to run a hostel two things are a must. Clean sheets and running water, preferably hot! Well this place has clean sheets at least!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2010

Liked: The price/value ratio seemed to be very convenient

Disliked: They make much pressure on guests to sell additional services like tours or cruises, which at the end resulted to be very expensive compared to average prices

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 May 2010

Liked: It was in a good, always bustling, district.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

RAVINDRA SHARMA

24 May 2010 RAVINDRA would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: RAVINDRA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mr. Atef El-Fayumi is a very friendly guy! He makes the place very friendly. I enjoyed my stay there and hope that I can return to the same place the next time I'm in Cairo!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered to pick me up at the airport for 10usd, and they were there to pick me up. They gave fair price for a tour to the pyramids(Dashur, saqqara, Giza). Whey they tried to offer me different tours they were nice and accepted me not wanting to buy them. Mr Atif is the owner of the hotel. He tried to make me feel comfotable while I stayed here. I spent some time to talk about different things about egypt and stuff with him for free. I was had a chance to spend some time with the places friendly driver who drives the pyramid tour, Ali, and his girl and he offered mee free icecream.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Konefke

15 February 2010 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and dorm beds are probably the best deal in town. Sobhy is the nicest and funniest guy ever!!!

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 January 2010

Liked: I didn't enjoy staying here. The hotel's ok but the amount of hassle from the staff to book tours/cars with them is ridiculous.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

23 January 2010

Liked: The room we had was huge, with a balcony overlooking the street and a ceiling fan. It was in a good location, but on the first floor in an old building in very poor condition. It was a very basic cheap stay, but the manager was unpleasantly patronising towards women which made it difficult to deal with him.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly at every time, I booked also a tour to Aswan and Luxor on which I'm leaving this night and got a free tour to the pyramids which I would recommend to anyone! The location is also great, not far away from the metro and train station. Price is cheap and the hostel is clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MOHAMMED BABER

20 November 2009 MOHAMMED would recommend this property

Liked: it was quite nice and owner mr. Atif is very helpful guy we enjoyed our stay very much will go back again there wish them good luck OMER

Disliked: MOHAMMED left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcelo Raimondi

13 November 2009 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT!!!I've just had unforgetable moments and also realized one of the biggest dreams of my life, to get to the pyramids!I took a tour with Hassan, who works with the owner, Athif and the manager Omar and all of them are super!Abdal, Abdul, Mohamed and all the people I've met over there are just great and I felt like back home!Reccomend to eeeveryone!

Disliked: Marcelo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 October 2009

Liked: Very good hostel. People are very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

JOSE JAVIER GARBAYO PELLEJERO

08 October 2009

Liked: Nothing liked me. Very bad acommodation and, how I said before, they take money from the guests.Only the situation in the city is good.

Disliked: JOSE JAVIER left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atif and all the staff at Regent House were so helpful, Aly drove us anywhere we wanted to go around Cairo and our overnight trip out to the Black and White Desert was incredible. Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

MIN ZHU

12 July 2009 MIN would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice friendly place. They did come to the airport to pick me up although I arrived at 3 o'clock in the night. It's in the centre of downtown. Recommended.

Disliked: MIN left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels