We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Nubian Hostel

Hostel | 4 Elwy St., Cairo, Egypt 11511

87.2% Overall Rating

29 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2013)

kim lane thinks…

"without a doubt the best thing about staying here was the people. Older Mohammed was fantastic. He speaks good English. He took me on the bus to the citadel, the market to buy sheets and every night…"

Read all Nubian Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Rotana Palace Hostel
7.67 USD

Hostel 86.3% 5 reviews
RamsesII Hotel
8.37 USD

Hostel 88.0% 95 reviews
Pharaohs Palace Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel 78.6% 16 reviews
Bedouin Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 95.5% 30 reviews
Walid Emam Apartment
13.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Arabian Nights hotel
5.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.1% 104 reviews
The Australian Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 89.1% 117 reviews
Isis Hotel 2
10.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

29 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nubian Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: This hostel no longer exists!!! I arrived on the 17th and there was a lock on the door and a man from another hostel in front of it told me they had closed down (Bedouin hostel). Waste of time booking it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

kim lane

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 kim would recommend this property

Liked: without a doubt the best thing about staying here was the people. Older Mohammed was fantastic. He speaks good English. He took me on the bus to the citadel, the market to buy sheets and every night he learnt me Arabic. He is amazing and a feeder. The cleaner Omaradil was also a character and i spent an hour each day laughing with her, Young Mohammed speaks a bit of English and he too was wonderful.For any trips to/from the airport. To Giza, get Roul. He speaks excellent English and will take you anywhere.

Disliked: The people won me over 100%

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwing Hin Chan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2013 Kwing Hin would recommend this property

Liked: central location, close to metro, shops and restaurants. very friendly and helpful staffs. they offer tours and taxi transfer at a fair price. safe and secure hostel and good value for money!

Disliked: Kwing Hin left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2013

Liked: just the location in down town cairo

Disliked: dirty , noisey

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was great and very helpful. He set up a tour with Raaouf which was great. The rooms were clean and a very good value for the money. In a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jorg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: We felt home. The position is just great with the pedestrian areas around.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to affordable take outs and ATM's. Walking distance from metro!

Disliked: No room view.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, nice atmosphere, and free breakfast

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful accomodation in a great location for seeing cairo with very helpful staff and a nice shisha place right on the doorstep.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 June 2010

Liked: Location is good but difficult to find even for local taxi drivers. Near Cairo Museum. However, similar to other hostels, noisy at night. Plus, no elevator. Water can be weak and turn cold/hot for unknown reasons.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Wynn

22 May 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a 8-10 minute walk from Tahrir Square which is a very central location. Room had hot showers, free WiFi, and TV; very comfortable accommodation. Note: I stayed with my boyfriend and to our surprise we didn't run into any problems. They were completely welcoming and accepting even though we were staying in the room and not married, something that not all hostels will allow.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catriona Harvey

08 May 2010 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and bright rooms. Staff were sometimes over helpful trying to get you to do tours, but I think this is the Egyptian way. Overall we enjoyed our stay. WiFi was available in the common room but not our room.

Disliked: Catriona left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan mason

23 April 2010 alan would recommend this property

Liked: Mohammed and all of the staff went out of their way to make my stay a great experience. There was a great atmosphere at the hostel. Highly recommended.

Disliked: alan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martha Todd

13 March 2010 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff. The hostel is located right in downtown with lots of fun little shops in the area. I was impressed by how much work they went through to keep the place clean. The beds were comfortable and it was quiet, a much added bonus in Cairo!

Disliked: Martha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff in this hostel is very kind.Location is good.Takashi medo is funny stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dan adelman

02 March 2010 dan would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. has everything a traveler needs and the staff is really friendly. Location is great, downtown. I would definetely stay here again. Infact, i am staying here again!

Disliked: dan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful find! I was very happy here. They provide everything you need for a good nights stay. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The common room is completely redone and very nice to relax in. The staff are really nice and genuinely care about how you are doing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debra Pascale

28 January 2010 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at the Nubian Hostel. Everyone who worked there was helpful. One member of our group had become ill and they couldn't do enough for her. They also arranged for us to be met at the airport and driven to the hostel and told us what prices we should expect to pay for taxi rides so we would not get cheated. We loved the location because of the local atmosphere right outside our door while still enjoying quiet while sleeping.

Disliked: Debra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zemonette Pantig

27 January 2010 Zemonette would recommend this property

Liked: its superb,great place to stay , the staff are all accomodating and helpful to organize things for us( magdi,mohd,ibrahim and others )the only problem i had is that they should provide a little kitchen with microwave that is common for all and to maintain the cleanliness of each room.

Disliked: Zemonette left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zainab Al Kubra

18 January 2010 Zainab would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Zainab left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Desiree Potgieter

12 January 2010 Desiree would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean beds & rooms!

Disliked: Desiree left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Frederick Vavra

07 January 2010

Liked: The location: close to the museum

Disliked: Frederick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ema Yokozaki

12 December 2009 Ema would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff. Nice location,heart of down town easy to walk to shops, restaurants, metro stations. Special thanks to Magdy, Walied,Mohammed, Ibrahim, Seham,Wageh! They made my stay comfortable and feel at home.

Disliked: Ema left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice!!! And good location, very close to Hurriya --- wonderful bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels