HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of Colonial House

Hostel | Olmedo E 432, y Vicente León, Quito, Ecuador .

87.4% Overall Rating

115 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

"Free pool table and coffee. Lot of character and all that, clearly colonial style building, lots of cool features and set off with lashings of guayasamin inspired arts. Don't miss the city tour in the morning."

Read all Colonial House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Community Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 94.7% 31 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews
Hostal Quito Cultural
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 41 reviews
Buena Vista Centro Historico
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Secret Garden Quito
10.50 USD

Hostel 83.1% 30 reviews
Jumbo Lodging
35.00 USD

Hostel 96.8% 45 reviews
Hostal San Blas
15.12 USD

Hostel 81.6% 29 reviews
The Folklore Hotel
23.00 USD

Hotel 72.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

115 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Colonial House'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 106 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pool table and coffee. Lot of character and all that, clearly colonial style building, lots of cool features and set off with lashings of guayasamin inspired arts. Don't miss the city tour in the morning.

Disliked: It has 4 floors, so given that quito is already the 3rd highest capital city wrt altitude, the climb to the communal kitchen or TV room could pose a health risk to the more rotund traveller.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull and friendly staff. We arrived at 12 at night at the hostel, and were hungry, but there was no place to buy midnightsnacks, so Tom offered us bananas from the kitchen. We slept great, very good beds. The breakfast was great, in the patio. The hostel is located in a beautiful old house, with spacious rooms and even a garden. And Paulina helped us with booking a bus to Colombia We had a very nice stay, thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff (mostly volunteers) were friendly, good breakfast (extra). Big old colonial house, with lots of different areas.

Disliked: Internet was frustratingly slow and not accessible everywhere. (Private) room, including bathroom garbage, was not cleaned during stay; apparently you have to ask them to do this.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daiane Shuai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Daiane would recommend this property

Liked: Shower ok. Room ok. Staff very friendly. There was a cute girl she made lovely sandwich just cost one dollar!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character, located in the Old Town. Good value and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Guests ring a bell to get in at all hours. It's safe and secure, but the bell is a bit annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aditya sinha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 aditya would recommend this property

Liked: Room was excellent, staff were very helpful, there are rabbits in the garden! Library and DVDs to watch, wifi and computers, kitchen available for use. This is an excellent hostel and is one of the best I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: The hot water is not very powerful, but it is hot! The wifi on the top floor is not a very good connection but is fine every where else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cassidy dellorto-blackwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 cassidy would recommend this property

Liked: Colonial House is a great option. The staff are really nice and helpful and the location is pretty great for exploring the Old Town (it's also not a very long walk to the Marsical.) I also really enjoyed their back garden which is charmingly shabby.

Disliked: cassidy left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hammocks in the garden

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013

Liked: Nice spacious room with balcony and table and chairs.

Disliked: Location not great, did not feel safe walking back at night. Room next to kitchen so smelled of food and you could hear every conversation outside - but it was never noisy late at night and did not stop us from sleeping. Electric shower, poor water pressure, not great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite large, there is a covered 'garden' area with lots of space to relax. There is a pool table too. They can provide dinner which was super convenient and nice after a day of travel. Beer and wine is reasonably priced. The beds are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The showers are terrible. Virtually no water pressure or hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beate Reissmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Beate would recommend this property

Liked: a good place to stay and to be!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ANASTASIA CHATZIIOANNOU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 ANASTASIA would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay in Quito. The decoration and the way the hostel was organized travelled on time The staff was like a family!! I felt really like home. Totaly recomended!!!!

Disliked: ANASTASIA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in the old town, felt safe to walk back to early evening. Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfy. Staff are very friendly and happy to help.

Disliked: This is not the hostal to stay at if you want to party.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is largely run by volunteers who couldn't do more to make you feel welcome. They are very happy to give advice on what to see, good places to eat at good prices and where you should not visit on foot. It is a very friendly place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF WAS FANTASTICALLY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY

Disliked: LOCATION

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure. Volunteers who work there are very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, views are nice, information readily available. Staff and location are very accommodating.

Disliked: Common areas on each floor would seem like a good concept, however generate noise immediately outside the rooms until all go to bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and price

Disliked: Tents in the yard instead a relax area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrej Komelj

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013 Andrej would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly manager - she went to extreme lengths to explain everything we needed to know about Quito although she knew we will stay only for a night. Lock on our door was a bit shabby and she was immediately prepared to move us into another room - when we didn't complicate and said we will stay, she lowered the price for us.

Disliked: Andrej left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The volunteers are great here. One girl even taught salsa to us:) Also, rooms are nice and beds are comfy. Not crazy amazing but definitely recommendable.

Disliked: Some confusion over our reservation but I believe it got sorted out. Nothing I really dislike...not a crazy party hostel and maybe aimed for slightly older travelers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great place. Its very intimate and a very convenience location. Definitely the best hostel staff I've never met! Ornelia and the volunteers are kind, respectful and too much available. I arrived there with two friends and they help them to find something and they rent them a tent. The price is very good and you have a wi-fi for free, common areas, two kitchens for the guests, lovely garden and also I took salsa lessons. Rooms were very spacious and hot water reliable ( electric showers but it works) At this hostel you really feel you are in a special place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Greg Colquhoun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome and helpful

Disliked: Bathrooms and general areas are filthy. Kitchen is completely gross. Hot water is pretty much a trickle, if turn up pressure for more flow its cold. Beds are well, your better off sleeping on the floor. Terrible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were lovely. The staff were super friendly and helpful. There was a cool chill out area with free pool table and bananas. Historical centre and some nice parks are within walking distance.

Disliked: The road felt a bit unsafe at night, so night taxis always required. Not a huge amount of younger travellers there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Hollingsworth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character, hostess, and guests!

Disliked: Quito is itself unsafe. Therefore, the hostel is unsafe, although we felt fine during the daylight. Also, the hostel advertised hot water, but the hot water only came out at a trickle, so taking a shower was still very cold. The beds were very uncomfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Building is full of character, the staff extremely helpful and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Slight negative, our private bathroom wasn't cleaned during our 4 night stay. Location-wise, personally I wouldn't choose to stay in the Centro Historico again, that said I'm not sure you can get the same quality of hostel in the Mariscal area.

Disliked: With the benefit of hindsight, the location isn't ideal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Peter Anson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.


See all Quito hostels