We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of The Secret Garden Quito

Hostel | Calle Antepara E4-60, y Los Rios, San Blas Quito, Ecuador n/a

83.0% Overall Rating

40 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2015)

Andreas Weeber thinks…

"Great rooftop terrace with amazing view. Friendly staff, breakfast offered for affordable price, dinner can be booked, good atmosphere."

Read all The Secret Garden Quito reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Hostal San Blas
16.74 USD

Hostel 82.1% 33 reviews
Dawn's Lodge
35.00 USD

Hostel 96.2% 49 reviews
Community Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 93.9% 46 reviews
Colonial House
10.00 USD

Hostel 79.8% 152 reviews
Hostel Revolution
10.00 USD

Hostel 90.7% 82 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Vibes Hostel
9.85 USD

Hostel 83.7% 212 reviews
Hostal Rincon Familiar
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

40 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Secret Garden Quito'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
69.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable with a nice roof top terrace.

Disliked: Breakfast is not included in the price. We weren't shown around or given any advice on Quito.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast for extra cost, plenty of chill out areas. Amazing terrace

Disliked: Have to hunt for a good shower, not a lot of restaurants/places to eat around in the evening

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Weeber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooftop terrace with amazing view. Friendly staff, breakfast offered for affordable price, dinner can be booked, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Our double room had no window and could only be ventilated by the small metal-grilled window-part of the door or by opening the full door.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location in Centro Historico is great, it just took a while from the bus terminal but for a Sightseeing Tour it is perfect.

Disliked: The reception and outdoor living room is on the fifth floor, all bedrooms are below. So you hear in your room the people walking upstairs as the floor is wodden. also at night your hear people coming home, even if they are not noisy as it is very clairaudient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just fantastic. Most of the activity occurs on the terrace which overlooks old town and there is home cooking for dinner and breakfast. This is my second time here and I could not wait to come back.

Disliked: The floors are creaky and the walls a bit thin. There are rarely issues with people being overly loud but the nature of the building means that it can't helps get a bit loud when people go to bed or get up. I would recommend some ear plugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Lots of opportunity to meet other travellers. Evening meal on offer each night ( optional extra, but good value). Roof terrace with drinks available and fantastic view over the city. Help with organising tours and booking taxis, etc.

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The views from the terrace are amazing. Free coffee, tea and filtered water. The tour agency downstairs offers a good range of tours that pick you up and drop you off straight from the hostel.

Disliked: Staff were lazy and incompetent. Only one guy (Santiago) was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was overpriced (especially beer) and staff served friends first, meaning we had to wait a good 45 minutes for dinner despite our names being on top of the list. Showers were rarely hot, bordering on freezing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Cristina Martin Cuadrado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Extremely noisy, people running up and down the stairs all night long. Hostel was very crowded. Long queue for the toilet in the morning. Bunk beds shaky and very noisy. If you want to get some sleep, do not go to this place.The roof terrace is very nice, but that's it... I do not understand how this place could be chosen as best hostel in South America... But we all have different tastes...I think it is quite expensive to charge 4$ additionally for breakfast... to expensive for Ecuador.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gisela Seeholzer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Gisela would recommend this property

Liked: terrace, view and restaurant, onsite travel agency

Disliked: it was cold inside the hostel, the wifi didn't work properly

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place good atmosphere, great view

Disliked: noisy an very busy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere

Disliked: There isn't hot water many time while the day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyra Dragone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2014 Kyra would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast on the roof terrace every morning was amazing. There's a phenomenal view from the open air terrace but it's also covered so you can sit up there no matter what the weather. The breakfast was great too! We stayed in a private double room which was nice and cozy and perfect for two people. We were able to lock our room and there was a small safe for anything we wanted to keep locked like our passports. The staff was very friendly and very helpful and the hostel felt very safe! It's also just a super cool building on the inside with various places to hang out and meet other travelers.

Disliked: There weren't a ton of bathrooms. We were lucky and not a lot of other people were staying on our floor but when someone else was using it for a while you had to go on a hunt to find another open one in a different part of the hostel. Also the showers were electric so you had to choose between good water pressure or hot water.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great terrace and patio sections that allow for socialising or chilling out. Make sure you do the free walking tour which was run by the travel agency on the ground floor of the hostel. The breakfast and drinks are decent value for those not keen on venturing out. There's lots of information/help on booking trips/transport/etc and I appreciate the thought that has been put into the Secret Garden approved taxi service

Disliked: The construction of the building (which I understand cannot be changed due to heritage rules) means there are lots of steps and noise from squeaky floorboards and the bar/hallways at night times. Just something to be aware of

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014

Liked: The company of the other guests.

Disliked: It was expensive for what I would consider to be an average hostel. The noise that was generated by the other guests made it difficult to sleep for the first two nights. We had to complain to the owner. No compensation was offered for this. The ground floor smelt of rotting vegetation

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014

Liked: Excellent view of the city the from the rooftop. Good evening meal for all guests to share together & you get a free beer if you order before 10am, which makes it better value. Comfy beds with own bedside light.

Disliked: In the rooms below the bar you are kept awake by scraping of chairs and talking until the bar closes at 11.30pm. Poor WiFi, impossible to view or load photos, webpages and respond to emails. Sometimes there was no security on the door so anyone could walk in as the front door is left open. Very quiet part of town, struggled to find somewhere to eat in the evening that wasn't a fast food joint, and no bars in the vicinity.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The team at Secret Garden were great. They were helpful, pleasant, went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

Disliked: The stairs in the property!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a good view of Quito from the terrace at the top, good place to meet people. Dinner was good for the price.

Disliked: We stayed in the room on the bottom floor right near the front door, the security guard sings all night and he sits just outside of the room, he is not quiet at all, and when people leave or come back to the hostel at night you can hear everything,we didnt sleep well at all. Its quite expensive for what you actually get, the room and bed was not that comfortable and the room was really dark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice social areas, great staff, lots of services, lots of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was close to getting to the old centre. And was easy enough to get on a bus to go to the new town. The place was emaculately clean, there were cleaners around all day, scrubbing every inch. The terrece overlooking the old town was beautiful and peaceful when it wasn't full of people wanting to party.

Disliked: The wifi connection was intermittent but manageable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great view on the rooftarrace, they offer good breakfast and if you want dinner. they offer a transfer to Cotopaxi for 5 dollar and you can stay in the Secret Garden Cotopaxi.

Disliked: There is no kitchen you can use, it is a little expensive too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop patio

Disliked: Book exchange cost money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very good hostel with everything u need

Disliked: Took alot of convincing that i had already paid a deposit through hostelbookers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here twice (returned a week after first visit). This is a good hostel in a good location in the old town with a nice terrace which overlooks the city. Rooms are average (nothing special but reasonable for the cost) and there is free tea and coffee which is a good plus. I didn't use the travel agency but it was well recommended by other travellers

Disliked: Nothing - bathrooms could be cleaner but that's a really small point and not a big issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

julien robitaille

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 julien would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop terrace

Disliked: No outside window in the rooms

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with a fantastic roof terrace and view. Staff were helpful and the hostel is very reasonably priced. Probably the most comfortable beds I have experienced in my 6 months of travelling.

Disliked: Food is good but a little over priced.


See all Quito hostels