We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of The Secret Garden Quito

Hostel | Calle Antepara E4-60, y Los Rios, San Blas Quito, Ecuador n/a

81.0% Overall Rating

31 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2014)

Kyra Dragone thinks…

"Breakfast on the roof terrace every morning was amazing. There's a phenomenal view from the open air terrace but it's also covered so you can sit up there no matter what the weather. The breakfast…"

Read all The Secret Garden Quito reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Hostal San Blas
15.12 USD

Hostel 82.2% 30 reviews
Dawn's Lodge
35.00 USD

Hostel 96.2% 47 reviews
Community Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 38 reviews
Colonial House
10.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 137 reviews
Buena Vista Centro Historico
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Revolution
10.00 USD

Hostel 90.7% 80 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Hostal Quito Cultural
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

31 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Secret Garden Quito'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Cristina Martin Cuadrado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Extremely noisy, people running up and down the stairs all night long. Hostel was very crowded. Long queue for the toilet in the morning. Bunk beds shaky and very noisy. If you want to get some sleep, do not go to this place.The roof terrace is very nice, but that's it... I do not understand how this place could be chosen as best hostel in South America... But we all have different tastes...I think it is quite expensive to charge 4$ additionally for breakfast... to expensive for Ecuador.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gisela Seeholzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Gisela would recommend this property

Liked: terrace, view and restaurant, onsite travel agency

Disliked: it was cold inside the hostel, the wifi didn't work properly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place good atmosphere, great view

Disliked: noisy an very busy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere

Disliked: There isn't hot water many time while the day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyra Dragone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2014 Kyra would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast on the roof terrace every morning was amazing. There's a phenomenal view from the open air terrace but it's also covered so you can sit up there no matter what the weather. The breakfast was great too! We stayed in a private double room which was nice and cozy and perfect for two people. We were able to lock our room and there was a small safe for anything we wanted to keep locked like our passports. The staff was very friendly and very helpful and the hostel felt very safe! It's also just a super cool building on the inside with various places to hang out and meet other travelers.

Disliked: There weren't a ton of bathrooms. We were lucky and not a lot of other people were staying on our floor but when someone else was using it for a while you had to go on a hunt to find another open one in a different part of the hostel. Also the showers were electric so you had to choose between good water pressure or hot water.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great terrace and patio sections that allow for socialising or chilling out. Make sure you do the free walking tour which was run by the travel agency on the ground floor of the hostel. The breakfast and drinks are decent value for those not keen on venturing out. There's lots of information/help on booking trips/transport/etc and I appreciate the thought that has been put into the Secret Garden approved taxi service

Disliked: The construction of the building (which I understand cannot be changed due to heritage rules) means there are lots of steps and noise from squeaky floorboards and the bar/hallways at night times. Just something to be aware of

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: The company of the other guests.

Disliked: It was expensive for what I would consider to be an average hostel. The noise that was generated by the other guests made it difficult to sleep for the first two nights. We had to complain to the owner. No compensation was offered for this. The ground floor smelt of rotting vegetation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014

Liked: Excellent view of the city the from the rooftop. Good evening meal for all guests to share together & you get a free beer if you order before 10am, which makes it better value. Comfy beds with own bedside light.

Disliked: In the rooms below the bar you are kept awake by scraping of chairs and talking until the bar closes at 11.30pm. Poor WiFi, impossible to view or load photos, webpages and respond to emails. Sometimes there was no security on the door so anyone could walk in as the front door is left open. Very quiet part of town, struggled to find somewhere to eat in the evening that wasn't a fast food joint, and no bars in the vicinity.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The team at Secret Garden were great. They were helpful, pleasant, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

Disliked: The stairs in the property!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good view of Quito from the terrace at the top, good place to meet people. Dinner was good for the price.

Disliked: We stayed in the room on the bottom floor right near the front door, the security guard sings all night and he sits just outside of the room, he is not quiet at all, and when people leave or come back to the hostel at night you can hear everything,we didnt sleep well at all. Its quite expensive for what you actually get, the room and bed was not that comfortable and the room was really dark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice social areas, great staff, lots of services, lots of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was close to getting to the old centre. And was easy enough to get on a bus to go to the new town. The place was emaculately clean, there were cleaners around all day, scrubbing every inch. The terrece overlooking the old town was beautiful and peaceful when it wasn't full of people wanting to party.

Disliked: The wifi connection was intermittent but manageable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great view on the rooftarrace, they offer good breakfast and if you want dinner. they offer a transfer to Cotopaxi for 5 dollar and you can stay in the Secret Garden Cotopaxi.

Disliked: There is no kitchen you can use, it is a little expensive too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop patio

Disliked: Book exchange cost money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very good hostel with everything u need

Disliked: Took alot of convincing that i had already paid a deposit through hostelbookers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here twice (returned a week after first visit). This is a good hostel in a good location in the old town with a nice terrace which overlooks the city. Rooms are average (nothing special but reasonable for the cost) and there is free tea and coffee which is a good plus. I didn't use the travel agency but it was well recommended by other travellers

Disliked: Nothing - bathrooms could be cleaner but that's a really small point and not a big issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

julien robitaille

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 julien would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop terrace

Disliked: No outside window in the rooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with a fantastic roof terrace and view. Staff were helpful and the hostel is very reasonably priced. Probably the most comfortable beds I have experienced in my 6 months of travelling.

Disliked: Food is good but a little over priced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Evening dinner is a great idea, first time I'd come across it in a hostel. Lots of info about quito and Ecuador, and the travel agent downstairs was good.

Disliked: Electric shower was difficult do balance the pressure and the hot water. Beds were comfortable but a bit creaky. I got bitten by something in quito and am suspicious of bed bugs

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, terrace nice area if anyone had actually used it whilst I was there. Great location to go and see the old city, free walking tour good as well. CarpeDM very helpful as well sorting something out for me.

Disliked: Everything costs extra, gets a bit annoying after a while. Preferred to spend that money outside the hostel where food is a lot cheaper.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with good showers, really nice roof terrace with a beautiful view over the Old Town. Security was great with guys on the door 24/7 and they were also really helpful, always had time to answer your questions. Not a party hostel which is a good thing but you could still meet other travellers.

Disliked: The wifi was bad, only worked on the bottom two floors.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013

Liked: Nice view over the city from the roof top. Cozy blankets that keep you warm.

Disliked: Too expensive. We payed 12 Euros for a 6bed dorm. The hostel is not that special to be worth that much money.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Central area to explore the old town of quito. Awesome tour company downstairs (CarpeDM). Definitely recommend CarpeDM for all Ecuador and Galapagos tours.

Disliked: Wifi was not working on all levels. Noisier hostel, but great atmosphere!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicky Bertorelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 February 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. One of the nicest I've stayed in. Gorgeous building with lots of separate little nooks and crannies to sit and chill, with lots of light indoors, and an AMAZING terrace on the 5th floor where the kitchen / bar / dining room / reception is. Great views. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location near both old town and new town. Great security outside too so you always feel secure. Unlimited tea and coffee.

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

olivia tarraque garcia

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else. Our booking was not there. The taxi we booked with them to be picked up at airport was not there. Internet was faulty althoughyou could see them using it for their own e-mails so ...... You do not have a good night sleep. After two days of no sleep we had to go somewhere else. Place is not as good as is been made, Reception is on top floor, so yo have to abandone luggage on lobby, staff is not that help full and always on top foor . Does not feel like a good place.

The property's response is...


See all Quito hostels