We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of Vibes Hostel

Hostel | Joaquin Pinto 132 y 6, de Diciembre (two blocks away, from Plaza Foch ) Quito, Ecuador ---

83.7% Overall Rating

198 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2015)

"Lovely and helpful staff, great atmosphere, comfortable beds and amazing location.. My stay was just perfect!"

Read all Vibes Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

AGE POLICY - only up to 40 y.o. Breakfast not included for 8 and 10 bed dorm Group bookings not accepted (more than 5 people)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Community Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 93.9% 46 reviews
Hostal Rincon Familiar
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dawn's Lodge
35.00 USD

Hostel 96.2% 49 reviews
Colonial House
10.00 USD

Hostel 79.8% 152 reviews
The Secret Garden Quito
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.0% 46 reviews
Hotel Real Audiencia
58.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.5% 32 reviews
Hostal San Blas
16.74 USD

Hostel 82.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

198 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vibes Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 181 of 207 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Shari Kolke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015

Liked: It was only ok. Nothing really stood out as amazing for me.

Disliked: For starters, the booking says that they always have rooms available even if the online availability says otherwise. I just so happened to get the very last room and had to be put in a private room since all the dorms were full, despite receiving a confirmation email. Then at least three other people, who also had "confirmed" bookings, were turned away because the hostel was full. Regarding the private room I was put in - it seemed like it was maybe a staff members sleeping area and i was just put there because there was nowhere else. The cleanliness of the sheets was questionable and there was someone's porn/bible stash in one of the drawers of the bedside table. The bathrooms near the back of the hostel looked like they hadn't beencleaned in a while, there was hair all over everything an the toilets were dirty. I did use the bathroom near the kitchen area though and they were fairly clean looking. The hostel itself was fairly dingy and wa really nothing special. I'd stay somewhere else next time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and helpful staff, great atmosphere, comfortable beds and amazing location.. My stay was just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a good common areas, beds were comfy.

Disliked: bit dirty, shabby and rundown. The toilet and shower area was very cramped and odd.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vibes is a great place to stay in Quito. Perfect location to explore the city and to go out at night, friendly and helpful staff and a really cool atmosphere. I liked the TV room and beds are comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Keliesha Horsburgh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Keliesha would recommend this property

Liked: There were two power points and a mirror next to each bed. The bathrooms had full length mirrors. The beds were made fresh everyday.

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't very clean. The lockers were small.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015

Liked: Nothing. I was glad I left after my stay.

Disliked: I cannot recommend the Hostel. They won your award and afterwards did not work on their location. It was dirty, the furniture was old, the service was bad ( the staff partly did not speak English or Spanish, I had to wait two hours outside the Hostel at five in the morning because they said I cannot enter until check in).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and easy to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chad Rubin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Chad would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of social areas, and it was easy to talk to other travelers.

Disliked: My room was the first one at the entrance, and not locked, so I felt like my bag could be taken (although I had no issues and everyone at the time was friendly).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and comfy beds, close to nightlife and transport!

Disliked: There was mould in the bathrooms and some of the rooms, not like a little bit but a lot! It needs sorting really. The staff don't always speak English (but you are in South America) and they messed up a lot of reservations and I had to move room and other people got kicked out!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vibes is such an awesome hostel! True to it's name, there is a great, friendly vibe with reliable staff: especially the owner Santiago who really adds a personal touch to the experience; good facilities and attracts the best kind of travellers. The bar is really cool, blasting decent tunes and offering cheap booze to make it the best place to start a night in Quito. I had the best time here and would definitely recommed it!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Melissa Wyns

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: easy to meet people one minute walk to bars

Disliked: showers some of the staff have no idea - cannot answer a single question (where is a supermarket? can i stay an extra night? can i take a bus to this place? restaurant? ...)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good warm showers, comfortable beds and good common areas. A great atmosphere - it is chilled but still has a social vibe and partying on weekends. I would still recommend despite the below negative comments, but maybe for travellers more organised than me!

Disliked: I had a mixed experience at this hostel. The hostel itself was great. Great atmosphere, lovely people staying there and really great location. The staff were quite helpful, until I asked for another night's stay. The woman at the desk asked me to wait 10 minutes while she checked availability. After 10 minutes standing waiting I asked again and she said there was no room, although I know she hadn't checked anything further. Anyway, I was happy to move as there was no room. BUT the next day I spoke with people staying there and they said there were heaps of beds free in their room. This seems very strange and I spoke to a number if other people who had the same experience as me! I guess make sure you book online for the number of nights you really need to stay and hope your plans don't change! Also, the fridge is apparently for "leftovers only" which means no milk or fresh stuff to cook with. Careful it WILL get thrown out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the kitchen, the tv and computers room

Disliked: The showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Drouin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome locations, great tips from the staff. The bar area and living room is nice to hang out! Really close to perfection :)

Disliked: It would be great of there was breakfast to start the day. The room I was in is really bright early in the morning. That's the only two things...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe, great place to meet people. Great location for exploring Mariscal and enjoying the nightlife. Not too much noise from surrounding bars.

Disliked: The downstairs bathroom could do with an extra cleaning per day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Good movie room as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrienne Glusman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Vibes is a great chill out hostel with a great "vibe" and all of the other offerings one would want in a hostel! Spacious rooms/comfortable beds, a plentitude of bathrooms, 2 common areas to relax and hang out, one including a game room and bar! The offerings of Wednesday night ladies drink free and a free "welcome drink" only add to the greatness of the hostel! Santiago the owner/bartender is awesome and will help you with anything you need! Very knowledgeable about the area/how to maximize your time in Quito. Their Mariscal location is great... immersed in the nightlife of the area with lots of restaurants/bars to choose from. Would definitely return to this hostel again!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lindsey Pike

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: Owner Santiago was really helpful and friendly, lots of common rooms, very close to bus stop to old town, good kitchen facilities

Disliked: Lindsey left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PIK LING AU YEUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 PIK LING would recommend this property

Liked: I feel safe here as a woman who traveling alone. The place is cozy enough to laid back.

Disliked: PIK LING left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victoria Melina Cartolano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Victoria Melina would recommend this property

Liked: el Hostel es cómodo, la gente muy amable

Disliked: Recomendaría mantenerlo un poco mas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Restell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome, great location just around the corner from loads of bars and restaurants and not too far from the old town. The beds are changed daily and cleanliness is great throughout.

Disliked: If breakfast was offered this place would be perfect.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joseph dillon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean rooms, excellent common room with pool table, bar, table football, bar and big screen tv with DVD player!

Disliked: joseph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dana Rocklin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 January 2014 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: Super fun spot really close to Plaza Foch and with a great and welcoming staff! Everything was clean and nice, the bar inside the hostel was really fun and encouraging of everyone to enjoy the night. Great times!

Disliked: Dana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great time with other travelers, totally affordable, clean rooms, perfect location.

Disliked: Nothing. If you complain about some noises or so, you should choose other accommodation than a dorm :)


See all Quito hostels