HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Quito hostels

Reviews of Travellers Inn (Formerly Amazon Inn)

Hostel | La Pinta E4-435 & Amazonas Ave, La Mariscal District, (Opposite the Spanish Embassy) Quito, Ecuador .

89.4% Overall Rating

339 out of 350 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2014)

"Good Budget-priced, Quiet and Clean Hostel I stayed in a double bedroom with a shared shower and toilet. Good location close to Plaza Foch and restaurants. Breakfast is delicious and really well presented. They sell…"

Read all Travellers Inn (Formerly Amazon Inn) reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quito?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quito

Hotel Vieja Cuba
24.78 USD

Hotel 95.4% 5 reviews
Hostal Backpackers' Inn
7.25 USD

Guesthouse 69.5% 19 reviews
Gerardo e Irene´s Colonial House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada del Maple
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.0% 32 reviews
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
24.75 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 15 reviews
Blue House
9.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 79 reviews
Hostal Casa kanela
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 5 reviews
Hostal Casapaxi
7.56 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

339 out of 350 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Inn (Formerly Amazon Inn)'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 303 of 315 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness was spot on!! Great breakfast included.

Disliked: Rooms a little small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Budget-priced, Quiet and Clean Hostel I stayed in a double bedroom with a shared shower and toilet. Good location close to Plaza Foch and restaurants. Breakfast is delicious and really well presented. They sell soft drinks and beers for reasonable prices and the wifi overall was pretty good. We went on a tour hosted by the in-house travel company to Cotopaxi volcano. They are really helpful and offer loads of advice. David

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sumana Harrison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: The place is clean, the breakfasts hearty and the location is right on the edge of "happening" La Mariscal.

Disliked: There is no comfy area to do internet or have a drink or a coffee. One is either sitting in the drafty entrance or on a hard chair. You cannot have a morning coffee... it's breakfast or nothing. The only place to have a drink is in your room. The newer rooms, sans bath, are in the back and quiet. However, going to the bathroom during a freezing Quito winter night is only for the hardy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and secure. Area not bad, short walk to metro bus stations so easy to visit old town or go north for otovelo buses. Plenty of restaurants, bars, clubs and travel agents nearby. Airport was 45min drive (no traffic, NOT rush hour). Massive room and bathroom. Nice breakfast. Nice communal room. Guests older than usual, definitely NOT a party or social hostel, which suited us.

Disliked: Nothing really, location could have been better I suppose.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Knut-Steinar Johansen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Knut-Steinar would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Close to everything in city..

Disliked: ??

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Sisson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Nice homely feel and within walking distance of the Plaza Foche.

Disliked: There weren't any other guests - perhaps it was low season?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Ferguson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 June 2013 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms. Good breakfast. Excellent service. Friendly and helpul staff. Handy to public transport.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Maclean

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The Mariscal district is very tourist orientated but at the same time feels a little unsafe late in the day. The hostel is extremely secure (CCTV, intercom front door). It was a perfect location for us as we came to Quito to look for a Galápagos trip - the hostel is a short walk from the centre of the 'new town' and where many travel agencies are located. The guys running the hostel are friendly and helpful. This is by far the cleanest hostel that we have stayed in during our 8 months travelling. The shared bathrooms were cleaned several times a day. We also stayed in a private room, whilst more expensive, was very nice.

Disliked: It is a minor point given all the positives, but a good number of the staff were quite unfriendly (not the guys who run the hostel, as noted above), most unusual for Ecuador!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ekaterina Kontsevaya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, friendly staff, clean and safe, a lot of facilities on offer, good kitchen

Disliked: Overpriced

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amalie ernst

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 amalie would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanness

Disliked: Not always hot water

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: The airport pick up I arranged didnt show up. I talked with another person at the hostel who had the same problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Eames

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Layout, staff, amenities, breakfast, clean sheets & location

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott lindsay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the very clean bedroom that I had (at the back of the property via the garden - no private bathroom) The mattress and mattress protector looked new and the sheets were in excellent shape. It was quiet at night with Mariscal area a short walk and the colonial centre a cheap taxi ride away. I would stay here again.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lillian Kent

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 January 2013 Lillian would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, advice about safety and Internet

Disliked: Garden rooms were small and pokey. Ok for one night but not adequate for longer; be prepared to pay a bit extra for a room with an ensuite.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice n clean. Great hospitality - always again. We also lengthen our stay, so no more to say.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jared Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap beers and great facilities!

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emmeline broad

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2012 emmeline would recommend this property

Liked: Such a little gem home from home not far fom Foch safe location I can not fault their hospitality the stay is worth it just for the fast Internet and amazing breakfast we have used this place as a base whilst we travel around Ecuador and I would honestly recommend it for a stressless and comfortable stay

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, pretty good location & friendly staff. It looks as if they are trying to improve the place and if you have any problems they were quick to try and fix it for you.

Disliked: The communal computers were unreliable and need updating and internet connection was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All members of the staff were friendly and helpful. Great free breakfast with amazing view of the mountains. Very clean. This is not a party hostel, so it was quiet. The garden out back was nice.

Disliked: Since it's the low season, there was some construction going on in the rooms next to me, so the outlet in my room didn't work, but it wasn't a problem for me. There are other outlets available in the common areas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything most hotels offer and as a free gift. It had very nice people and was spotlessly clean. It was quiet. It was very spacious in our room. LOTS of storage space. Free breakfast with room. It was was enough for the entire day. We traveled by taxi to Cotacachi and only needed water during the ride. Fresh fruits, eggs as you like them, croisant with cheese. tea or coffe or both. Really, this stay was our best in any country in years. I recommend it. The owners do require quiet hours at night 10 to 6. The water in the shower and basin was hot. We are staying at a place in Cotacachi and it is "rustic"....primitive. No hot water anywhere. Good security. nice people, no English though.

Disliked: Zero

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isabel Mattick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff and it was really handy to have an on-site travel agent that we were able to book tours through (Cuyabeno and City Tour/Equator). Breakfast was really good too.

Disliked: Only that our transfer that we booked from the airport, but this wasn't really their fault.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I got sick the night we arrived and ended up extending our stay because it seemed the best place to be under the weather. The place is very clean, rooms are nice, and the staff brought me tea to my room.

Disliked: It's a bit pricey.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast

Disliked: Shortage of shared showers/toilets

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place, super clean, nice and helpfull people!

Disliked: Car alarm each night.


See all Quito hostels