HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels

Reviews of Luna Hotel and Hostel

Hostel | 27, Talaat Harb Street, Downtown, Cairo, Egypt 11511

90.2% Overall Rating

135 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2012)

Dana van de Kamp thinks…

"It has nice, big clean rooms with airconditioning and a area to sit. It has 2 nice bathrooms, one of them is big with a shower/ bath and hot water. It is close to the Egyptian Museum and to 2…"

Read all Luna Hotel and Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.14

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairo

American House
6.28 USD

Hostel 92.1% 88 reviews
Bella Luna
13.60 USD

Hostel 95.6% 17 reviews
One Season Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 94.3% 4 reviews
Miami Cairo Hostel
6.28 USD

Hostel 98.2% 51 reviews
Hostel Brothers
6.28 USD

Hostel 93.3% 235 reviews
Tiba Midtown Hostel
5.58 USD

Hostel 94.9% 28 reviews
Hotel Royal
15.83 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Travelers House
6.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 106 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

135 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Luna Hotel and Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dana van de Kamp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012

Liked: It has nice, big clean rooms with airconditioning and a area to sit. It has 2 nice bathrooms, one of them is big with a shower/ bath and hot water. It is close to the Egyptian Museum and to 2 different metro stations.

Disliked: The room we were in was unneccessarily big for us (4 single beds) and there was no lock on the inside, so we couldn't lock it at night, but had to place a backpack against the door. One half of the staff is very nice and will chat to you and give you information about cairo, the other half wants to do business and offers tours for incredibly high prices. They say a pick up from the airport is 75 EGP (which is about a 45min drive) and a drop off to the trainstation was 35 EGP (which only takes 5 to 10 min) We were dropped off at the train station by a young guy who drove very irresponsibly and nearly got us sandwiched between 2 other cars.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the museum Comfortable beds Air conditioner

Disliked: Street noise but that wasn't too bad. Very Hard To Find

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shu Ling Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Shu Ling would recommend this property

Liked: Peoples working in the Hotel was very very friendly and helpful . I really enjoyed stay in Luna Hotel .

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julia Hurley

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

28 June 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and its really clean for a Cairo hostel. The staff was nice and pleasant as well.

Disliked: Downtown Cairo can be tough for inexperienced travelers, so the location is as much an asset as it is a drawback. I was fine with it, having lived in Cairo before, but it is insanely crowded outside the entrance. The only other thing was that one of the shower heads in the shared bathroom was broken so it was annoying having to hold the shower head to shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Luna and always stay there when I'm in Cairo.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

carlos soto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 carlos would recommend this property

Liked: the boys from fornt desk are very kind and nice (Karim Ahmed & Tarek), is very close to the Museum of Cairo and very easy to move to other important areas.

Disliked: need to be more carefully to maintain clean the main entrance to the building (upstairs & elevator)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were amazing. They were faultlessly helpful and kind, and very friendly and cheerful. I enjoyed so much meeting and talking with the staff, and they were always working hard to make sure everything was ok.The hotel offers an Egyptian breakfast as well as a good continental breakfast and serves wonderful tea. They will also put you in touch with a guide who can take you around. We did not take advantage of this because we had already hired a guide but it was a nice extra. There is always someone at the desk and they have bottled water and drinks for sale in the lobby. It's on the fifth floor but there is an elevator in good working order.The hotel itself is very clean and a lovely older building - our room had very high ceilings, colored glass windows, comfortable beds, a little chandelier and its own bathroom and an ample wardrobe as well as a private balcony and an air conditioner. It was really comfortable. The rooms are situated around an indoor courtyard that is beautiful colors and with tables and chairs if you want to have breakfast there. There is a good internet connection where the computers are located and a very lovely and comfortable sitting area in the lobby. The kitchen and cleaning staff were great at their jobs and the place was always clean and the beds turned down when we returned from a day's touring.We stayed in a 3-person private room rather than a form. The price was very reasonable. The location was in a working neighborhood, not touristy, and for us that was OK. It is about a 20 min walk to reach the banks of the Nile and about a 15-min walk to the Egyptian Museum. There is a ton of shopping in the area of all sorts, especially clothing and shoes, and there is a sweet shop nearby that is amazing and there are some good coffee shops. The staff will tell you directions to the post office and so forth. We loved every minute of our stay in this hotel and can recommend it to others who are looking for affordable and pleasant accommodations with friendly, knowledgeable and trustworthy staff.

Disliked: The building is old and so therefore is the plumbing. It wasn't a deal-breaker, but since we were on the 5th or 6th floor (I can't remember which) we never really got hot water to happen in the shower, and the toilet system is so fragile that they request you drop paper in the trash instead of the toilet. This was not the first time I've come across picky plumbing so it wasn't a big deal for me, but if it is for you that would be one of the drawbacks. However the facilities were clean and in good working order (except the hot water). Of course since it is Cairo you can't use the tap water, so it's important to keep bottled water for brushing teeth.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location downtown Cairo, friendly helpfull staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, cheap travel offers. I will come back for sure!

Disliked: The rooms on the street side are noisy. Ask for a room on the quiet side or bring your earplugs!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Newman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Very central. We were delayed at the airport and were 2 hours late for the taxi we'd booked through the hotel, when we came through customs he was still there. What a lovely surprise and what a friendly driver.

Disliked: Hard sell on trips an tours as soon as you get to the hotel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and staff were very helpful picked us up from the airport and took us to the train station when we checked out

Disliked: The location it is located in downtown Cairo in not a very nice area, quite dirty and you will get harrassed from the minute you walk out the door - though thats not the fault of the people at the hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great staff, amazing air con

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: Room was great very clean and ac works well but the nicest part wasthe staff so nice and friendly and very helpfull

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendliness and helpfulness. Thank you!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location a lot! English-speaking very friendly stuff. Clean, calm. Towels and soap, hot water, wifi in the room available!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joaquim Henriques

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

22 August 2010 Joaquim would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the room in general, because it was comfortable and clean. The people were friendly.

Disliked: The access to the hotel is a babdly maintained.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

richard hayward

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel very clean. Also its central position useful. Staff generally helpful and sometimes with good information. Car service to airport efficient.

Disliked: Cheaper rooms noisy. Some of the younger staff disinterested. Breakfast could have been more appetising.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Bob Pugh

Family Holiday

23 July 2010 Bob would recommend this property

Liked: Convient location, friendly staff

Disliked: no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and clean place, the best I've ever been in Cairo! Helpful staff and great location. Will be back again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay there and have suggested it to our friends and family. thanks alot

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful. great location would stay there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elke BG Mueller

07 May 2010 Elke BG would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: Elke BG left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael smithy

29 April 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: My best stay ever in a hostel. Simply awesome :D

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!!Had a really good stay. Helpful staff. Felt clean and homely. Loved the WiFi availability. Would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was basic accommodation but the staff were very helpful. Location was great right in the hussle and bussle of Cairo

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirlee Hermocilla

15 April 2010 Shirlee would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really really nice and helpful - they also speak english really well, you wonder why they've previously been voted best hostel in africa! highly recommended!

Disliked: Shirlee left no negative feedback.


See all Cairo hostels
See all Cairo hotels