We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Murali Hostal Guayaquil Airport

Hostel | Garzota 2 La Salle, and 3er Callejon, Esq. mz 135 Guayaquil, Ecuador 00000

71.7% Overall Rating

24 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

Daan Vrieler thinks…

"Close to the airport Staff is very friendly and helpful Room and hostel are very clean. It feels like a hotel ."

Read all Murali Hostal Guayaquil Airport reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Suites Guayaquil
22.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 6 reviews
Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping
10.25 USD

Hostel 73.4% 41 reviews
Tabuba Guest House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 8 reviews
Dreamkapture Hostal
9.83 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 94 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 84.3% 88 reviews
Tangara Guest House
23.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 46 reviews
Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

24 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Murali Hostal Guayaquil Airport'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
66.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, clean big dorm room

Disliked: no wifi in the dorm room they accepted two people in one bed, so there are only 6 beds but about 9 people were sleeping in the same dorm room. I actually dont really mind about it, but they are a 8 young people group, felt shit they came back drunk and chat loud, turn on lights in 2am. No respect for other at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daan Vrieler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Daan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport Staff is very friendly and helpful Room and hostel are very clean. It feels like a hotel .

Disliked: nothing!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matthew Blissett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fine. Other comments criticise the bathroom (e.g. no sink), but the 6-person shared dorm seems to have a new bathroom, including a sink.

Disliked: The property itself is fine, but if you're expecting a backpacker hostel it's not.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: There was nothing to like

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 April 2013

Liked: It's in a good location for transport but that's the only good thing I can say about Murali.

Disliked: Murali Hostal is a complete disgrace. I made a reservation for a dorm room at the hostel but when I arrived I was told that the dorm was full. Not only was this something of a shock the staff member who I spoke to was rude and horrible about the whole thing. For a start, I had to ring the bell for 20 minutes before anyone answered the door, then he treated the whole experience as if it was my problem. I asked if I could have another room (which were over 4 times the price of the dorm) for the price that I had paid for the reservation but he said no. When I told him I'd paid a deposit he laughed at me and said the deposit was a tiny amount and didn't matter. Not once did he apologise for the fact that the hostel didn't keep my reservation! If I was you I would stay clear of this place, if they can't keep a reservation and don't even think that that's a bad thing then this isn't the kind of place where I'd like to stay. After 4 years of travelling around South America I've finally been forced to make a negative comment!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance from the bus terminal and airport and a supermarket close by for cooking my own dinner in the kitchen. internet is good and staff are lovely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location for me - I was arriving by bus and catching a plane the next morning. Good indications on the email. Big kitchen for customers.

Disliked: Wifi only at the main area. Bathroom in the dorm but with no sink ! You had to go down 3 levels :-( No breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was directly between the airport and the bus station just as it said. Only 10 minutes walking. Good wifi connection and near a big supermarket.

Disliked: The dorm room was too hot, no air con, and no sink in the bathroom. Not a safe area for walking at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Suzanne Wright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy for both the bus station and the airport. Great internet/computers and has an outside patio.

Disliked: Dorm room doesn't have a sink.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013

Liked: Stuff s are friendly, but here is not a real / professional hostal. Public area is big and cozy. Kitchen is new and big.

Disliked: It is good to stay in Private room. ( I think the good score come from the guests stay in Private room) Dorm just a small room with very small wash room on the top of the house. The stairs is outside the house , very small and no roof .(did not consider backpacker will bring big bag.) No rule for keeping food in the refrigerator. (I found some part of my tuna can disappear ~ ) The taxi the hotel called is not real taxi. One driver always ask more money than the normal cost.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mario granizo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 January 2013 mario would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, I walked from the airport in about 8 minutes. Very friendly staff, helped me when I needed suggestions about what to do in the city and they also helped call me a cab when i needed one. I like the fast WIFI in the dorm room and the lockers to guard my valuables. Could cook in the well cleaned shared kitchen. id stay here again.

Disliked: The dorm room didnt offer breakfast included in the rate but AT least they offered me a free coffee in the morning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adele Bainbridge

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 October 2012 Adele would recommend this property

Liked: I was a bit worried about staying here after I read the reviews but I needed somewhere close to the airport and actually, it couldn't have been more perfect. I'd had a nightmare at the airport and was in a terrible mood but I got to the hostel and was greeted with a nice warm welcome by, I believe Steven, who was absolutely great and really helpful. I was staying in the dorm room which was as expected, a room with bunk beds. The fact that there isn't a sink is no big deal as there is a shower with running water so having a wash or brushing your teeth is quite possible. The fact there is no mirror to be honest is a blessing when you're just stopping there overnight in between flights as I didn't really want to see what I looked like. And anyway, the mirror at the bottom of the stairs is hardly far. They also served me a hot meal and a cold beer for $6 and had free internet, tea/coffee and drinking water. They rang me a taxi the next morning that cost just a couple of dollars to get to the airport and even carried my bags out for me. Overall, a fantastic place to stay close to the airport, with excellent service and great value for money. Thank you.

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Franziska Hollender

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012

Liked: It is close to the bus terminal and airport. That´s about it.

Disliked: Well, let´s see.. the dorm room does not lock and the room is accessible from the outside via a fire escape, so don´t leave valuables in there. On Hostelbookers it said that you can pay with a credit card, so we didn´t take more cash out. The person at the reception told us "It´s too cheap, you cannot pay with credit card." Then the general manager was asked who said yes, they can pay with a credit card, but then it is 12% more, a "government tax" that ONLY applies to credit card payments (which is not true). We ended up saying we´ll pay the next day in cash, which is super annoying, having to walk back to the hotel and all. The manager did try to smooth things over later, but ended up contradicting himself by first saying that the 12% were charged only on credit cards because it is part government fee and part card fee, and that 60% of businesses in Ecuador won´t charge you the 12% on cash payments (we have a different experience!). Then he came back saying his employee must have misspoken, the 12% were the credit card fees. So, we were thouroughly bullshitted and I certainly wouldn´t recommend you stay here, lest you cannot go ANYWHERE else (and that includes the food court at the mall...)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness

Disliked: There was no sink neither in the room nor in the bathroom. There was no key to lock the door, it stayed open while I was away. When I arrived at the airport no taxidriver knew the hostel. A second time I tried to go by taxi we drived around for half an hour because the driver couldn't find it. Even I showed him the card with the adress.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Rush

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and eager to help. The taxi driver drove off with my luggage just outside the property and the staff felt terrible and went beyond any expections I might have had for assistance. They had someone trustworthy drive me to the police station and wait with me. They translated when I needed it and were just wonderful. Other aspects are that it is clean and it is safe inside. My experience was unfortunate.

Disliked: The only thing I didn´t like was that they had not yet installed a mirror in the dorm room and that the dorm room was 4 fights of stairs up. But keep in mind that I am a senior citizen and this would not be a problem for those younger than I.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: very small room,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly and kind. This is near to the airport and the bus station.

Disliked: The dormitoly is a littlebit expensive if think about the facility.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, especially when we needed a taxi the next morning. Very easy to walk from the airport end price is good for proximity.

Disliked: Breakfast would have been nice & it's a bit odd not having a sink in the shared dorm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this property for me is the proximity to the airport.

Disliked: I've stayed there twice--once in an overpriced single room and once in the dorm room. Both times it took a long time to be let in--and the check in was slow. I think they need more staff and they need to improve the dorm accomodations.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tristin taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 tristin would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that i could use the kitchen to cook and that I could use the business center with a computer with internet connection free of charge. I also liked the quiet atmosphere and that I had WIFI internet access in the dorm room.

Disliked: There was no sink in the dorm room, I had to walk down the stairs to use the sink there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katey Winzar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2012 Katey would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the airport.

Disliked: There was no sink in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dyana leon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 dyana would recommend this property

Liked: The laid back, quiet atmosphere was nice and the cleanliness was also good. I also liked that I could walk from the bus station, and then the next day I could walk to my flight at the airport. I also liked the beautiful purple flowers along the outer wall of the hostal.

Disliked: The heat and humidity of Guayaquil.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mary Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012

Liked: Leaving the following morning.

Disliked: Everything!! This is not a hostel!!! If you want to stay in a private room in a hotel then then I-m sure this place is fine = the lobby is nicely decorated and clean and I-m sure the private rooms are too (the older American clientel certainly seemed happy enough eating their free breakfast in the morning). HOWEVER there is only one small dorm room = I am guessing this is how they-ve come to advertise themseles as a hostel = and it-s out the back of the hotel, along a back alley and up a tiny metal fire escape. The "ensuite" bathroom was vile: matted hair in the plug, mens beard (I hope it was beard) hair decorating the tiles, congealed lumps of old soap all over the floor, bugs on the walls and no sink = I was told I-d have to go back down the fire escape to the laundry room in the alley if I wanted to clean my teeth or use a mirror. The room was so hot (one small fan between everyone) that one man was sleeping naked save for a small corner of his bedsheet covering the essentials, and it stank of sweaty men-s bits. If I wasn-t on my own in arguably the dodgiest city in Ecuador at midnight I would have turned and walked right back out of there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me the location was perfect because it's close to the airport and to where I was taking the van service to Cuenca. The staff was very friendly, reliable and helpful.

Disliked: If I were staying in Guayaquil for longer I'm not sure I would have stayed here because it's farther from the center of town than I'd like to be.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when i stayed there i got very sick and couldn't take my flight next morning. the extraordinary friendly guy from the reception went to the airport for me and changed my flightticket! so nice! and they let me checkout later, too. the hotel was more luxary than i expected. i stayed for 9 $ in a 3 bedroom with two other girls. very clean, nice big room, comfortable beds and a flatscreen-tv.

Disliked: the area around seems unsafe. but its near to the airport and busstation.