We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of Hostel Revolution

Hostel | Los Rios N13-11 y Julio Castro, San Blas, Quito, Ecuador EC

90.7% Overall Rating

76 out of 80 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2014)

Stephanie Peters thinks…

"Sandra was so helpful and gave us the best briefing on Quito. She answered any questions and was genuinely trying to make every as good as possible and was always around. There were numerous areas to…"

Read all Hostel Revolution reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please send us your arrival time as soon as you can. *earliest check-in is 8am and latest 11pm. *There is some noise from passing traffic *Luggage store 25c a day *We are officially within the historical center of Quito which is quiet at night.(with the exception of La Ronda which is a best kept secret!). If you want to stay amongst the discos & where the travel agents are consider staying in Gringolandia/La Mariscal (which is 10 mins bus/cab) *valid passport required by all guests

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Hostal San Blas
15.12 USD

Hostel 82.2% 30 reviews
The Secret Garden Quito
11.76 USD

Hostel 79.9% 38 reviews
Dawn's Lodge
35.00 USD

Hostel 96.2% 47 reviews
Buena Vista Centro Historico
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Community Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 93.9% 39 reviews
Colonial House
10.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 137 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Vibes Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

76 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Revolution'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Peters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Sandra was so helpful and gave us the best briefing on Quito. She answered any questions and was genuinely trying to make every as good as possible and was always around. There were numerous areas to meet other travellers and the kitchen was clean and equipped. The rooms and the hostel itself was spacious and clean. Very good hot showers, regardless of how many people we're showing- including pressure! We liked it so much we extended our stay. Good happy hour too.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vanessa Watson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly - get place to stay to get away from the hustle of old town

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Lindsey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 April 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel was great. Just the right size for meeting people and the owner was very friendly. Good location, close to the historical centre and not far from the newer part of the city. I'll be staying there again when I pass back through Quito.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, great cosy decor and spotlessly clean. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Rooms at front get some occasional traffic noise from the street but the street isn't very busy and besides that's what your travelling earplugs are for!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely staff, nice building, good amount of showers and hot water. Really comfy bunk beds, nice and big! Free walking tour offered. Well equipped kitchen. 26 USD from airport to hostel.

Disliked: Nothing. Make sure you let them know your arrival time as reception closes at 23.00. They will wait for you if you are later.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacques Warichet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2014 Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities are excellent: there are a large number of toilets and showers with (easy to adjust) hot water at any time of the day, the wireless reaches the rooms and there are two desktop computers available, the kitchen (accessible to guests) is large and well-equiped. The bed was comfortable (although a bit short).

Disliked: The place is generally noisy. The street Los Rios has traffic starting at 5 AM. The building itself is an old house with creaky wooden floors and staircase and there is no sound isolation between the toilets/showers and the rooms at the highest floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daiane Shuai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Daiane would recommend this property

Liked: I like the kitchens, easy to cook, easy to make your own breakfast. Shower was great, I used the shower at second floor so the hot water was very good. Room clean, bathroom very clean. Staff friendly.

Disliked: At night I heard from one taxi driver that is not safe area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, relaxed and helpful host/staff...Also, there was a good crowd of backpackers staying the hostel to have an enjoyable and chilled time in Quito... it is close to the old town and there are a few travel agencies around to plan your journey (regarding day trips, Galápagos, etc.)

Disliked: ... had one morning no hot water in the shower...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Davidson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived we were warmly greeted with my name which was lovely after a long trip. Upon finding that most things around were closed we were very kindly offered food from the owners fridge, which was beyond kind. The hostel has a really lovely friendly and relaxed atmosphere and is buzzing with lovely people. You can choose to go out and socialise or curl up and watch tv, nothing feels like a problem. You can also see the staff roaming around to see what they can improve, which is nice. You also got your own key so you didn't have to buzz in and out all the time and a kitchen!!

Disliked: The street outside was busy all night, but it was a Friday and Saturday night. I expected a little bit if breakfast to be included but as there was a kitchen anyway we just made our own.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Russell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: This place became like a second home! I kept coming back and using it as a base. Staff are heaps friendly and became friends! You feel comfortable here, welcome. Beds are comfy, pretty good location, easy to walk to all the old town sites and good pizza nearby! Nice kitchen facilities, lovely rooftop. I miss it here!

Disliked: Not the awesomest hot water - use the showers upstairs as the water pressure is better! Water goes from hot to cold sometimes -- but it always comes back hot so you just have to wait a little. Not a big deal!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Ramage

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in quito hands down. Sandra is an amazing host

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verena Rumpel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quiet hostel when trying to sleep, good staff, nice kitchen

Disliked: Lockers under bed need fixed

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable and set before guests arrived. The price was low and the hostel owner was nice. Internet was good even in the rooms. Also, a sweet little dog name Shakira lives in the hostel.

Disliked: Breakfast was not available.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Thornton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I was thrilled by the service from the staff being able to assist me with all requests and great knowledge of local info. The atmosphere in the hostel was fantastic and the conditions for whether a one night stop over or a longer stay were excellent. It was evident and appreciated at how much effort the owner and his staff put into making sure all guests are appreciated and assisted. Out of all the places I stayed in south america this was one of the best by far by the fact service, location and conditions all ranked so highly in my opinion.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel. Good location. Very clean and tidy and you feel at home. Kitchen is big and well stocked. Lots of warm showers. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic hostel. Great friendly and very helpful staff. Always immaculately clean. Ratio of toilets/showers to beds is absolutely fantastic. Dorms beds were very large and had great underfed lockable (with your own padlock) storage. Excellent WiFi. Great selection of DVD's in the TV room. Very quiet area with great local amenities. The perfect distance from both the old town and then new town, either walking or on the bus. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful

Disliked: When we get into the private room there were 6-8 flies and mosquito around. Location wasn't great. Hot water is very unstable.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in the beautiful old town in Quito. The rooms were spacious, beds were comfy and clean, it was super quiet at night, big well stocked kitchen and walking distance to the old town centre.

Disliked: The staff are other travellers so know literally nothing about the area, the directions to the hostel from the metro station were rubbish. Come out of the station, take the steps up to the park, cross the park (with the observatory) and then go up one of the streets opposite and the road that crosses them at the top is the one the hostel is on. Also, the showers are really not great at all. But that's pretty minor. Also there are no shops/bars/restaurants/supermarkets in this area (they do warn you about this).

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Jaervinen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff that give you all the information you need to go around Ecuador. Free coffee all day and pretty good wifi. They let you leave your baggage with nominal fee if you want to go to Quilotoa or Cotopaxi for a few days with lighter packback.

Disliked: The water temperature of showers changes all the time from cold to hot. Also the staff charged me a couple of dollars for using kitchen facilities after check-out. A couple of dollars is nothing, but I felt it was a bit useless after staying there for 4 nights...

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nihat Tokdil

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Nihat would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old building.

Disliked: Noisy environment (outside).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, good location near the old town.

Disliked: A bit noisy as we were right by the stairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious and beds comfy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful owner. Really good sized kitchen. Plenty of space in dorms - not crushed together. Safe.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners, very convenient location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Quito hostels