HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hosteria Rose Cottage Otavalo Hostel

Mojandita, Otavalo, Ecuador

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Free transportation to the Otavalo market on Saturdays is included in our prices, as is continental breakfast.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Otavalo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 92%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 89%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place has the best view we ever had! The rooms are nice, lots of hammocks to relax in, there even is a tennis court (free of charge). Rose, the owner is such a sweetheart, she brought us to the city centre to the market and when we left she took us to the bus station. This is a great place for people who want to have a nice and relaxing time.

Disliked: It can be a bit cold at night because of the height, but there is a nice fireplace in the restaurant.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location--it's a short taxi ride outside of Otavalo and so worth it--some of the most spectacular views of the Andes I have seen, simply breathtaking. Also, Rose, the owner, is so kind and helpful, she talked with us for almost an hour and offered us a ride into the city.

Disliked: Only accessible by taxi

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beauty of the Rose Cottage is only outmatched by the friendliness of the staff, and the kindness of the owner, Rosa. I didn't think to bring warm enough clothing for the climate, and without hesitating Rosa gave me an extra blanket for my bed, and a poncho to keep warm in the rain. It is situated in the perfect location to do a little hiking, explore some waterfalls, and visit Otavalo. The property has a stunning view, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning comes with the best coffee I've had in Ecuador yet! I couldn't recommend this place more.

Disliked: It was raining a lot during our stay, but that isn't the fault of Rose Cottage. I can't think of anything else!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Beautiful location outside of town in rural area with great views of valley. quiet and peaceful. accommodation scattered in different buildings so hard to get two rooms the same for friends together. Owners away when we were there so no staff with English´ local staff lovely and helpful. Beatutiful Internryt access varied due to location outside town. common areas--library, computer room, dining room but no heating so can be cold. Breakfast included and good. Other meals availalbe if requested. taxi to town cost 5 dollars, staff called taxis on request.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The views and french press coffee at breakfast. Lots of hammocks with views.

Disliked: 1) The wooden cottage is too small for tall/large people. Ceilings are around 6" tall on the lower level and bathroom is too small for a tall person to be able to sit on the toilet. If only staying for 1 night, this could be fun/funny, but if staying for a longer term, I'd opt for another room.2) Internet is very, very spotty. We had only a few hours of slow internet on our first day. Even talking on Skype is difficult/delayed. They explained the reason for this, but still, if you need reliable internet, do not stay at this hostel. Some rooms have Wifi, others don't so be sure to read the room description carefully to be sure that it says Wifi.3) Taxi to/from town is $3.4) Breakfast includes bread, jam, butter, coffee, and juice. To add eggs, it costs $3... which is ridiculously expensive. A ham and cheese omelete costs the same price, so might as well get more for the $$.5) Hard to find someone if you need help/have a question. They have a bell to ring in the middle of all the buildings, but it feels a little obnoxious. Only Spanish spoken.6) Ride into town for the animal market is provided, but they piled 8 of us into a small SUV with 2 in the cargo/trunk area and people sitting in others laps... seemed a bit strange/disorganized since they knew how many people they would need to transport and should have known that we wouldn't all fit into the one vehicle.


The property's response is

We are you enjoyed the relaxing nature of our hostel, but sorry you were unhappy with Cabana Cayembe.It is a small but romantic wooden cabin, very popular with many as it is cosy & has wonderful views of the sunrise.Its a shame you did not let us know of your problems till your 5th day with us as we'd have been able to move you to one of our 6 other houses sooner.All our staff are from the local community we strongly support, we are proud of their progress & we willlstrive to improve further

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had a nice view and grounds.

Disliked: It was far away from town and not convenient for traveling back and forth, as a taxi ride is $3. The room was very small and did not have a lot of blankets, considering the cold temperatures at night, and the shared bathroom was very basic with a separate shower. You could hear all the talking, movement, and noise from the kitchen/restaurant from the rooms, and this was not advertised or described properly on the hostelbookers or the hosteria website. The wifi connection was not strong or stable. The included breakfast was only bread with butter and jam, coffee or tea, and juice. It did not have any fruit or eggs, etc.


The property's response is

Glad you enjoyed the views from our beautiful hosteria . We are based 3 km outside Otavalo and have a total of 7 different houses in which guests can stay, with prices to suit every budget. We're sorry you didnt like your room, you could easily have asked us to move you to a different one, and also for more blankets! You could also have had eggs etc for breakfast for extra payment.The free wifi works best in the library, with 7 different houses the signal strength does vary from house to house.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Amazing location up in the mountains. Beautiful property. Perfect weather. Amazing and affordable meals in a gorgeous restaurant. I could go on for hours why this place is perfect.. don't hesitate, just book it. There's a reason why they're #1 rated.

Disliked: Nothing. They're amazing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing location, great views and walks around the countryside. Dorm is good for meeting new people, went alone but always had someone to do something with. Very helpful staff, trip down to animal market on Saturday was a nice touch. Beds are comfortable (and not all bunk beds!) and food is very good, if a little expensive.

Disliked: Like the other foreign owned hostel I stayed in, tax isn't included in any of the prices which is annoying. The local owned places always include it in the prices shown, don't know why these can't.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is beautiful, up on a hill outside the city, with amazing views, hammocks, swings, etc.

Disliked: It feels a little restrictive. There are lots of rules. For example it says there is a computer but its in the kitchen which is only open 8-10.30 and 5.30-9. The rest of the time you get short shrift from the lady in the kitchen if you ask to come in. Also when I arrived, late, despite having emailed to advise I would be doing so, the place was in darkness and it was hard to find anyone. Didn't feel like a warm welcome. Would probably be fine if you arrived in daylight.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have a lovely quiet country location with great views of the volcanoes all round and a garden where there are plenty of places from which to enjoy the view and use your wifi. You can use the wifi free of charge 24/7, and in the daytime you can also use our attractive library next door to reception where the wifi signal is good and you can also relax indoors. We also have a TV/DVD room in our largest house "Imbabura" which is open to everyone from 8 am to 10 pm.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great relaxing atmosphere, nice view, friendly staff, great dinners (Lupe is an awesome cook and is very helpful in general). Not very far from town. Booked 2 nights and ended up staying 4 nights. Don't know why you'd stay anywhere else.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability