We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of The Australian Hostel

Hostel | 23 Abd El Khalek Sarwat, downtown - Cairo, Cairo, Egypt 11111

89.1% Overall Rating

104 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2014)

"I very highly recommend the Australian Hostel. Super value in the heart of downtown Cairo. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I has never once pressured to book tours or buy anything. Every time I left in the…"

Read all The Australian Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

Star Plaza Hotel
13.95 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Isis Hotel 2
10.46 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Venus Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 82.9% 13 reviews
Dina's hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel 87.1% 28 reviews
Arabian Nights hotel
4.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.1% 104 reviews
Blue bird hostel
8.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Indiana Hotel
14.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 53.0% 26 reviews
Isis Hotel
7.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

104 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Australian Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 96 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I very highly recommend the Australian Hostel. Super value in the heart of downtown Cairo. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I has never once pressured to book tours or buy anything. Every time I left in the morning they always made sure I had the address written in Arabic and seemed genuinely concerned for my safety and enjoyment. There is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hostel. This is definitely the place to stay to meet other travelers and escape the constant nagging from touts. ALSO: As a woman staying there alone, I HIGHLY recommend this place. I also recommend the safety of the city and country.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location and a helpful staff

Disliked: the shared bath wasn t clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location - convenient to everywhere. Friendly staff. Good rates. The US$29 Nile dinner cruise & belly dance show is value for money (food is cafeteria quality though)

Disliked: Probably not a hostel-specific issue but there're SO MANY mosquitos. The owner should install door/window mesh in every room! The free "tour" of Giza is just return transport - if you want a guide, you pay for it. One can easily catch Metro + microbus or taxi to the Pyramids. Make sure your airport pickup/drop off is arranged DAYS IN ADVANCE and confirm whether it's FREE. Everynight the manager/staff's friends come around to chat, play dominos, party, etc. Because of the political instability, the guests are vastly outnumbered by the locals

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful with getting around Cairo and planning trips to other parts of Egypt. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean, Best value for the money you'll find. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!! Thanks again! I will come back!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, clean

Disliked: nothing really, everything was fine here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location

Disliked: poor conditions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex rudd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 December 2012 alex would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very kind, and happy to do whatever they could to help me out. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. The atmosphere is really cool with backpackers from all around the world The manager of the hostel was very nice. He gave me good advices. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing to point.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my stay was fantastic. I'd recommend the hostel to any traveler looking for a secure, clean place to stay. The room was lovely, the bed comfy, and everything was so clean! Would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jhon Valdiglesias Oviedo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012 Jhon would recommend this property

Liked: Quite and friendly environment

Disliked: Jhon left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Helen McKenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly

Disliked: The Downown location can be a little intimidating for Western tourists.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Henderson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Ahmed, Ehab, Eslam, and Peter were great. They were attentive to everyone's needs during their stays. They welcome you in and treat you like friend. They make a stay at the Australian Hostel the best deal in Cairo.

Disliked: I had no problems with the property at all. It was cleaned daily, breakfast was served everyday and was perfect for the hot climate of Cairo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

omar zaky

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 omar would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, plus really clean rooms and a perfect location.

Disliked: omar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas hang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Strongly recommended . The location of the hostel is very close to the Egyptian museum, downtown and the Nile. All the guys were very friendly, fun and helpful from the moment I checked into the hostel. The breakfast was good and the dorm was comfortable . thank you guys

Disliked: thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russ Ritchie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Russ would recommend this property

Liked: I looked at 4-5 other hostels in the area before staying here. They do everything right -- nice beds, hot showers, nice common area, tasty breakfast, friendly staff and low prices. The surrounding area has heaps of stores and restaurants, and it's fun to walk at night with all the local families.

Disliked: No microwave in the kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and really helpful. If your planning to go to Luxor get the guys there to sort it out. Dont go to the train station yourself. The location was great depending on which room you stay in. If its road side... take ear plugs.

Disliked: Sorry to say this guys, but the biggest let down for me was the tours on offer, especially the city tour. No tour guide was provided as such. More of a driver, a taxi could possibly have provided the same service and provided more information, or better yet a taxi and a Cairo guide book. I understand ramadan is a difficult time for the locals during the day but i cant help feeling a little ripped off for the overall tour & because the driver expected a tip roughly the same price as the tour. Considering i paid less for a tour in Luxor had a guide and driver all day. Only take a tour if a tour guide is provided, someone that will actually help with the price of things and tell you more of the do's and donts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, great staff. I would come back again. It is very easy to find. 5 minutes walk from talat harb Square.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Second stay at The Australian Hostel, would always recommend it to anyone going to Cairo! Very near to the egyptian museum, tasty breakfast + mint tea and Amr is always willing to help out with any travel plans you want to make.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra dan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely one of my favorite hostels I've ever stayed at...The staff here are fantastic and it's very charming..Nice hostel to go and meet some people, free internet use, good showers

Disliked: every thing is wonderful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt aaron

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 matt would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and really helpful - they made me feel at home. The rooms and bathrooms were also very comfortable and clean. The location in downtown was excellent.

Disliked: Nothing! I had a really good time there. The hotel and staff were really great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel to stay and very good staff.Great location in downtown Cairo. The common room is a good place to meet other travelers. The showers were nice and hot. and I'd recommend it for anyone who would be staying there.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeremy Fuller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Great staff. They all knew me by name a few days in, and were quick to answer any questions I had. I've been in plenty of hostels where the staff doesn't seem to give a hoot about you, so this was a great chance of pace. Free wifi is awesome. The beds are very comfortable for the price you're paying. I've been in similarly priced hostels where the bed is a paper-thin cushion on top of a wooden box, so getting a real bed for this price is great. The location is fantastic. If you leave the hostel and take a right, you can walk all the way to Islamic Cairo without needing to turn. Just keep going until you see what looks like an overpass above you, then keep going alongside that. Eventually you're in Islamic Cairo, and you can turn right to get to the Citadel. If you keep going from there, you'll reach the Northern Cemetary (City of the Dead). All of this by walking a straight line. Not many hostels can say that. If you turn leave the hostel and turn left, you reach Talaat Harb St in half a block, and turning left from there gets you to Tahir Square, the Egyptian Museum, and the river Nile. From there you can get to Sadat Metro Station, but the hostel is also very close to Nasser Metro Station and the bus stop, which is called either Turgomen or Cairo Gateway. Walking distance from the bus station to the hostel is about 10 minutes.

Disliked: The street is indeed off Talaat Harb St, but it doesn't seem to be the 4th street to the right. You'll pass what seems like a dozen smaller side streets, but I guess these don't count. Keep going until you get to Abdel Khalek Sarwat. For some reason, the street sign seems to be labeled Khalek Tharwat. People on the street don't seem to have the slightest clue where this place is, but conveniently they all know of plenty of other hotels which are supposedly better. Don't listen to them. Press on.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and price, small dorm (4 beds), big beds, free wifi

Disliked: the staff was VERY relaxed: we got breakfast only after waiting for about 30 min while the guy was playing computer games.., dirty kitchen

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet and tea/coffee are great ideas. Location is good and the staff are more than helpful with any questions. Dorms rooms were a good size.

Disliked: The website stated there were lockers in room, but in fact small lockers are situated outside in a foyer area, which is unlocked and could be easily accessed by members of the public. Bathrooms are basic and in need of upgrading. They do have card payments facilities despite stating this online.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Martin Herrero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff, rooms, the others backpackers, etc etc .. everything is Ok.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location,nice and helpful staff, clean and safe

Disliked: no


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels