We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of Auberge Inn

Hostel | Avenida Colombia 1138, y Yaguachi, Quito, Ecuador 0

83.1% Overall Rating

121 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/10/2014)

Doug Galbraith thinks…

"Rooms were clean, wireless was good, kitchen was open. Everything was basic, but ok."

Read all Auberge Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.50

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Sol de Quito
28.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Ecuador
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 3 reviews
Hostal Casapaxi
7.56 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 73 reviews
Hostal Casa kanela
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 5 reviews
Hotel Vieja Cuba
24.78 USD

Hotel 95.4% 5 reviews
Travellers Inn (Formerly Amazon Inn)
14.50 USD

Hostel 89.4% 350 reviews
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Tutamanda & Spanish School
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

121 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Auberge Inn'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Doug Galbraith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2014

Liked: Rooms were clean, wireless was good, kitchen was open. Everything was basic, but ok.

Disliked: Location didn't feel safe. Some staff were extremely helpful, others dismissive. Wasn't a great place to meet other backpackers, at least during our stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Lloyd Wakeman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast we have had in South America. For $4 there is tea, coffee, hot choc, bread, jam, eggs, yogurt, cereal and fruit! The staff were generally helpful and booked our taxi to the airport. Wifi is pretty strong.

Disliked: There were ants in our room, not a huge problem but would be nice without. Unfortunately we had to share a bathroom with others on our floor and there were some people with disgusting toilet habits and smoking in there. Can get pretty chilly in the evening.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lisa Findley

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice airport pick-up, good food options, serviceable little bedroom.

Disliked: Not a super sociable common area, yet the boys down the hall partied in their room until literally 6am.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathy Candelaria

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Kathy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the rooms were adequate.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that the kitchen is locked until 7 or 7:30 a.m. and I am an early riser. So, I get up at 6 or 6:30 wanting coffee, can't get into the kitchen to fix it, and get a cup at the breakfast area (breakfast is served at 7:30 and includes coffee). The staff charges me $1 for the coffee, which I pay and go on. However, the next morning, I ask for someone to open the kitchen so I can heat up water for my coffee and get my milk out of the refrigerator and they get thoroughly pissed off at me! And I mean really, really angry that I asked someone to open the door to the kitchen. What the heck? This facility really, really pushes its restaurant and doesn't have much of a kitchen for travelers to use. The restaurant food is very good but a little bit expensive.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Eleanor Robson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014

Liked: Clean, cute and the matresses were great. Great showers!

Disliked: All staff except one lady during the day were reluctant to help you. For example, we arrived on a sunday and asked the lady where we could grab some lunch, and she essentially said we couldn't, and offered no more help than that. Whenever we asked for directions somewhere, she would tell us and not bother to get out from behind reception to point on a map to help us. When we asked for the directions to the bus office, she gave us the COMPLETE WRONG ADDRESS which meant we were walking around the area aimlessly for 2 hours. At times, other staff were just plain rude. The food offered by the cafe is ok, but very overpriced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always friendly and helpful, our private room was small, but clean. The bathroom was clean and had warm water. The hostal is good value for money and in walking distance of the historic center. The breakfeast is not cheap, but worth the money.

Disliked: The reservation from hostelbookers was not noted down, but we got a room without a problem. When paying I had to remind staff that I already had paid 10 % to hostelbookers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013

Liked: The fact it is in the middle of both new and old town is quite convenient however have to taxi everywhere after dark. All the staff bar the EXCEPTIONALLY rude night guy are lovely and very helpful. Wifi is good.

Disliked: We booked a private room with shared bathroom however when we arrived were informed there were none available and had to pay extra for the private bathroom. You also have to time your showers to get hot water - afternoon is best.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with a good location between Old/New town. Showers are scalding (both morning and night), bedding was nice and fluffy and warm. Nice food at the restaurant and breakfast is tasty (although a little pricey...it's easy).

Disliked: The lady that runs the restaurant (on her own) in the evenings seemed super stressed, overworked, unhappy and mean (or she just didn't like me, one of the two).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the fact there were towels and soap for us. You have to pay $1 an hour more or less for use of the computers. Wifi is free. Only stayed 1 night.

Disliked: The room was very cold. The extra blanket on the shelf didn´t help as much as we thought.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maya Gunnarsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Maya would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were sooo comfy! And super cheap private rooms. The place is spotless...more like a hotel at hostel prices. And delicious restaurant. For the most part the staff was so nice and friendly! I stayed there 3 times, and each time I came back they remembered where I had been and asked about my travels. And they have a really secure luggage lockup where you can use your own lock.

Disliked: The night receptionist for Sunday and Monday was very rude and unhelpful. Also, the kitchen had inadequate supplies to cook.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitriona Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Caitriona would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free wifi. Excellent when travelling. Breakfast buffet for $3.50 is excellent value. All staff are very friendly though English is very limited.

Disliked: Self service kitchen very poor. Camping site style 2 ring gas burner and a dodgy fridge. Pity as rest of hostel is lovely. They should really consider a refurb of self service kitchen area. A kettle would be an excellent addition to it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great cost, offered breakfast in the morning for only $3.50 USD.

Disliked: no heating, can get cold at night, internet wasn't very strong and cut in and out, once for about half an hour.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Janine Horton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 November 2012 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Terrific wifi

Disliked: It was a bit far away from restaurants and cafes, we always had to take a taxi at night. Taxis were cheap so was not too much trouble.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carsten Blomenkamp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 September 2012

Liked: The place is neat an clean and is close to both major parts of the city, the old and the new city center. Prices are absolute fair and the place has a very nice patio.

Disliked: It is definitely no place to get in touch with other travelers, so if you come alone, you'll stay alone!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Piotrowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean, showers are really hot with plenty of water, beds were super comfortable and had a real duvet. Great for visiting both new and old town - 10 min walk to either side. WIFI was perfect and there is a travel agency and restaurant on site. Great outdoor area! Good value for money.

Disliked: Kitchen could have been better equipped. One fork and two pots for the whole place isn't enough! Hope the owner buys some more stuff so the kitchen is actually usable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A reallx good hostel in the middle of the two parts of the city, not far away from the old tows. Really good breakfast. Nice and clear room.

Disliked: Staff was in the late afternoon a little stressed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place oozes charm. It feels sort of like a little castle crossed with a mountain chalet. We were only here for one night on a layover on the way to Cuenca. We loved th convenience and food of the restuarant downstairs and the internet cafe. They have wi-fi which works great in the enclosed patio. We were on the top floor in an 8x8 room with a bed and one amoir. I call it the penthouse suite. Had a decent view of the patio and neighbors.

Disliked: Steps. Lots of steps. About 70 up to the ´penthouse suite´that we had. No wheelchair access or anyone with bad knees. Have the taxicab wait until you get inside, as there are double security doors, which tells you the neighborhood may be a little sketchy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price

Disliked: This building is not properly soundproofed, so it is quite noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Toole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 July 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: the helpful staff, nice spacious rooms and coumfy beds

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Bob Inman

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2012

Liked: The property is fairly well maintained and could be really a good value . It's a $5 taxi ride to the airport and a $2 Taxi ride ti the historical district. It's attractive as far as eye appeal and has good amenities for a hostel.

Disliked: It's beyond noisy.The wooden flooring coupled with heavy footed walkers make it like being in a drum in the main bldg. The outside sitting areas mean the conversational levels are intrusive as are the partying from inside the main structure. It seems more Euro friendly and they charge to use the computers as well as for everything else. Not much included here other than a towel and soap. Not much effort is made to calm things down before 11.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gebäude mit schönem Innenhof mit einigen Stühlen und Tischen. Warme Dusche.

Disliked: Etwas spärliche Informationen am Anschlagbrett und von der Reception. Wenig Restaurants in der Gegend, darum im hosteleigenen "Restaurant" gegessen (Qualität war eher mässig). Frühstücksbüffet (nicht inkl.) war hingegen vielfältig mit Früchten, Cerealien, Yoghurt, Fruchtsäften, verschiedenem Brot und Eiern.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room, the bathroom and all common areas were immaculate. The staff is polite and helpful. Meals are reasonably priced and good quality. The ambience is international; guests considerate and nice. I am female, was travelling solo and happy to meet kindred spirits on their own or accompanied. I felt very safe at this property.

Disliked: When first arriving with duffle bag, the staircase at the entrance was a challenge.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice restaurant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very comfy and the bathroom has great showers. I appreciate the travel agency in the hostel.

Disliked: To me, breakfest that costs 3.5$ is not really worth it and there are better places aroud Quito to eat.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Trent Collins

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2011 Trent would recommend this property

Liked: generally ok.

Disliked: staff sometimes hard to track down. could have been a little cleaner.


See all Quito hostels