We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Otavalo hostels

Reviews of Hosteria Rose Cottage

Guesthouse | Mojandita Curubi, Otavalo, Ecuador 0

87.8% Overall Rating

43 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

Martha Galea thinks…

"The beauty of the Rose Cottage is only outmatched by the friendliness of the staff, and the kindness of the owner, Rosa. I didn't think to bring warm enough clothing for the climate, and without…"

Read all Hosteria Rose Cottage reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • High chair
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Free transportation to the Otavalo market on Saturdays is included in our prices, as is continental breakfast.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Otavalo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Otavalo

Flying Donkey
9.00 USD

Hostel 85.7% 9 reviews
Hostal La Luna
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 12 reviews
Hostal Doña Esther
20.33 USD

Hostel 90.6% 37 reviews
Chalet Sol - Otavalo
21.35 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 6 reviews
Greenhouse Araque inn
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Balcon del lago
12.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Chasqui
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 137 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

43 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hosteria Rose Cottage'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martha Galea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: The beauty of the Rose Cottage is only outmatched by the friendliness of the staff, and the kindness of the owner, Rosa. I didn't think to bring warm enough clothing for the climate, and without hesitating Rosa gave me an extra blanket for my bed, and a poncho to keep warm in the rain. It is situated in the perfect location to do a little hiking, explore some waterfalls, and visit Otavalo. The property has a stunning view, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning comes with the best coffee I've had in Ecuador yet! I couldn't recommend this place more.

Disliked: It was raining a lot during our stay, but that isn't the fault of Rose Cottage. I can't think of anything else!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location outside of town in rural area with great views of valley. quiet and peaceful. accommodation scattered in different buildings so hard to get two rooms the same for friends together. Owners away when we were there so no staff with English´ local staff lovely and helpful. Beatutiful Internryt access varied due to location outside town. common areas--library, computer room, dining room but no heating so can be cold. Breakfast included and good. Other meals availalbe if requested. taxi to town cost 5 dollars, staff called taxis on request.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013

Liked: The views and french press coffee at breakfast. Lots of hammocks with views.

Disliked: 1) The wooden cottage is too small for tall/large people. Ceilings are around 6" tall on the lower level and bathroom is too small for a tall person to be able to sit on the toilet. If only staying for 1 night, this could be fun/funny, but if staying for a longer term, I'd opt for another room. 2) Internet is very, very spotty. We had only a few hours of slow internet on our first day. Even talking on Skype is difficult/delayed. They explained the reason for this, but still, if you need reliable internet, do not stay at this hostel. Some rooms have Wifi, others don't so be sure to read the room description carefully to be sure that it says Wifi. 3) Taxi to/from town is $3. 4) Breakfast includes bread, jam, butter, coffee, and juice. To add eggs, it costs $3... which is ridiculously expensive. A ham and cheese omelete costs the same price, so might as well get more for the $$. 5) Hard to find someone if you need help/have a question. They have a bell to ring in the middle of all the buildings, but it feels a little obnoxious. Only Spanish spoken. 6) Ride into town for the animal market is provided, but they piled 8 of us into a small SUV with 2 in the cargo/trunk area and people sitting in others laps... seemed a bit strange/disorganized since they knew how many people they would need to transport and should have known that we wouldn't all fit into the one vehicle.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013

Liked: It had a nice view and grounds.

Disliked: It was far away from town and not convenient for traveling back and forth, as a taxi ride is $3. The room was very small and did not have a lot of blankets, considering the cold temperatures at night, and the shared bathroom was very basic with a separate shower. You could hear all the talking, movement, and noise from the kitchen/restaurant from the rooms, and this was not advertised or described properly on the hostelbookers or the hosteria website. The wifi connection was not strong or stable. The included breakfast was only bread with butter and jam, coffee or tea, and juice. It did not have any fruit or eggs, etc.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location up in the mountains. Beautiful property. Perfect weather. Amazing and affordable meals in a gorgeous restaurant. I could go on for hours why this place is perfect.. don't hesitate, just book it. There's a reason why they're #1 rated.

Disliked: Nothing. They're amazing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great views and walks around the countryside. Dorm is good for meeting new people, went alone but always had someone to do something with. Very helpful staff, trip down to animal market on Saturday was a nice touch. Beds are comfortable (and not all bunk beds!) and food is very good, if a little expensive.

Disliked: Like the other foreign owned hostel I stayed in, tax isn't included in any of the prices which is annoying. The local owned places always include it in the prices shown, don't know why these can't.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Vicky Bertorelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The location is beautiful, up on a hill outside the city, with amazing views, hammocks, swings, etc.

Disliked: It feels a little restrictive. There are lots of rules. For example it says there is a computer but its in the kitchen which is only open 8-10.30 and 5.30-9. The rest of the time you get short shrift from the lady in the kitchen if you ask to come in. Also when I arrived, late, despite having emailed to advise I would be doing so, the place was in darkness and it was hard to find anyone. Didn't feel like a warm welcome. Would probably be fine if you arrived in daylight.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Sneddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great relaxing atmosphere, nice view, friendly staff, great dinners (Lupe is an awesome cook and is very helpful in general). Not very far from town. Booked 2 nights and ended up staying 4 nights. Don't know why you'd stay anywhere else.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James McGurn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. We only intended to stop one night but a combination of the brilliantly warm welcome, incredible views, comfy bed, hot shower and excellent food meant that we had to stay longer. Great place run by good people. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and tranquil location with fabulous views, and country walks right from your door. Lovely people running the place. Great things to see and do in Otavalo.

Disliked: Breakfast a bit small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt so much different than other hostels, in fact more like a hotel. It was in the style of a series of villas in the Swiss Alps. The staff were amazing (friendly and helpful). The rooms are comfortable and safe with lounge area, multiple bathrooms, well-furnished, and superbly kept.

Disliked: The only downside is the 3km walk into town but it is a minor thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Peeney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! I honestly didn´t want to leave! It´s more like a luxury cottage stay than a hostel...the cottages are surrounded by the most beautiful valleys - it is truly stunning. Rose the owner greets you with a big hug and is sooo welcoming. She even invited us to the carnival party with her and gave us a lift to the bus terminal when we left...so so friendly... we couldn´t have asked for anything more. You must stay here for more than one night!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great views, quiet, big rooms, hot water

Disliked: a bit far out from otavalo

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic owners and staff, very friendly and helpful. Beautiful surroundings and views. Great walks nearby. Good internet, hot showers, great breakfast. They provide free transport to the market on Saturdays, and it’s cheap to get to/from town at other times ($3 for a taxi and we usually found other guests who wanted to go at the same time). Lovely cosy private cottages and reasonably priced. Nice hammocks to relax in whilst taking in the stunning view. Great library space to go on the Internet, play some music or read. Lots of DVDs and CDs to play. Fire places in the cottages where you can have your own fire – a lovely touch!

Disliked: Only minor: the bed in the Rose Cottage was very creaky and they don’t provide a laundry service (but they can tell you where there is one in town).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Rosier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable, colourful hostel set in beautiful grounds with incredible views. laid back atmosphere, friendly staff, great food! the dorm was so unlike the standard dorm i´ve come to expect- roomy, colourful and bunk bed less!

Disliked: can´t think of anything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Marchant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The hostel is set amoungst some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever come across, the views over the mountains and the town below are just spectacular. The hostel itself is a little arrangment of cottages which is both charming and very individual. The room was comfortable, clean and warm. The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful- willing to cater to my every need, and provided excellent food. The hostel is perfectly located to access Otavalo to visit the world famous market which really is a must, but also fanastic for hikers to enjoy the local waterfall, lakes and volcanoes. Everything about this hostel was just perfect and I would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation with a twist! Thank you, Rose Cottage, for making my time in Otavalo everything I wanted it to be and more.

Disliked: Nothing, I only wish I could´ve stayed longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rui pires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011 rui would recommend this property

Liked: Location: is a bit far from town center but if you go to otavalo you don't have to stay on town center. location is perfect! beautiful place Very nice people!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel staff were very helpful the food was fantastic also.

Disliked: Staff not around we could not get any help all day until around 7 at night. Was told we would get a free ride into bus station but ended up having to taxi!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

NEIL JARVIS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 NEIL would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely scenic location. Nice restaurant meals if you pre order.

Disliked: Overpriced. Sales tax is added on to the quoted rates. No internet. No place to buy basic supplies in the area. No self service kitchen.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Cardy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful place, very recommendable! In five months of travelling here in S.A. Rose Cottage is definately in the top 3. It's got everything that counts - perfect staff, clean, tidy, with all the facilities you'll ever need. It is a little bit out of town, but you won't get views or a backyard like this in the city, and the owner will happily give you a lift down to the market every morning, free of charge. Absolutely worth it!

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Crimmins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly helpful, the hostel was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location couldn't be any more beautiful! So tranquil, safe and really just gorgeous views of the Ecuadorean countryside. Was a little out of town ($3 taxi ride), but worth it in my opinion. Staff was more than willing to call a taxi, and they were easy to get in town. Wonderfully relaxing with lovely decorations and lots of little extras (like free breakfast and linens).

Disliked: As I said it wasn't walkable to town, but in some ways that made it safer and a nice refuge from the city (we traveled from Quito). If being able to walk everywhere is important to you, this isn't your place, but honestly the taxis are cheap and convenient, and I still felt we saved money by staying a little further away and calling a cab.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2010 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: the hostess was friendly and informative and very easy to visit with, great views and accomodations very nice,, quiet and peaceful

Disliked: suprising how far out of town, not all taxi drivers reasonable but not this property's fault---ran into this in Quito also

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice view

Disliked: bad breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Evandro Holz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Evandro would recommend this property

Liked: Location different from what it is normally observed... Really relaxing place...

Disliked: The owner just broke the environment of the place...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The setting for this hostel is beautiful and the staff are very helpful

Disliked: The location despite being idyllic is to far from the town


See all Otavalo hostels