We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of Colonial House

Hostel | Olmedo E 432, y Vicente León, Quito, Ecuador .

79.3% Overall Rating

142 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2015)

"The building is very old so it has a nice atmosphere. overall the hostal is clean except for the bathroom but wasn't a problem for me. breakfast is 3.50 and is amazing. Delicious and you get loads of food."

Read all Colonial House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Community Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 94.7% 50 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Hostal Rincon Familiar
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Secret Garden Quito
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.0% 46 reviews
Dawn's Lodge
28.00 USD

Hostel 96.2% 49 reviews
Hostal San Blas
16.74 USD

Hostel 81.8% 34 reviews
Vibes Hostel
9.85 USD

Hostel 83.7% 212 reviews
Hotel Real Audiencia
58.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.5% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

142 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Colonial House'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 150 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Great common area.

Disliked: Not enough hot water (compromise for pressure and temperature)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Ahn

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2015 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The garden, the rooms are big, balcony, and the outside area.

Disliked: The location is a little dangerous at night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sara Dumas

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: helpful, friendly staff. pleasant room.

Disliked: location - walking up the hill .

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: Charge extra for breakfast. Long way from centro Quito. Internet never works - GET A DIFFERENT INTERNET COMPANY. Book exchange a mess - GET A DECENT BOOKSHELF AND MAKE IT ATTRACTIVE. Back yard a mess - HAS POTENTIAL BUT FIX IT UP AND KEEP IT NEAT. Poor hot water - INVEST IN BETTER WATER HEATERS. INCLUDE BREAKFAST LIKE MOST HOSTELS. STOP DOING EVERYTHING ON THE SUPER CHEAP.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2015

Liked: People are nice!

Disliked: The facilitéis

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is very old so it has a nice atmosphere. overall the hostal is clean except for the bathroom but wasn't a problem for me. breakfast is 3.50 and is amazing. Delicious and you get loads of food.

Disliked: The staff can be helpful but not all the time. I didn't really get the impression they enjoyed working at the hostel. The location is good - close to the old town and la Marín bus terminal, but the street where the hostel is located is often empty and dangerous to walk by your own or even with someone else. People got robbed there all the time. I stayed in a dorm and there was no lock on the room or lockers. It is possible to stock your valuables in the safe of the owner.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elaine Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2015 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big room and quiet

Disliked: The kitchen was not great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable spacious private room . Pleasant communal area. Great breakfast.

Disliked: The shower was difficult to operate and gave out very little hot water. Quito and the hostel is cold so a good hot shower is important.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jackson Grimm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2015 Jackson would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed here for our first three nights in Quito and loved it. It is in a beautiful part of Old Town Quito, close to a main bus plaza and plenty of areas to explore. As soon as we checked in, we were given a detailed map and the woman who checked us in gave us many suggestions for activities/adventures in the area. All the staff are very friendly and helpful (setting up taxis, suggesting restaurants, etc.), and most speak both English and Spanish. Additionally, the beds are very comfortable (lots of heavy blankets and pillows), there is a sweet fenced garden area, a recreation room, computers for guest use, free wifi, and a lovely, filling $3.50 breakfast. The only downside of this hostel are the showers. The only way to shower with hot water is to turn on the water to the lowest pressure setting. Not a big deal, though, for well-seasoned travelers. A-, for sure!

Disliked: Nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a pretty cool old house, I like the variety of common areas and seating. The beds were also super comfortable and the rooms nicely set up and spacious.

Disliked: Any noise echoes pretty well around the whole place. Not too bad if you are a good sleeper but tough for a light sleeper. Overall it was very quiet during sleeping hours. I also didn't like that the kitchen isn't open until 0800, because I am normally up earlier.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Schipper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Building is really nice and clean, nice garden and overall good feeling. Besides what happened when we arrived the staff was really friendly (read dislike).

Disliked: Our reservation from hostelbookers failed and the woman behind the desk was trying to cover it up and almost trying us to feel guilty for the failure in a rude way. The owner of the hostel gave us a free 'emergency room' to make up for the rudeness of the woman.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2015

Liked: The breakfast was great for a hostel! Fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, musli, coffee and eggs!

Disliked: The walls were extremely thin, so we could hear everything outside the room. The building is somewhat like an atrium, so we could hear people in the ground floor despite being on the third floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and volunteers that are super friendly and welcoming. The location of the hostel was amazing, big market 2 blocks away where you can get groceries/produce and really cheap and tasty prepared meals.

Disliked: Kitchen could be better equipped

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca Werner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Colonial House with very friendly and helpful staff. Good communal areas and garden. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Only a couple bathrooms that were very small, and had an issue with the drainage while we were there so they were often flooded or you were showering in a pool of other peoples water. No lockers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff! Really friendly. Good breakfast. Nice atmosphere. Rooms are clean.

Disliked: Kitchens are in a bad condition. Showers are annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Geat location in old tow. Got big bed in dorm. Nice colonial building.

Disliked: Kitchens had no utensils. Staff kitchen had all the good stuff. Staff not super helpful. seemed boredand uninterested. /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esteban Taramasso

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2014 Esteban would recommend this property

Liked: muy buena ubicacion, lugar muy agradable, con mucha onda, el desayuno incomparable, la gente que lo atiende, de lo mejor! super recomendable!!

Disliked: Esteban left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and a delightful place to stay in Quito. A short walk to Old Town and the Mercado Central.

Disliked: Nothing I would recommend it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gary Paget

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Double private room was clean and spacious and electric shower was generally hot. Staff helpful although volunteers sometimes vague. Located close to historic centre but wound need taxi or bus for the new town/la mariscal.

Disliked: Room facing street could be noisy at times & street lighting stayed on all night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good rooms, clean.

Disliked: The jet of water is a little bit poor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tui Maybury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Tui would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty basic hostel but in a decent location

Disliked: There was never any hot water for showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and volunteers are really helpful and it was nice to go out as a group to La Ronda at night.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk esp the little slope but it's good exercise when you're prepared for it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dino Norrman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Dino would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Old Town and metrobus. Many facilities such as fridge, kitchen, TV, and pool table.

Disliked: Dino left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Collin Abbott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Collin would recommend this property

Liked: Colonial House has great character and a friendly staff.

Disliked: The bathrooms are very small and are shared among many people (only bathroom per floor). Also, the rooms along the street side are very noisy, making it difficult to get sleep past 5 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet house, helpful staff, good location and neighborhood. We paid for a room to ourselves and got a huge room with two double beds and a twin bed. Secure house, wifi, good breakfast, and a beautiful campus! Also, gay friendly :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Quito hostels