HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Wake Up! Cairo Hostel

Hostel | 33 A, Ramsis St., Downtown, Marouf Tower. 7th floor, Cairo, Egypt 11111

98.4% Overall Rating

363 out of 378 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The hostel is in a great location -- near the museum, Tahrir square, and the metro. From the common area, there is a great view of the Nile and the Cairo Tower. The staff is very friendly, and willing to help out with…"

Read all Wake Up! Cairo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Rotana Palace Hostel
8.93 USD

Hostel 86.3% 5 reviews
RamsesII Hotel
8.57 USD

Hostel 88.0% 95 reviews
Pharaohs Palace Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 16 reviews
Bedouin Hostel
6.43 USD

Hostel 95.5% 30 reviews
Nubian Hostel
4.29 USD

Hostel 87.2% 35 reviews
Arabian Nights hotel
5.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.1% 104 reviews
Walid Emam Apartment
14.29 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Australian Hostel
5.71 USD

Hostel 88.0% 115 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.4%

Overall Rating

363 out of 378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wake Up! Cairo Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 350 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location -- near the museum, Tahrir square, and the metro. From the common area, there is a great view of the Nile and the Cairo Tower. The staff is very friendly, and willing to help out with various odds and ends (laundry, printing a train ticket, arranging transportation). A simple breakfast is included -- bread, jam, coffee/tea, hard boiled egg. Bathrooms always had hot water, TP, soap. Overall, I spent 11 days here, and will return in the future.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Zwedler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, near Tahrir right next to a metro station; the staff is incredibly friendly and will help you with all of your questions!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanna Raita-aho

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2014 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: With cheap price you get a good location, friendly staff and clean rooms. We stayed here for two weeks and I have no complains. The hostel is very cosy and people working there helpful and welcoming so they made us feel like home.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shady saleh

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

19 January 2014 shady would recommend this property

Liked: friendly workers

Disliked: shady left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kevin Yang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014

Liked: Location was good. There are many cheap eating options around the hostel

Disliked: The hostel is extremely small and common area is quite small as well. The staff seems to lack some basic travelling information. i.e. we asked which Metro station to get off for the Giza pyramid and the staff responded she does not take metro so she does not know... Overall the staffs seems uninterested in their guests. The mattress seemed pretty worn out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect as it is close to the Egyptian Museum and good, inexpensive eateries, Clean. The staff was helpful and speak English. As a certified guide, Hassan offered a wealth of Egyptiology knowledge. And yes, Cairo was safe as well as other locations I visit - Aswan, Luxor and Alexandria.

Disliked: Be prepared for an elevator with no door, one of which is iffy; near constant cigarette smoke, and a tiny common area. When the place is full I don't know how there would be enough room. But none of this is enough not to stay here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry Dip

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: The people. Sharif is efficient, Peter is friendly, Mahmud is informative, Hasan is professional, and Waleh is exceedingly easy on the eyes.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kai Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Kai would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is in a very good location, right in downtown Cairo, close to the museum and other city attractions. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. By far the best part of staying at this hostel is the staff. Special thanks to Peter and Shareef, very kind and helpful people. Peter organised our trip around Egypt and everything ran very efficiently. I highly recommend anyone coming to Cairo to stay here and talk to Peter in regards to travelling around Egypt.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Mickaberidze

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Clean , Well Located and Friendly Stuff

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Aqui esta um hostel com tudo o que um viajante quer: boa localizacao, chuveiros abundantes, cama confortaveis, pequeno almoco, e o melhor e que os trabalhadores foram todos activos na revolucao no Egipto, jovens, com estudos e classe media. Para quem quer estar bem instalado e conhecer um pouco melhor este novo Egipto!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderfull stay, We rocommend it to anyone. Amazing staff as well. Johann and Vernita from South Africa

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: es ist sauber, preis und lage sind hervorragend, und das personal ist äußerst freundlich und hilfsbereit. eine rundum gute wahl. es ist nah am ägyptischen museum, tahrir-platz, am nil und direkt in down town. die metro-anbindung ist gut.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...be sure to stay in the super friendly and convenient Wake Up! Cairo. With great views, friendly staff and super convenient location - this hostel has everything you need, including airport pickup, great travel advice and assistance, breakfast included - nothing is a problem :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious with good AC units. The Egyptian Museum is but a five minute walk from the hostel, just around the corner, and the Nile River is visible from the common room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe. Clean. Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding assistance by staff. They were able to book tours and transportation between cities where they were NOT located for the cheapest price. Also provided tours within Cairo and had warnings provided about all the places and people that will rip you off. Made everything easy. Location was great and very clean. Loved it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate naranjo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Queda a una cuadra del museo, dan buen desayuno todos los dias, y si se quedan 3 noches dan trasnportacion gratis del aeropuerto. Tienen buenas ofertas de viajes pero como siempre hay que negociar. Las habitaciones son super limpias y lo mejor de todo tienen buen aire acondicionado. Tienen wifi y dos computadores para usar.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es mas de lo que esperabamos, no solo por su ubicacion, su limpieza y seguridad: sino sobre todo por la calidez humana. estamos muy agradecidos de haber conocido a Mido, Hussien. verdaderamente son geniales!!! nos han hecho sentir como en casa. Gracias

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location , clean rooms and bathrooms and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YANJUN HU

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 YANJUN would recommend this property

Liked: good location, helpful staff, good value of the money...

Disliked: YANJUN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful stay , very welcoming staff , clean hostel , central location just few blocks from the Egyptian museum , felt like home , i recommend it for anyone who want a clean place with good price , thanks guys

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yun kim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 yun would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at Wake Up! Cairo. Before going, we read some of the reviews about poor service but we didn't experience anything like that at all. Upon arrival, we received tea . Then, my friend and I were actually shocked at how clean the rooms were especially because the state of the rest of the building outside of the hotel was quite disgusting (old and very dirty). They clean the rooms well and often. This place is literally across from the Egyptian museum and close to great local restaurants and other busy streets (which have stores that seem to stay open until all hours of the evening). The staff were extremely helpful 24/7. They organized all of our excursions. I've read other reviews that said they could have found something cheaper elsewhere...maybe so but by booking through the hotel, we didn't have to waste time in the city haggling and if anything went wrong, we knew straight who to complain to. However, every excursion was excellent so that was never a problem. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. My friend and I had a great time spending the days with them whether it was for our trip around Cairo, Alexandria or at the pyramids. Lastly, they also organized a Nile Cruise for me completely tailored to my needs. I needed to get to Hurghada after Luxor and they arranged the entire thing (travelers usually make their way back to Cairo). The minimum night stay for the boat cruise is 3 nights and they managed to get me one for only 2. When I mentioned this to other travelers I met, they were surprised, and impressed. If I'm ever in Cairo again, I will certainly stay here.

Disliked: yun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at Wake up Cairo! We came with very few plans and Peter and the rest of the staff really helped us plan a wonderful vacation. The rooms were very clean and the staff is incredibly friendly... we would definitely stay again!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This is the only hostel I've been to in Cairo. It has spectacular views of the rush hour traffic on the highways and on a rare clear day across the whole city. (Traffic in Cairo makes Mexico City look like a country town!!). It is conveniently located next to metro stations, the museum and a bus station. If you are feeling adventurous you can take a bus to the pyramids, but a taxi is not prohibitive. Taxis are easily booked through reception and the option of having them arrange your airport pickup is a great deal- you won't get it any cheaper or more reliable. Don't think of doing it any other way unless you know Cairo. The owners and staff are friendly and know Cairo really well. Should you want something other than food from the many cheap eateries near the hostel, the Intercontinental Hotel has three top quality and good value restaurants: Italian, Lebanese and Thai- so that's three or more nights out - irresistible!!

Disliked: It is located on the 7th floor and 10th floors (if you count them actually 11th and 14th, but the lift doesn't stop at the first few). This can be a real pain when it doesn't work, which it didn't for half of my 8-day stay. Not the hostel's fault but inconvenient if you arrive with heavy bags. Breakfast could be more varied though a daily ration of cheese spread, hard boiled egg, bread and jam and either tea of coffee is welcome start to the day (well maybe not the bread). Computers are available and wifi but you have to pay extra to use either, even with your own laptop- but then you are paying very little to stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Aagre

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 January 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location and great staff, you can see the Cairo Museum out the window, and a free breakfast! Nice and clean with many choices of types of rooms. The best place for the best price in Cairo! I look forward to returning with friends in a few months.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels