We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Otavalo hostels

Reviews of Hostal Doña Esther

Hostel | Juan Montalvo 444 y Bolivar, Otavalo, Ecuador .

90.6% Overall Rating

35 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

IMH van Herpt thinks…

"A very nice accomodation in the center of the city. Pleasant ambiance and friendly staff. We had a nice dinner and breakfast. We would certainly recommend the place."

Read all Hostal Doña Esther reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Otavalo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Otavalo

Chalet Sol - Otavalo
21.35 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 6 reviews
Hostal La Luna
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 12 reviews
Flying Donkey
9.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 8 reviews
Greenhouse Araque inn
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hosteria Rose Cottage
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 48 reviews
Balcon del lago
12.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Chasqui
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 137 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

35 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Doña Esther'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Herbert boot

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Herbert would recommend this property

Liked: Notning

Disliked: Bathroo m

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Katie Dow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014

Liked: It is really beautiful and the rooms are nice. The restaurant is good.

Disliked: The staff is not helpful, borderline unfriendly. I felt like I was putting them out asking for the smallest thing. The wifi did not work at all in my room and wasn't great anywhere in the hotel. And breakfast should definitely be included for the price you pay. I've read their reasoning of "wanting to offer variety," but that's no excuse. I stayed in two other places in Otavalo that were 1/3 the price and a lot better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IMH van Herpt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

24 April 2014 IMH would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice accomodation in the center of the city. Pleasant ambiance and friendly staff. We had a nice dinner and breakfast. We would certainly recommend the place.

Disliked: IMH left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014

Liked: * Ease of locating if traveling on your owns ; great map on their website. * great downtown location with trade off that it's noisy during town events * few blocks walk from secured parking

Disliked: * told to take care of threadbare towels that are only changed every 2 days. We stayed 3 nights. Yup, same towels, never changed. * if noise bothers you--noisy most of night between dogs barking, roosters crowing & disco music pulsing. * no mattress pad on bed

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Tyler

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 January 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: All the comforts of a hotel stay(exceptions below) without the "overhead". Much more cozy and personal atmosphere. Surprisingly outstanding restaurant for food preparation,variety in menu, and cost Staff that went "the extra mile", especially for a couple with rudimentary Spanish language skills

Disliked: Stiff towels and anemic pillows-both relatively minor inconveniences

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--pretty good restaurant next to the reception. Safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malcolm Heaton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: The owners went out of their way to help my husband get to a doctor. They said we were guests in their home and they certainly treated us accordingly. We would highly recommend the restaurant (best chicken soup ever) and the upstairs suite complete with kitchenette and fireplace. A great place to experience country life in Ecuador.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Daniel Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely looking hotel in a great central location.

Disliked: Somewhat overpriced for what you get (does not include breakfast) and the hotel staff were often very noisy early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nerrida Sabien

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Nerrida would recommend this property

Liked: rooms clean roomy good service restaurant excellant service food enjoyable

Disliked: had no dislikes re hostel everyone helpfull

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere and ambiente, friendly owners, excellent food

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: WE enjoyed its position,and the look of the Hostal was very appealling

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked about the hostal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The menu was extensive and delicious!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Purvis Jackson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2011 Purvis would recommend this property

Liked: Thye Dona Esther is like a sanctuary in the middle of everything; the staff members are friendly and helpful; the beds are comfortable; the food is fresh, tasty, and well prepared; and the shower has heat and pressure big time. Otvalo is a festive environment.

Disliked: That I don't own it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katy Marsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: Charming character and great location.

Disliked: - Dissapointed with the restaurant food. - Wi-Fi did not work (ie, no signal in room, then when i had a signal it would still not connect to internet. They did not try to resolve this)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Front rooms a little noisy but not a problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are warm and friendly, the location is an easy walk to the market and other necessities. The hostel itself is a beautiful house with onsite cafe/restaurant.

Disliked: Front room can be noisy from the street traffic and people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really nice place to stay - more like a hotel than hostel. Very friendly staff and an excellent restaurant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Krueger

08 April 2010 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: It was so clean and quiet. The shower worked great! The food they served in their restuarant was amazing. We have zero complaints! Very very safe!

Disliked: Jon left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, wifi, good location & restaurant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Restaurant on the property was very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Restaurant food was very nice & the staff were very friendly. Lovely interior decor and a good distance from all the main sites in Otavalo... Recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: athmosphere, frendliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house with excellent restaurant (wood fire pizza). Top clean and music group on the evening (Friday). Would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, friendly, no breakfast, but a really pleasant place to stay. Great restaurant downstairs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ines Goetz

02 March 2008 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: It is just beautiful

Disliked: Ines left no negative feedback.


See all Otavalo hostels