HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Doña Esther

Guesthouse

Juan Montalvo 444 y Bolivar, Otavalo, Ecuador

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 84%

Location 93%

Safety 93%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Café
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 55.00USD
  • Breakfast 4.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Otavalo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 84%

Location 93%

Safety 93%

Staff 84%

Value 84%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Notning

Disliked: Bathroo m

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is really beautiful and the rooms are nice. The restaurant is good.

Disliked: The staff is not helpful, borderline unfriendly. I felt like I was putting them out asking for the smallest thing. The wifi did not work at all in my room and wasn't great anywhere in the hotel. And breakfast should definitely be included for the price you pay. I've read their reasoning of "wanting to offer variety," but that's no excuse. I stayed in two other places in Otavalo that were 1/3 the price and a lot better.


The property's response is

My staff is known as very friendly and helpful and will always try to solve any problem (view other reviews). Maybe a language difficulty or misunderstanding of some kind. Anyway, if you had a problem, you might have come to us to ask for a solution. It's difficult to resolve anything once you're gone. Wifi is a free service, we ourselves are not the provider and can't help that sometimes the signal is not that great. Throughout the hotel you find notes saying the best signal is downstairs.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: A very nice accomodation in the center of the city. Pleasant ambiance and friendly staff. We had a nice dinner and breakfast. We would certainly recommend the place.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: * Ease of locating if traveling on your owns ; great map on their website. * great downtown location with trade off that it's noisy during town events* few blocks walk from secured parking

Disliked: * told to take care of threadbare towels that are only changed every 2 days. We stayed 3 nights. Yup, same towels, never changed.* if noise bothers you--noisy most of night between dogs barking, roosters crowing & disco music pulsing.* no mattress pad on bed


The property's response is

I keep saying this to people, please tell us any problem you have while you with us, so we have the chance to solve things. Sorry, if your towels were not changed after two days, because they should have changed them, but we would have changed them immediately if you would have asked. Disco music? You probably had bad luck with a stationed car, there's no disco anywhere around. Roosters and dogs are unfortunately part of the whole country.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: All the comforts of a hotel stay(exceptions below) without the "overhead". Much more cozy and personal atmosphere.Surprisingly outstanding restaurant for food preparation,variety in menu, and costStaff that went "the extra mile", especially for a couple with rudimentary Spanish language skills

Disliked: Stiff towels and anemic pillows-both relatively minor inconveniences

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location--pretty good restaurant next to the reception.Safe

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owners went out of their way to help my husband get to a doctor. They said we were guests in their home and they certainly treated us accordingly. We would highly recommend the restaurant (best chicken soup ever) and the upstairs suite complete with kitchenette and fireplace. A great place to experience country life in Ecuador.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: A lovely looking hotel in a great central location.

Disliked: Somewhat overpriced for what you get (does not include breakfast) and the hotel staff were often very noisy early in the morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: rooms clean roomy good service restaurant excellant service food enjoyable

Disliked: had no dislikes re hostel everyone helpfull

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and ambiente, friendly owners, excellent food

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability