HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of El Centro del Mundo Hostel

Hostel | Lizardo Garcia E7-26 y, Reina Victoria, (La Mariscal) Quito, Ecuador .

65.8% Overall Rating

81 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2012)

Andrew Thom thinks…

"Good location, very cheap, more information on Ecuador than you could ever hope for on a display of montages throughout the hostel. Use of kitchen, reasonably warm showers, someone on the door 24/7,…"

Read all El Centro del Mundo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Hostal Sur
19.21 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Real Audiencia
52.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 29 reviews
Hostal Rincon Familiar
24.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Sol y Luna
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Quito Cultural
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 41 reviews
Vibes Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 201 reviews
Colonial House
10.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 137 reviews
Hotel Catedral Internacional
22.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.8%

Overall Rating

81 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Centro del Mundo Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014

Liked: Location next to the center.

Disliked: The rooms were not clean and the walls were comin off. The location is indeed in the center but that fact causes horrible noise until late at night.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap private room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a safe and cheap place.

Disliked: Not all the staff are not to willing to help.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Radek ?ermák

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 January 2014 Radek would recommend this property

Liked: it was very cheap, location was so great, I was very satisfied.

Disliked: Radek left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is about half the price options but you get what you paid for

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you like to party

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

shafaat khan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 shafaat would recommend this property

Liked: good location, owner very helpful food available all day, excellent price,

Disliked: No heaters when I was caught out in the rain could have done with one, hey but considering the price not really a complaint, if I required more luxury I would have to pay more.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julen Andueza Ansorena

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Julen would recommend this property

Liked: Buena ubicación a un precio bajo y con desayuno incluido.

Disliked: Para entrar a nuestra habitación debiamos atravesar otra habitación de 4 huespedes que no se podía cerrar. Nuestro baño privado no tenía agua caliente y tuvimos que ir al compartido.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Thom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very cheap, more information on Ecuador than you could ever hope for on a display of montages throughout the hostel. Use of kitchen, reasonably warm showers, someone on the door 24/7, free rum & coke on mon, wed & fri!!!!

Disliked: Staff not very knowledgeable about the area, kitchen outside not great, dorm rooms with a room attached that guests have to go through to reach, very dark inside, not enough toilets for the amount of people who can stay there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hostel, good breakfast, in the middle of the mariscal!!

Disliked: It is very loud but ok for this price

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly atmosphere We couldn't have the room we booked but were given a different room for free which was nice.

Disliked: Out dated, needs a paint job and smells a musty. Shower rooms freezing cold.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Merrin O'Brien

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Merrin would recommend this property

Liked: The price says it all really. There were some really cool people staying here when I was there and the free rum and coke bucket didn't go amis either. Great TV lounge area and with breakfast included of toast and coffee the price is excellent value for money.

Disliked: The showers are not consistent, electric and occasionally not even warm. The kitchen to cook food in is outside and dirty with very little in the way of utensils and there are no plates or bowels. The fridge for storing food does not seal so smells pretty bad.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011

Liked: umm...good location?

Disliked: Supposedly there`s a kitchen that you can order from 24 hrs a day but there is no cook. Most of the time, you´re lucky if you can find someone who works here. I walked by so many times with the incessant buzzing at the door since there was no one there to let the poor saps in. Quito kind of sucks anyway but if you´re going there, don`t stay here.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mark Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011

Liked: it was cheap but not cheap enough

Disliked: vey loud the beds were uncomfortable and creeked. the walls are thin you can hear everything going on in other rooms. people had to pass throu our room to get to theirs. awful!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all the bars and restaurants in the new town. The hostel had a lot of useful info about quito and around displayed on the walls.

Disliked: We had booked with hostelbookers but our 2 double rooms had been taken and we were given a 4 bed dorm instead. Despite many signs up throughout the hostel saying no smoking people continued to smoke in the living room and dining room area without being asked to stop by staff which meant the place wasnt pleasant to sit around and smelled like a pub. The rooms are damp and mouldy and the showers are either a hot dribble or cold. It is decent enough for the money though...as long as you dont expect luxury.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011

Liked: Cheap!

Disliked: Rooms were cramped, dark and damp and the whole place was shabby and not very clean. Showers were pretty sketchy as well. Also they had no record of my reservation when we arrived!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesca Gemmell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing information about Quito and things to do around quito and Ecuador, really motivating!free rum was a killer at the altitude haha

Disliked: No wireless

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ana Claussen

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Free drinks M-W-F, LOTS of tourist information posted on the walls around the hostel, very very cheap.

Disliked: Strange entrance through our dorm to a private room. Arrived early, having made a reservation the night before and not only did the staff not have it, they were extremely rude about it. Eventually got a room several hours later.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011

Liked: i guess it was kind of cheap, but by no means an out of this world bargain.

Disliked: I just didn't vibe at this place. Our "double room" was a closet. They did move us to a bigger room, but by the end of the night they had stuffed someone else in that hole. Reception seemed understaffed in the morning, with one girl cooking breakfast and checking people in and out, she did awesome but should have had some help! Kitchen facilities grimy, not sure where the "party" was supposed to take place (common areas cramped)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011

Liked: It's a cool place to meet people. You get what you paid for, it's a cheap place so don't expect anything fancy.

Disliked: We had to walk through a dorm to get to our double, we had to leave at 5am, so sorry people in the dorm :-)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 January 2011

Liked: Facilities and information on offer. Okay breakfast. The staff were present always even if they didnt answer the bell straightaway.

Disliked: The windows were broken and it was freezing cold inside the room, had to check out after first night, but didnt lose my disposit for the 2 other nights i had booked. the bathroom was very basic and the room was not safe, had to bring my own padlock - wasnt aware of this.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to party then this is a good choice, the hostel has lots of party themed evenings and is the perfect stumbling distance from the pubs in the new town. Beware that with all the partiers around, the shared bathrooms resemble pub toilets by the end of the day. Also, if you dont want to party then all the common areas including the TV room will be useless to you and sleep may prove elusive. The kitchen is partially outside and a bit worse of wear but the hostel is cheap by Quito standards. The dorms are big and have lockable boxes but the double with shared bathroom wasnt anything special. Not sure about the ensuite rooms

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2010

Liked: security, luggage storage

Disliked: toilets, showers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Neil Allison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 December 2010 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, 3 nights of free rum can´t be sniffed at, plenty of other backpackers

Disliked: Little cold - fireplace wasn´t in action and no other heating. No internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, colored walls ;)

Disliked: no internet


See all Quito hostels